We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are disgusting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here in July 2012, when I brought my son and his friend to Williamsburg to go to Busch Gardens. I was hesitant at first because I don't usually book rooms that are 3 stars or less (poor quality). I figured that it would be ok this time since we were staying only 1 night before heading on the rest of our trip. It looks old from the outside, but when you walk into the lobby, it looks newly renovated. Pretty wood check-in desk, very nice stone/slate floor, and nice furniture. We got there two hours early for checkin, but the front desk attendant told us our room was ready and he would check us in. We got in the room, which was very old, with two very old full-size beds. One of the box springs was ripped wide open and you could see inside of it. The walls were dirty and had stains and drip lines running down them. The shower had mold, and a spider was living in the top corner. The bathroom door would not shut all the way. I was told there was no other room we could move to. I was too scared to look for bed bugs, and I slept with my head at the foot of the bed because I was afraid something would crawl up the wall and fall on my face. I could not wait to leave the next morning. I wish I had taken pictures because you wouldn't believe it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgirl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 527 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed here twice. Rooms have been nice. Staff very nice. Could use a little more updates in the rooms but overall nice hotel for the low price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Quincy J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank GermantownClam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked this hotel online for 5 nights after being told that it was newly renovated. We arrived @8pmFriday and were shocked at the horrible condition of our room. Dirty carpet, beds that looked like a mack truck parked on top of them. Disgusting bathroom and sink. My husband killed a 3" bug on the wall. Unfortunately we were stuck here for 1 sleepless night but cancelled the rest of our reservation. I spent the night wrapped in my own sheet from home and still had bites on my ankles. My poor daughter slept in her hoodie and got bit all over her body, she suffered with cortisone for days. Someone banged on our door during the night scaring me and my kids.The kicker was that we paid $65.+ for this dump. Beware of this place future travelers.We ended up at the Country Inn & Suites down the street which was A++5*.

Room Tip: go to country inn & suites instead and save yourself a headache!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psalms_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

First of all, the only reason this hotel deserves 1 star is the lady at the front desk was extremely nice and hospitable. But as my girlfriend and I walked into the first room, we were hit in the face with a musty stench. As we walked into the bathroom we saw there was mold growing. It wasn't just a little bit, it was everywhere like this place hadn't been cleaned for a month. Ended up getting another room, which was just slightly better. There was no refrigerator and there were cob webs in the dresser. So we had to go to Big Lots across the street to buy a cooler, and figured we'd pick up some clean sheets while we were there. The only saving grace about this place is Hooters right next door, which is where I'm getting internet access from because apparently they don't have that either. Do yourself a favor and pay the extra $20-$30 a night to stay somewhere else. This is the worst hotel experience we've ever had.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank John58313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#39 of 73 in Williamsburg
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#46 of 73 in Williamsburg
93 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area

Address: 120 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: $43 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Brick Motel Centrally located in Williamsburg. We have standard 2 queen bed rooms, 2 double bed rooms, single king rooms and our 2 room suites. Our property consists of 2 buildings with 3 floors and an elevator for your convenience. We also have an outdoor pool, volley ball net, picnic tables and a grill for guest use. There are several restaurants within walking distance to us. We are located 2 miles (7 minutes) from Colonial Williamsburg, 13 miles (22 minutes) to Historic Yorktown, 8.3 miles (22 minutes) from Historic Jamestown and the Ferry, 8.2 miles (12 minutes)to Busch Gardens, 7.9 miles(13 minutes) to water country, 2.9 miles(10 minutes) to our Premium Outlet Mall. We look forward to Accommodating you during your visit to Williamsburg, VA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Travelodge Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Travelodge Williamsburg
Travel Lodge Williamsburg
Williamsburg Travelodge
Williamsburg Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing