We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Affordable and in a great area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Colonial
Ranked #45 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Affordable and in a great area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here all weekend from Friday till Sunday. We were very pleased, nice room and very quite. We even had pizza delivered with no problem. The room was clean and a good size. We were right in front of the pool in non smoking room. We will be back and will tell family n friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy N Cathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambala, General Manager at Econo Lodge Colonial, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Very glad that you found the room to your satisfaction. We strive to keep each guest the best
experience possible at our lodge.
Thank you for your stay and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    52
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
50
28
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is an older hotel and it isn't a bad place to stay, it was clean but the last night we were there I woke in the morning to find a bed bug crawling across my arm.
I realize this is a problem in a lot of hotels no matter their star ratings...
But that wasn't very pleasant.
And yes I did do some looking under the mattress and sheets before I stay anywhere..
I think I missed them in the comforter though... after squashing the one on my arm I found a second one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doug f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambala, Manager at Econo Lodge Colonial, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for input regarding your stay with.
When the comment was posted we had our exterminator check all of our rooms. NOTHING was found. Since that time in February and current time NO reports have been reported or found by us.

Thank you for your review since your inputs help us identify problems.
We always welcome comments and suggestions to better a guest experience at our lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. Our room was reasonably priced, clean, and comfortable. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, and the location was very convenient. A great place to sleep while sight seeing in Williamsburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3JayBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kambala, General Manager at Econo Lodge Colonial, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your response. We are pleased you give high marks to the our value.

Hope to see you in summer. The pool is now open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a great place for the cash. For the weekend at Busch Gardens, it's perfect. The breakfast is a bit lacking but overall the room was nice. I would defiantly stay again. The room was really really clean and the staff was great. I've been there three times this summer, they have a pool, but I haven't had a chance to swim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I went to Williamsburg with my family for a vacation in August. It was very reasonably priced, clean, quiet and very close to all the action. Don't stay here expecting it to be a "Resort". It's a place to rest your head. They had a small pool that looked OK, but we just never had time to use it. The only thing I could possibly grip about was the small selection of breakfast choices. You had 2 kinds of cereals, 2 kinds of bread for toast and 2 kinds of muffins and of course coffee and juice. Simple but sufficient. But after a couple of days there something different would have been nice. And when all is said and done, I would definitely stay here again, if I returned to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildleo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Island, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the Econo Lodge Colonial for two nights. The price was one of the lowest in Williamsburg and the location is convenient. After reading the reviews, I expected a little more. The rooms need some updating. The bed was really uncomfortable; I hate those thin bedspreads. There was also a stain on my top sheet that matched perfectly with the sheet below it, leading me to believe the sheets had not been washed before we arrived. Maybe I'm wrong. Having a refrigerator and microwave was nice. Giving this hotel a 2-star rating would seem harsh because this could be average for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were only going to be in Williamsburg for the weekend and were on a budget. While we like nice hotels, we didn't feel the need to spend a lot of money this time since we weren't planning on being in the hotel that much (Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Premier Outlet shopping). I've been visiting the Williamsburg area for 20+ years and have stayed in my fair share of hotels all across the area. It was between this Econo Lodge and the Rhodeway Inn Historic which is just around the corner. Both offered the same thing and for the same price but this had better reviews which helped make the decision easier (I'm sure the Rhodeway Inn is a nice hotel too and might try that in the future). This hotel is in a good location that is just off the main road of Second Street. Within walking distance is Second Street Restaurant and Colonial Pancake House (we ate at both and highly recommend Second St. Restaurant). The front desk clerk was accommodating when we asked for a quiet room. The room is an average hotel room. Nothing fancy. The king bed was a bit on the hard side. It was hot and humid all weekend and we put the A/C to good use. It ran constantly and never let up. The mini-fridge and microwave in the room was extremely nice when it came to our leftovers from Second Street Restaurant. The continental breakfast was somewhat average; donuts, cereal, and toast with coffee and juice. Colonial Williamsburg is only 5-10 mins away depending on what part you visit first. Only about 10-15 min drive to Busch Gardens (almost a straight shot).

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side (facing west) seemed to be quieter than ones on the front side or near the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#38 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn Williamsburg
Budget Inn Williamsburg
#58 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#42 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Parkway / Historic Area
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Colonial

Property: Econo Lodge Colonial
Address: 216 Parkway Drove, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Colonial 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 2-story brick inn featuring interior & exterior rooms, central location - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Colonial Hotel Williamsburg
Econo Lodge Williamsburg
Williamsburg Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing