We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area
Ranked #68 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Elizabeth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This COULD be a nice, economical hotel. Unfortunately, it doesn't quite make it. First, I need to say we are not a picky family. I am easy to make happy. We travel frequently and knew when we booked this hotel it was not going to be a five star resort. We were simply looking for an inexpensive hotel for a family get-away.

The positive - Great location. Central to everything. Pool was nice. Staff was mostly friendly.

Everything else (the not so positive) - We booked a suite for our family of 5. The room was adequate. However, the maid service doesn't seem to have it all together. Some examples: suite for 5 but we get towels for 2 - this happened a couple times , when asking for towels for our room and/or the pool we were told told "the laundry isn't done yet" (that was at 5:00 PM), the sleeper couch had one sheet and no pillows - When we asked for them we were told "the laundry isn't done yet...", one day they didn't make up our room or provide any towels - when we went to the front desk upon our arrival back at the hotel around 10:00 PM they had to search for towels (I guess they were still laundering them...), when my son dropped his wallet and bent down to pick them up he found a used diaper under the TV stand.

The breakfast is bascially non-existent - a few small muffins, juice, cold cereal, a few apples and oranges, bread and jelly, a waffle maker, coffee and tea (sometimes).

The staff is all very kind and apologetic, however, they don't seem to understand the need to do it right the first time so they aren't required to always apologize!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiredDad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear TiredDad3,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are sorry for the inconveniences that you incurred in your room, and at breakfast. We are so sorry for that. We appreciate your feedback. We appreciate all guest feedback it allows us to make the necessary improvements to our hotel to make it better for you and for future guests to the hotel. We apologize and will pass the on to the staff so we can make the improvements needed. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Travelodge Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    91
    97
    82
    131
See reviews for
283
82
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maine, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We checked in at around 4pm on 6/30/12, they had assured me by phone that the 3 rooms I asked for would at least be in the same building. They were not and only 2 of the 3 were non-smoking. So then they agreed to move us around and get us in the same building. BUT then while waiting for over an hour to check in by now the other clerk booked one of our rooms for someone else! UGH, we had just drove through a 4 hour traffic jam in Roanoke, Va due to the power outage and we just wanted a room. Then when we did finally get our rooms which they upgraded to suites for 2 of the 3 rooms, the fridge/microwaves that I paid $5 extra per day for were only in 2 rooms. They did credit me one night for $11 to fix that. But it was literally one issue after another the whole first day. The place was clean, I'll give them that and the pool was nice but it should be open later since there is no lifeguard on anyways! Then on day 3 we came back from being out all day and a housekeeper had left our door open ALL DAY LONG!! I immedisately called front desk and I was told a manager would call me next morning when she came in. She didnt call me so I called her and she credited 1 night off the room and said that she was so sorry and she spoke to the housekeeper and again was so sorry. The breakfast area was way too small for the amount of rooms that it services and need more food out. On one morning I stood in line for 20 minutes to make waffles all while listening to a crazy lady behind me complain that people should make 1 waffle and not more. Then when I attempted to make 2 waffles the woman (psycho) stole my waffle and took off! It was 9 am and no more waffles could be made. I told front desk as she walked by them and they said nothing they could do but they would bring me more batter. REALLY?? She stole my waffle I mean what is wrong with people? It was upsetting the front desk claimed could do nothing or say nothing to her. The WHOLE breakfast area saw her rob me and they did nothing! I could really go on and on for days. I feel bad for woman who runs it, she tries her best but things are just sub-par here and she tried her hardest to make it up to us but all in all we will NEVER stay here again. We would rather pay a little more and get ALOT more. Also housekeeping was constantly short towels, maybe they should buy some more, then only 1 washer/dryer in whole place with no a/c in that room! It was 115 with heat index!! HOT HOT HOT!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Should have know when we tried to check-in that it wasn't going to be the best experience. Took them nearly 30 minutes to determine if a room was available for us. When we were finally assigned a room, the housekeeper was still in the room. Not quite sure what she was doing in there, because the room was not really that clean. Over the course of our 3 night stay we encountered several different issues, from a "not so clean room", to having to call for towels/sheets/wash clothes/toilet paper, etc. When you contacted the front office regarding any of these items, we were told we could come get them ourselves. Our breakfast experience was pretty much the same as others have reported, very little room and even fewer food options. We opted to skip breakfast the 2nd and 3rd mornings because it was so poor! Will not stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49288Momof2inNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear 49288Momof2inNC,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. Thank you for telling us about your concerns. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better. Again we are sorry. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Travelodge Inn & Suites Willamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great rate but awful hotel and service. When checking in they couldn't decide if my room was ready or not. A piece of paper with some rooms written on it. The cleaning lady was arguing with the front desk clerk about how should she know. The reservation was for 6 and there were 4 small towels in the room. No washrags or hand towels. THe refrigerator smelled awful and froze everything inside. Suppose to be non smoking but sure smelled like smoke and mildew. The pool not too bad other than half of chairs are broken. I don't think they ever empty any of the trash cans and they are all overflowing. Animals get into them at night because the next morning on the way to the continental breakfast the trash is spread all over the place. The beds are awful and springs stick into your back at night. Thank god my 6 year old son could brave the sleeper sofa because it would have not supported anything heavier. My mom was almost crippled after sleeping on the bed so we got a pull away which was a little bit better. The noises at night make it difficult to sleep. There is a train that runs just behind the fence. The ice machine outside the room by the elevator rumbles all night long. So we head down to breakfast and there is one packet of plain oatmeal. 2 apples that 30 people are fighting over. 2 types of cereal that the lid to the container they are stored in are broken and so they are open to the air the whole time. Everything runs out and the woman that is in charge of replenishing supplies stays locked behind the door and comes out every 30 min with one more apple. The cleaning lady once again takes all the towels and doesn't replace them. I would spend and extra $20 a night and stay some place nicer.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel! Maybe right down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOMof4DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear MOMof4dc,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for your stay. We are sorry that you were not satisfied. Thank you for providing us with the feedback. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better. Thank you for bringing your concerns to us. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

Travelodge Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Arrived in Williamsburg for a nice stay and fun. Found hotel for a good night sleep and a early start of the vacation. The room was located in the very back of the hotel - opened the door and found beds and a t.v. and nothing else. Nothing to place suitcase on or an ashtray. Called desk they would see what they can do- come to the desk- They gave me a plastic cup for an ashtray and nothing else. We used ironing board and luggage cart for tables. The next day started the vacation at Colonial Williamsburg it rained all day- so wet and muddy back to the hotel room for a hot shower and change of clothes. We entered the room which had been tidied the ironing board and cart still there. Got out fresh clothes to change after shower and no towels!! Called desk and was told to come to the desk to pick the last 2 towels they had but no washcloth!! The train that ran behind the hotel at all hours was not fun also- so after two nights we left Williamsburg early - will not stay at a Travelodge again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegsasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear pegsasha,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Thank you for your comments and concerns. We apologize for the concerns about the towels, ashtray, and the need for a table we are so sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better for you and for future guests to our hotel. Again we are sorry. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Travelodge Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We are a family of 5 and needed 2 rooms as the kids are 16 to 21. I read the reviews and found positive reviews. We booked it for 6 days and it was okay but not great. The location is great and close to lots of stuff. Nice pool and it was clean and comfortable but the breakfast room was way too small and never had enough food. We would have to squeeze around people and tables to try to get food but the juice machine was busted, there was no spray for the waffle iron, at times there was barely anything left and not even a fork to eat with!! My husband ended up eating a waffle with 2 knives!! It was not exactly well stocked, fine for a one day stay but 6 days of it was not fun--the kids ended up not even going to breakfast since there was no room to sit and hardly any food. We thought we were saving money to stay here but ended up going out for breakfast since we were still hungry.
The staff was friendly enough but didn't have much to work with. Seems like management was skimping on food and toilet paper. We had to go looking for toilet paper and the front desk didn't even have any to give us. How can a hotel this big not have some spare toilet paper??
It seems as if they are trying to fix up the place and keep it clean but if they want to have people come back they really need to be better supplied with their breakfast and toilet paper!!
It is true that you get what you pay for---this is economic but sometimes it might be better to pay a little more or you end up spending more.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for fridge and microwave if you want one. I did it online and didn't get one so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear DWFamily_12,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and concerns with us. We are deeply sorry for all the inconveniences that you incurred during your stay. We are very sorry and the management and staff members are currently working on these issues. We appreciate all guest feedback. It helps us make the necessary adjustments to the hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Travelodge Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I just wanted a cheap decent place to stay for our 3 day get-a-way in Williamsburg. We were pleasatly surprised by the great location, friendly staff, and nice room we received for the low rate. Also, the breakfast provided was perfect... including waffles, cereal and fresh fruit. It was also located right next to Hooters, which of course was convienent for the hockey game and great wings! The pool seemed nice, but we were so busy between Jamestown, mini -golf (right accross the street) and Busch Gardens that we didn't even get a chance to partake. We will be returning can't wait... the only on complaint I have which is minimal is our room didn't have a fridge, but we made do between a cooler and Ice machine, and the parking lot can be a pain getting out. But besides that it was great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MabandMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Polla9920,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so happy that you stayed with us. We are happy to accommodate you. We are sorry for the inconvenience of not having a refrigerator in your room. We appreciate all guest feedback. It helps us make the necessary changes to make our hotel better. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Travelodge Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#35 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area

Property: Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area
Address: 120 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Brick Motel Centrally located in Williamsburg. We have standard 2 queen bed rooms, 2 double bed rooms, single king rooms and our 2 room suites. Our property consists of 2 buildings with 3 floors and an elevator for your convenience. We also have an outdoor pool, volley ball net, picnic tables and a grill for guest use. There are several restaurants within walking distance to us. We are located 2 miles (7 minutes) from Colonial Williamsburg, 13 miles (22 minutes) to Historic Yorktown, 8.3 miles (22 minutes) from Historic Jamestown and the Ferry, 8.2 miles (12 minutes)to Busch Gardens, 7.9 miles(13 minutes) to water country, 2.9 miles(10 minutes) to our Premium Outlet Mall. We look forward to Accommodating you during your visit to Williamsburg, VA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Travelodge Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Travelodge Williamsburg
Travel Lodge Williamsburg
Williamsburg Travelodge
Williamsburg Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing