We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay for pleasure and/or business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MainStay Suites to your Saves list
MainStay Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   814 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4325 (Formerly Mayfair Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    135
    97
    51
    40
See reviews for
247
111
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed December 17 and 18 was ok afternoon desk person Lisa was rude and acted like we were bothering her. Upon check out our bill was wrong but manager adjusted it. Would not have gone back but our daughter came on the 23 and gave us a room. Once again Lisa was on and very rude. Two people checking in said she was like that to them. Told her room was being held on our daughters visa but changed to our credit card. Next morning bill on floor with our credit card charged, Today Dec27 we find out they charged both cards for the room. Called and was told there was nothing they could do no manager on duty. Lady on phone wanted my card number again told her no,she said didn't matter they have our card number on file and she would run it again. Called corp they are getting it fixed. WOULD NOT STAY THERE EVER AGAIN OR TELL ANYONE ELSE TO

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We travel to Williamsburg frequently and being a family that enjoys taking our basset hound on our adventures, have struggled with finding accommodations in the area that allows the hound to stay without breaking the bank (Residence Inn charges $200 for a pet fee. Ridiculous!). After reading the previous reviews I thought we would give the LQ a try.

First of all, having paid less than $70/night with no pet fee, I wasn't expecting a Ritz or Four Seasons, however I was expecting a clean room and friendly staff, which I received both. The only complaint I would have (and it was my own fault for not paying attention) was the low ceilings when changing levels on the first floor. I'm 6'6" and forgot to duck once when taking the hound out. Ouch.

The room was clean and folks were friendly.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kbrenneman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Booked it via La Quinta web site, beat any price Kayak pulled up. We booked this the same time as the La Quinta Norfolk airport. Went to Norfolk first, so that kind of spoiled us. This hotel is definitely older. The furnishing are very nice and upscale. Unfortunetly the building is older. Our room floor was very uneven as you walked over the carpeting you could feel dips and valleys in the concrete. The carpet however was very nice and in good shape. The bathroom had a light over the tub and shower with the globe missing, so you could see the incadesent bulb in the ceiling. Needlessly to say we didn't us the shower that night. King size bed was either older or a soft matteress, I prefer firm matteresses, but I did NOT wake up with a sore back. Hotel does have a very nice indoor pool, but we did not use it. Bigger complaint would be that the room floor was like ice. It was room 209 which is an outside corner, with the night temps in the high twentys we had to run the heater on full to keep the room about 72 degrees.

Room Tip: If your there in the winter, ensure you get a room with minimum outside wall exposure. It appears t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great location in Williamsburg, Virginia close to this historic district and easy access to Busch Gardens. The hotel was well maintained and recently renovated. It is one of the nicest for that price that I have stayed in recently, particular in Williamsburg. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apraleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A newly remodeled hotel, rooms were all new and bathrooms were very clean. We selected this hotel for our 'Girls Weekend' and it was great overall and at a fantastic price. Staff was very nice.

Fabulous indoor pool area with calming waterfall and dining/resting area, but pool heater was broken during our stay so we could not swim. Complimentary breakfast was good and offered many choices but we missed not having hot items (mini-omlettes and sausage patties as other comparable hotels offer, although they did have hard-boiled eggs which was nice and hot gravy for biscuits).

The hotel also offered a very nice mini-office section in lobby, with computers, which is hard to find at this hotel price point.

Another plus: hotel is in VERY quiet area and that part of Capitol Landing Road is not busy. It's very close to historic Williamsburg, which was so convenient. Highly recommend this hotel for fun in Williamsburg!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#40 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Historic District
Clarion Hotel Historic District
#61 of 78 in Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#33 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 814 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4325 (Formerly Mayfair Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MainStay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Williamsburg
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Laquinta Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing