We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the place for a relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is the place for a relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ford’s Manor using our timeshare exchange (Interval International) for a week from Friday August 10-17, 2012. We were pleasantly surprised at the spacious rooms and living areas of the two-bedroom unit. We invited my brother and sister-in-law to stay with us and it was plenty of room for everyone to have their own privacy yet, not get in each others’ way when we socialized in the living area. The living room led to a very nice screened balcony that overlooked the pool area and beautiful gardens. The grounds are immaculate and well-kept.

The bathroom in the lock-out was spacious, with tub/shower but awkward entry door. The master bedroom has a Jacuzzi and vanity powder room area while the master bathroom has a shower and vanity. Nice beds, very comfortable with lots of fluff.

This was our first visit to Marriott’s Ford Colony Manor and it was an enjoyable and we would definitely return now that we know how to get there. Getting there was a bit tricky; not something you want to do at night. We had a hard time finding it even with GPS.

Easy check in/out; our guests were allowed to check-in before we arrived. The full kitchen, laundry room and other amenities created a home-away-from-home coziness for us all. Food Lion and Target are close enough for grocery shopping. We went to Busch Gardens, drove the beautiful tree-lined Colonial Parkway to Yorktown, went to downtown (historic) Williamsburg, the Water Park and very disappointed to see the deterioration of the President’s Park. What a beautiful waste! We were shocked that the Park was closed. We’d heard so much about it from friends that had visited it. The restaurants along Richmond Road that we visited: Olive Gardens, Red Lobster and IHop all have good food and service. The Cracker Barrel on ByPass Road is like walking into a western outpost; so many lovely things to choice from. The meal was good also.

The areas surrounding are quite accessible and easy to find. We went to Busch Gardens, and lots of merchants along the main street; Richmond Road. We were there for a weekend family reunion, but stayed for the entire week. The surrounding areas are nice, clean and friendly. The resort has an extremely relaxing atmosphere and we enjoyed our stay

The only con is the fact that you have to pay $35 for a “straighten up.” Otherwise there is a carpet sweeper and broom in the closet.

Room Tip: Second floor with screened balcony overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kookiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    397
    79
    27
    21
See reviews for
617
421
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sellersville, PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our family really enjoyed our stay at Ford's Colony...through a timeshare exchange, we had two very comfortable rooms. The grounds are immaculately kept; no matter what time of day we went out, there were always crews taking care of the area. The neighborhood, the pools, the planned events, the golf course, the proximity to stores (and a Food Lion), and access to all major Williamsburg attractions was excellent. We would absolutely stay there again. One tip: we did noticeably hear little running footsteps from the room above, so you may want to ask for the top floor of your unit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PA_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have been timeshare owners hee since 99. There have been no major improvements since. The property is very clean. The splash grill is horrible and never open. You need to keep up with the times!!!! Sincerely dissappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We have passed your comments on to Interval International. The confirmation you received was for a guest room. While I regret that you were unhappy with the size of accommodations, this is the room type that was offered and you accepted. This information was also on the confirmation you received from Interval International.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here in late July for 3 nights - and it was well-worth it. It was about 15-20 minutes away from Busch Gardens, but the beautiful, quiet setting, spotless, great bed, and nice optional services made it a deal in comparison to closer hotels. It's inside a planned neighborhood around a golf course. It's VERY close to the outlet mall, and there's a grocery store and a variety of restaurants not far away - maybe a 5-10 minute drive. The surroundings really make you feel like you are driving into a pretty rich neighborhood.

Stayed in a studio with a king bed and kitchenette. The kitchenette had a toaster, full size coffee pot, small sink, microwave, mini-frig with freezer, dish soap/sponge/towels, and place settings for three. There wasn't really any counter space or storage space in the kitchenette area for our stuff. The bathroom was supplied with alot of towels - including towels to go to the pool with you. There was a sleeper sofa (didn't open it) and a table you could dine at with a couple chairs in the room. No balcony, but the sliding glass door did open.

As part of Marriott's Vacation Club - they have activities planned every day - many of which are free or low-cost. You can rent bikes or golf clubs - but we didn't have time for that. Movies, craft activities, things for the kids. We wished we had time to go walking around the community - it's very pretty. Three pools - the main outdoor one with a splash pad for the little ones, a small outdoor one and small indoor one. You can walk to all three from anywhere in the complex. They had nice looking grills for use by the tennis courts that we saw folks using (and ended up jealous as their stuff smelled so good!).

Decor in the room is similar to the pictures on the website - a tad colonial - not our taste at all, but it wasn't overwhelming awful, just, well, colonial crap. We could hear our neighbors on one side of us - but not too badly and luckily they quieted down early. Bed was great, lots of pillows. I can definitely see a couple or a couple with one small child easily settling in for a week in the studio and being happy.

Downsides - the bathroom arrangement. Large vanity with storage space was nice, but the way the door opened into the room and the layout made it totally awkward. Whoever approved the design at construction time was an idiot - plenty of space to have better access. For as nice as the place was overall, I expected better construction to keep the noise down from between rooms or the hallway (not bad, but not great either).

I would definitely go back here. We paid the same price we would have at many of the mid-priced chain hotels in the area - but this place's location, amenities, pool options, quality of room made it a better value for us.

Room Tip: Ask not to be next to the elevator as you can hear it working in the room directly adjacent to it (o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank novicetravellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We are Marriott Time share owners and exchanged for a week here at the Manor Club in Williamsburg. It's a great facility located on a golf resort with 3 courses. We received 6 complimentary rounds of golf (paid for cart). All 3 of us golf so we had a great time playing the courses. Our villa was close to the main building and pool and close to tennis/basketball courts and larger pool. Movie theater & game room were also next door and we saw "We Bought A Zoo" complete with popcorn! The resort is very close to the outlets and about 20 minutes from Busch Gardens and the Water Park. Colonial Williamsburg is also only about 15 min away. Virginia Beach is 1.5 hour drive right to beach/parking. There's also a thoroughbred(summer) race course - Colonial Downs - about 30 minutes west. 2 bedroom Villas are beautiful and have all necessary ammenities inlcuding washer/dryer, 2 full bathrooms, livingroom, full kitchen with dishes/pans/utensils/blender.., and screened porch. Great trails in the development for walking/riding/jogging.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upstatefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our second trip to the Marriot Manor Club. Though we don't own a timeshare, we prefer staying in vacation club properties because of the convenience of having so much space (living room, kitchen, balcony).

Rooms are spacious. Easy to spend a week away with the family without feeling crowded in a single hotel room. Easy drive to Busch Gardens, colonial williamsburg and Water Country. Beautiful area to drive around. The pool was nice and quiet, but not as large as those in Florida, and no special features like waterfalls or slides. My kids liked the activites they put on (ice cream social, gum making, etc). The grounds were not large, but were very pretty to walk around. My only small complaint is the pool bar and grill. Doesn't open until somewhere around 12:15-12:20 depending on the day. Then there are not enough people working there. One day I ordered 4 frozen drinks as soon as it opened. Because someone ordered food in front of me, they said it would be about 1/2 an hour before they were ready. Not that big of a deal because we weren't in a hurry, but they need to get their act together.

Room Tip: Pool not near main check-in area is nicer. Choose one of the two buildings near that pool.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was our second visit to this wonderful resort - we always promised ourselves that we would return after our first visit was somewhat spoiled by a tropical storm that hit the East coast a few years ago. We stayed in a two room villa and with our elderly parents and 2 teenage boys, we still had plenty of room to enjoy the high standard facilities of both the rooms and the resort.

This resort has a feel of tranquil luxury from the minute you drive (slowly!) down the wide avenue, lined by large properties that are dotted all over this huge estate, never more than a 9 iron away from one of the 36+ golf holes that add to the scenic splendour. But you don't need to be a golfer to enjoy this resort. For the more active, the multiple pools (mainly outdoor but one also indoor) and tennis courts plus the well equipped fitness center give plenty to keep you fit. For those looking for more gentle exercise, the many walking paths across the property allow you to enjoy the large grounds. For the kids, an entertainment room provides a great place to hang out if the weather is poor or for an evening of fun playing games - ping pong etc. The regular run of movies shown on a large screen is another great way to keep bored kids (or adults!) amused.
We have not tried the restaurants but I hear they are good - instead, we have taken advantage of the well equipped kitchens in the villas or the many conveniently located gas grills to enjoy a bit of self catered food.
If you are in Williamsburg for a week or a weekend or just stopping by on route to and from further afield, you will do no better than to stay here.

One of the best Marriott resorts around!

Room Tip: For a large family (5+), go for one of the two room villas. Excellent properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Statsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
5.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Property: Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Address: 101 St. Andrews Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188-7498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Villas set in Ford's Colony community; minutes away from Williamsburg, Busch Gardens & Water County USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Manor Club At Ford`s Colony Hotel Williamsburg
Marriotts Manor Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg
Williamsburg Marriott
Marriotts Manor Club Fords Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing