We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST LOCATION”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #63 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Best hotel for the money. Walking distance to Busch Gardens & Colonial Williamsburg Historic District. Free breakfast, nice indoor pool and a GREAT staff. ALWAYS CLEAN.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pistolpacinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 505 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

Had a few days off last month and decided to take the family to Williamsburg, VA for some relaxing away time. Had a clean room with no issues and checked in early so we could start our day. The front desk staff was always available for anything I needed and housekeeping staff was great. The best part was the indoor pool area. The weather was great during our stay and we got to do almost everything on our list. Will hope to come back and finish the rest soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuboating75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Vacationed in Williamsburg with wife and teenage boys for July 4th weekend. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom and all linens were clean. Only drawback was our long hallway had two stepdown areas with ramps. It was almost impossible to roll out luggage cart down the ramps without stuff falling off. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and will certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayby0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I stayed here with my mom, daughter and niece for an extended weekend. I stayed here before some years back with my mom and remembered it to be a decent place to stay, I also read reviews on this website (unfortunately the June reviews hadn't been posted) Check in was easy and quick, no complaints there. Here's what I LIKED: large room (we stayed in a suite), near Busch Gardens (3miles away), free internet usage, complimentary breakfast, room had fridge and medium size microwave. What I DIDN'T LIKE: the breakfast included boiled egss, which were served ice cold and there was no microwave in the area to heat it if one likes warm boiled eggs, the packs of margarine were not kept chilled, so when I went to open the margarine to spread on my English muffin-I got a tub of oil, the milk for the cereal was also just sitting out on the countertop without being chilled (hello! dairy product). Our suite was essentially 2 rooms with the pass through door removed so we couldn't really put the kids to bed and close the door to keep from disturbing them (defeated the whole purpose of getting a suite in the first place), the couch had stains on both cushions (gross), there were stains in the ceiling near the window in the living room area, and only 2 chairs at the table, so we couldn't eat together. The doors to the bathroom were in disrepair and definitely needed a fresh coat of paint. If it's a suite, wouldn't be expected that more than 2 people are going to stay in the room? Luckily we didn't see any bugs as in the previous review, but those 4 large spider webs were just as bad as seeing bugs actually crawling around.
What was the most annoying was to have to reach behind the entertainment center to plug/unplug the TV and microwave, since there was only the one outlet behind the console but 3 appliances that needed to be plugged in. If my mother was alone there would have been no way for her to have gotten down and reached blindly to constantly plug and/or unplug the TV and/or microwave, since she has severe movement limitations.
I will not be staying here again nor will I recommend anyone I know to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunbun771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

dirty trick - web pages showed a nice hotel - we got there fri night 6/17 to meet our friends at va beach - so was on a time schedule - saw 3 rooms - 1st had bugs in the pillow cases - 2nd noisy a/c - 3rd spider in one of the pillow cases - got another case - attendent got 1 from a very diry linen room - i followed him to change the case myself - got back fri night - from the beach - a/c was not cooling - knob just kept turning/turning - hallways were suffocating - sat went to bush - our friends stayed sat night also - had to appolize to them for the deceptive hotel - very disappointed - a/c was not working sat night - so we checked out sunday - we were to stay sunday also - after reading reviews from 2010 - they still have the same problems - no doors on the closets - a/c not working - shoddy workmanship - no flat screen tv - a/c working more important - on 3rd floor w/decending levels w/make shift ramp for only 1 luggage rack - staff was just - don't like - check out - already had plans - no time to look for another hotel - sounds like this hotel is not ready for guests quite yet - would never stay there again - don't like "bait & switch" from ohio & would be in big trouble here - don't know how they get away w/years of unsatisfactory conditions

Room Tip: cheap - but don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This hotel looked great from the outside, however the rooms were worn and rundown. The cleanliness of the room especially the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The bathtub soap dish was broken off and the toilet cracked. The breakfast was okay although I had better at similar hotels

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albp14t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We checked into our room as a late arrival around 10:30pm and immediately noticed that the A/C was not working...the room was at least 85-90 degrees. It was not working for the entire floor because the halls were unbearable to walk in as it was a 90 degree day. We turned the A/C up to see if that would work and while waiting (10min) we killed a huge roach in the bathroom and found a spider in our bed. Our room was in such disrepair...it was awful. The ceiling was caving in and the bathrooms needed serious updating. After realizing that the A/C was not going to work we complained to the front desk. I also told them about the huge roach we found in our room, she said "Oh, it's just a water bug." Yeah right, I know what a roach looks like. They moved us to another room. No sooner did we put our stuff down, there was another huge roach in our room! My kids & I freaked out grabbed our stuff and stood in the hallway while my husband killed it, took a picture of it and then walked it down to the girl who said it was a water bug. He told the gentleman at the front desk that this was unacceptable and that we could not stay here. The young man at the front desk said that he understood and told us that if we canceled that we would not be charged anything for leaving. As we were leaving we came across numerous roaches in the hallway. We left after only an hour of being there and will NEVER step foot in that hotel again. We have traveled all over and never experienced that before!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
741 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
1.8 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 814 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4325 (Formerly Mayfair Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: $63 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MainStay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
La Quinta Inn And Suites Williamsburg
Laquinta Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing