We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #53 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A newly remodeled hotel, rooms were all new and bathrooms were very clean. We selected this hotel for our 'Girls Weekend' and it was great overall and at a fantastic price. Staff was very nice.

Fabulous indoor pool area with calming waterfall and dining/resting area, but pool heater was broken during our stay so we could not swim. Complimentary breakfast was good and offered many choices but we missed not having hot items (mini-omlettes and sausage patties as other comparable hotels offer, although they did have hard-boiled eggs which was nice and hot gravy for biscuits).

The hotel also offered a very nice mini-office section in lobby, with computers, which is hard to find at this hotel price point.

Another plus: hotel is in VERY quiet area and that part of Capitol Landing Road is not busy. It's very close to historic Williamsburg, which was so convenient. Highly recommend this hotel for fun in Williamsburg!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    149
    103
    59
    54
See reviews for
272
123
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I made reservations at this hotel because of the indoor pool and breakfast. I then called the hotel directly to ensure the pool was open and operational because that is our main focus. I was ensured the pool was open. We checked in and the hotel clerk was unfriendly and dressed like she was going clubbing...very unprofessional. We got to our room to find the room looked NOTHING like the photos provided on this site ( no flat screen and did NOT sleep 5 as advertised). Both mattresses had support issues (with sides being broken down from excessive sitting on the sides). The hair dryer did not work either. We then dressed to go to the pool. When we got down there, the water was FREEZING and the hot tub was closed. Needless to say, I will NEVER stay at this hotel again!! When I checked out, I reported the problems with the room. When I mentioned the pool issue, the woman informed me it had gone out several days ago...I told her "in the future, advise your guests of this because we went through the trouble of dressing and going all the way down there for nothing". She apologized and I left. DON'T STAY HERE!! OHHH...and, in the breakfast room, there are artificial plants on the walls...right above the waffle machine..it is CAKED with dust...just waiting to fall off into your food!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank peckdowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Verde, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We travel with Laquinta all the time. The location is perfect, breakfast area is good. The problem is the room smells musty and the air ducts by the fan are filthy. My nose stuffed up and had an itchy throat. The room was vacuumed and tidy. This needs to be addressed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nrenaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

stayed here November 2012 with family of 5...
Pros>
-good breakfast with boiled eggs and biscuits and gravy, and TWO waffle makers!
-comfortable beds and clean rooms
-cheap
-decent gym with cable machines and treadmills
-neat shuffleboard area, foosball table and putting green, me and kids had great time playing there!
-close to downtown historic Williamsburg
-good Italian restaurant across street

Cons>
-not so friendly staff
-pool heating pump was broken, so pool was very cold
-no hot tub
-tried opening room window and it came out! had to put it back carefully, pretty beat up property

all in all, not a bad hotel, just old... if you are looking for a place to just stay with free breakfast and a comfy bed, this will work.

Hopefully they fix the pool.
HP

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBOOTH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 12, 2012

good room, location, service, check in with ease, bed comfort, room size, frig and microwave!, breakfast ( with make your own waffles!!!) .... all for 60 bucks! wow! can't wait to go back! probably good for families , business, getaways, and vacations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

At the past we used to sleep in super 8 in mid. Williamsburg. Owner changed, and its more like Indian guesthouse. La Quinta cost a little more but worth much more.
Rooms ' fine & dandy ' good, clean beds, large rooms with everything, internal large worm pool, good breakfast very good service and maintenance.
At the hotel we met a class of childrens with their teachers in traditional custוmes they were magnificent, polite and quiet. Something to be proud of.

Room Tip: WE got an internal room, you can choose an outside facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadiB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 4, 2012

You can't go wrong
. Pet friendly cleanliness. Free breakfast great staff. I hope they get the pool fixed, but not a deal breaker so much to do in Williamsburg you won't have time. Older hotel the reveiws are accurate. I can't wait to stay here again. Honest people. They also have a workout area. I would debate within walking distance I mean you can but we thought it was spittle closed but within minutes of everything. We will definately stay here again. A welcomg place. Great experience!:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
1.8 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 814 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4325 (Formerly Mayfair Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MainStay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
La Quinta Inn And Suites Williamsburg
Laquinta Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing