We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely Disliked this resort” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Completely Disliked this resort”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is far from Marriot standards and we could not wait to get out of there. We were greeted by Gregory who was a pleasure and was great to speak with. After that it was down hill. The buildings are old and all inside entrances. Upon entering our building it smelled like someone had just sprayed an air fresher to mask the real smell. The room was the smallest two bedroom we have ever stayed in ...usually they are much bigger. The kitchen is in need of a major update to include all new applicances and countertops. All the furniture in the living room needs replacement as it was all worn; the sofa bed couch was not even worth sitting on as you just simply sunk down if you sat on it. The only room that had room darkening curtains was the living room. The two bedrooms had curtains but they were pulled back and not meant to be taken out and put back in their holder...very strange....so the bedrooms never got dark enough. The balony was completely screened in but you could not sit out there as the screen itself was completely filthy and I am not sure how they fix that problem but two other resorts we have traveled to had screened in balonies and they were not in the least bit dirty. I think the most and when I say the most annoying thing during this vacation was the lawn mowers from the golf course that borders this property. They cut the grass between 6am and 6:45am every day. It is very noisy and for someone that is a light sleeper forget being able to sleep in on vacation it simply will not happen.....the solution they offer you is to move you to a room facing a parking lot..no thank you...I didn't pay to face a parking lot..it is a poor set up. This Marriott property needs to plant some trees to buffer the noise for their guests. They have had many complaints but the golf course sets it's own rules and unfortunately is allowed to cut grass when they want. We will never stay here again nor would we recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jrsyshoregrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Manor Club. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    396
    79
    27
    21
See reviews for
617
420
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Limited Facilities & Amenities is the best way I can capture this experience. I am a MVC owner at Grande Vista and have stayed in a few others. This resort by far is the smallest. Not many staff around to provide assistance. Feels more like a Courtyard than a MVC. Here are my observations:

The villas: Quite nice although they are smaller than other MVC. The dining room table is very close to the breakfast bar and the laundry room is behind the dining room table. Makes it very hard to navigate when trying to do laundry. The furniture is generally uncomfortable. Very hard and upright. The pull out couches are uncomfortable to sit on but are comfortable as beds (they are some type of memory foam). The balcony is very closed in and covered by trees so you really get no breeze and there is nothing to see. TVs are good, Kitchen was very nice although no cupboards to hold food - very strange. The bedrooms and bathrooms were all very nice. All in all the villas met the MVC standards.

The pools: There are three. Two outdoor and one indoor. The indoor one is very small (comparable to a fairfield inn) and the exterior one at the main activity center is also very small. Also the size of a fairfield inn pool. The exterior pool in the newer section is much bigger. No where near the size of the pools at Grande Vista, Shadow Ridge or Arizona. Children's splash area and one hot tub. Spent a lot of time at this pool which got very crowded.

Restaurant: There are two "restaurants" places that sell food. The marketplace sells food and there is a service window at the large pool in the new section. We ordered burgers at the service window at the big pool. NASTY!!! No fries - got a bag of potato chips. I think the burgers were likely precooked over in the other building and microwaved in this kitchen. They were dry and rubbery. The buns were rock hard. 4 burgers and drinks for $50. Truly the worst I have ever experienced. We did not eat again at the resort.

Facilities: Grounds were nice, not much parking. The activities center was small but nice. We tried to use the game room but couldn't find any staff. Seemed to be a trend here. No staff! Tennis courts were closed, sports courts were okay. Chess and checkers pieces were all over the place and broken.

Overall we had a nice stay. We would likely not come back. Williamsburg has a lot to see. A lot of history. I would recommend coming to see Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Colonial Building on the third floor. We were near the large pool for the kids. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjok03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Marriott's Manor Club. Each of our resorts has unique experiences and amenities; however there is no excuse for not receiving the Marriott service you expect and deserve. We have addressed your feedback with the appropriate managers and apologize the food at the pool bar was unacceptable. This is not typical of the food quality and we are looking into the reason your food was poor quality. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you at another vacation club resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Utilized two 2BR condos for one week to take our family of 13 on vacation in the Williamsburg area. Requested area near the main pool to have 5 grandkids be close to the pool/play area. We were checked into the Jamestown Commons building which was only 150 feet from the play/pool area. Condos were across the hall from each other. Resort activities each day that all really enjoyed including Spa, golf, outdoor movies at the pool. All rooms very clean & fully equipped included washer/dryer & full kitchens. Many places to visit all within 20 minutes such as Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, Busch Gardens. Ate in mostly but hit 4 restaurants during the week( breakfast twice, dinner twice). Many choices for dining out & all 4 were good within 10 minutes by car. Will return for another vacation in the future. Staff were great!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TedB918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite for three nights. No one came to clean the room, make the beds, or provide fresh towels on our first day. I called the front desk at 4 pm and was told that the housekeeping staff had left for the day. The front desk checked with a supervisor and called back to inform us that we did not receive service because we had a do not disturb sign on the door. This was not true!

We were on the first floor and it sounded like there was a bowling alley above us every night. I called the front desk and they said they would speak to the guests to ask them to be considerate of their neighbors. The noise continued, however.

I contacted guest services after I left and received a generic letter of apology stating that they appreciated my feed back. Unfortunately my concerns were not addressed during my stay.

The grounds are beautiful but when I stay at a hotel I expect the basics- a clean room and a good night's sleep. My expectations were not met.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbarrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Manor Club. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we have addressed your comments with the resort management team to ensure corrective action is taken. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but were pleasantly surprised by our large one BR suite. Well equipped and appointed, beautiful grounds. I agree with others that a decent restaurant/tavern on site would be a nice addition. Everything was clean and well maintained. On site store is great if all you need are chips and soda. If you are going to cook, stock up elsewhere.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here while visiting Williamsburg and could not have found a better haven. We rearranged our plans just to spend a day at the resort. We had a one bedroom villa, and it was heavenly Our windows looked out into the woods and the room was extra spaceous. The kitchen made it easy to cook meals, and the huge whirlpool jacuzi was so relaxing at the end of the day. Tons of free space, dining area, and a working fireplace. The grounds are excellent, right on a golf course. We took quite a few morning and evening walks through the surrounding neighborhood and course. We also made use of the pool and hot tub. The free movies and popcorn in their in-house theater were so much fun. We can't wait to come back. And we were never asked once to look at their time-share materials or attend a seminar. Very guest friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was an ok place to stay in Williamsburg. Here with my family and the room was very cramped and I was not happy that there was not a family restaurant on site especially for breakfast. Had to drive quite a ways to find a place to eat. It just did not meet my expectations...I have stayed at other Mariott resorts and this was certainly not one of my favorites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elsbells63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Marriott's Manor Club. The resort is not a typical hotel experience and provides guests with many additional amenities, services, activities and luxury villa accommodations. However there is no restaurant on the property. We apologize you were not aware of this in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
5.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Property: Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Address: 101 St. Andrews Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188-7498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Villas set in Ford's Colony community; minutes away from Williamsburg, Busch Gardens & Water County USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Manor Club At Ford`s Colony Hotel Williamsburg
Marriotts Manor Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg
Williamsburg Marriott
Marriotts Manor Club Fords Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing