We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Older hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Historic District
Ranked #61 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Older hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Not bad for a quick over night stay. It is old and needs some work. The positive is that there is free wifi and tasty free coffee in the lobby. Since its older the structure of the building is better and the walls are not as thin as the new hotels, so we never had issues with noise or neighbors. Oh, and they have an easy swipe key entry for room, very modern for this place. Location is good for site seeing, etc.

The negative is that the bathroom is small and needs revamping but has good water pressure. The beds were not comfortable. The tv is old and the picture is not clear, it's an old tube tv. No flat screens here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks you for your recent stay. We are an older hotel and because of that we are built better. I am in process of ordering our flat screens as I wite this to you. We will be doing futrther renovations as the year progesses. So when you visit again some new changes will be visable.Because we are older and better built, we do everything possiable to make your stay a great one. On your return visit please stop by and see me (GM ) so I can thank you personally and provide for any additional assistance.
Thanks,
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    72
    71
    69
    48
See reviews for
120
97
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our stay at the hotel was from Saturday, May 10 – Monday, May 13, 2013. We arrived around 11:00am and too experienced the surly lady at the front desk that the reviewer before me mentioned. She was not pleasant at all but did painstakingly answer all of my questions.
From the previous reviews I was expecting the worst but have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was ‘dated’ as noted several times, but then isn’t everything in Colonial Williamsburg?  There was a bit of a mildew smell in the hallway when we arrived but it was gone the next day. Our room did not smell of mildew at all. I have to say that the beds were VERY comfortable and we slept great. Everything was clean and I think it served its purpose well and the price was great! This is all coming from someone who is a bit of a Diva…but hey I wasn’t expecting the Ritz Carlton…but then again I didn’t pay Ritz Carlton prices!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiGi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks you for the great review. I am pleased we cauld fulfill your needs. I have noted the comment concerning front desk and assure you it will be attended to immediatly. I am so glad that we could provide a nice "Diva" a great stay. We will be updating our home soon and welcome you again for an even nicer visit.
Thanks,
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I don't know if it was chemistry or what, but when I checked in I found the desk clerk to be surly -- so much so that my anticipation of exploring Williamsburg took a huge dive.

My reaction was to start writing this review the moment we got to our room, and I very diligently cataloged everything that was remotely wrong (besides the surly desk clerk). We thought the room was tiny relative to other Choice Hotels rooms. The TV was an antique tube model and the reception was not great. Needless to say, the desk clerk didn't acknowledge my Choice Hotels membership (they're supposed to do that). There was only one electrical outlet available in the room (until I moved the coffee maker -- which didn't work -- to the bathroom). In other words, it was headed for a one star rating.

Then things started to turn around. Everyone else on the staff with whom I had any contact at all was not just friendly and helpful, they were VERY friendly and helpful. There was a second sink in the room (helpful when I had to move the coffee maker there to free up an outlet). The beds were extra long. In addition to the usual styrofoam coffee cups, there were ceramic coffee mugs. There was already a non-slip bath mat in the tub, so we didn't have to deploy the one we carry on trips. There were plenty of luggage trollies, even with two tour buses checking out at the same time we were. The location is about as good as you can get with respect to Colonial Williamsburg without staying in one of the lodging facilities owned by Colonial Williamsburg. The room was quiet.

But the real high point of this stay was the staff (minus the surly desk clerk encountered at check in). Both in the hotel and in the attached restaurant, they were absolutely super -- upbeat, happy, helpful. Because the staff was so nice, it pains me to just give the place three stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetweentheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks you for your review. I noticed you are a senior contributor and detail comments mean a lot coming from a seasoned traveler. We try hard and I have one of the best staffs in town. I am glad the people made your visit a great one. I will work on the details you noted needing my attention and will ensure we move in the right direction to make your next visit even better.
Again thank you for the time and helpful hints.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Less than a 10 minute walk to the center of historic Williamsburg. We were on a group tour and stayed 6 nights. The room was clean but the beds could of been firmer. Our bureau was broken, the carpets were worn. We had trouble with the safety lock that ended in locking us out of the room. The normal electronic locks were tricky to use. The staff was very helpful. AAA gives this hotel 3 stars. Based on my experience it should have two stars. The hotel could use remodeling. On balance, the closeness to Williamsburg outweighs the weaknesses with the room. For a visit to Williamsburg I would stay there again. I was very satisfied with the attached restaurant. The meeting spaces were comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit - I am sorry about the new locks - they are a new and different product. They no longer require swiping but require just touch the key directly to the door. I am glad you liked the room and the location. We have plans to remodel in the near future. Lok forward to your visit again.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

While the outside and restaurant and lobby look decent, The rooms were a different story. My wife and I have never stayed in a Clarion before and will never again. If it was for more then one night we would have left. The rugs were stained, the floor was dirty in the bathroom and the worst part is the fridge had hair in it. The location is great and close to Richmond Ave which seems to have everything in Williamsburg,VA

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeWny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I am sorry for your problems during stay - I have been in the room in question and we have had carpets cleaned along with additional detail cleaning of the room. If you try us again please have the front desk contact the General Manager directly so I can ensure a great stay.
Thx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

While in a convenient location, this hotel did not live up to its purported star level. The wi-fi took many attempts to access and then was slow and kicked me off. The first floor smelled of chlorine. There was a leak in the ceiling of the restaurant. Though our room was clean, we spotted a few roaches in the bathroom. And several pieces of equipment in the exercise room were not functional. Not awful, but not great...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hengelhardt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nchalkley, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I am sorry for the visit. We have had several internet problems mostly due to streamers (guest watching movies on internet). We have recently added a device to regulate band-with and our system is performing well. The pool is located on the ground floor and we have added exhaust fans to the pool room to help control any oders reaching the Holet rooms - thanks you for the heads up with the smell. I am disgusted that you saw roach and have had the room exterminated along with the two adjoining rooms to ensure that we have eliminated the problem.. With so much traffic they do appear from time to time and we act immediatly to get rid of them. If you return please contact me directly, Neal, and I will ensure a great stay at a great price.
Thanks,
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It was in my opinion walking if not biking distant from the village. Next time we go down there we must definitely bring our bikes. The hotel was clean and we had no issues except that the TV was a bit old and on its way out. The TV made a noise after being on for a bit. I told the front desk about it on my way out.
We didn’t use the pool, but would have liked too, although it did seem to have a little too much chlorine in it. When we walked into the pool to look at it the smell kind of irritated our eyes a bit. That could have been because the pool was enclosed in glass panels, but the pool overall was clean and pretty decent sized.
I had seen other reviews about the train that passes by periodically, and I would say that coming from NY it didn’t bother me so much but I can see how it would to others, but it’s a quick train so it’s not like the train from the movie “My Cousin Vinny” . If you’re a lite sleeper I would make sure you request a room on the front side of the hotel.
The hotel has a restaurant connected to it and it was a good place to get a bite to eat and fairly cheap in my opinion. My family and I have an annual pass to Colonial Williamsburg and are planning on going back and we would definitely stay there again if it’s available.

Room Tip: Due to the train at night I would suggest getting a room either on the side or towards the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chavezjwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nchalkley, Manager at Clarion Hotel Historic District, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks you for a great visit. We pride ourselves on service and location. I agree TVs are dated but good news is we have them scheduled for replacement.
Please come and visit again and try our pool. The pool is tested daily and a visable log of levels are posted for your viewing. Being an enclosed pool when tempratures turn hot we do get a slight clorine order. Our roofs retract on the pool and when we open them, the fresh air is added to the mix. Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thanks,
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#39 of 80 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#41 of 80 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#42 of 80 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#51 of 80 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Historic District

Property: Clarion Hotel Historic District
Address: 351 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4516 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Williamsburg Historic District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Historic District is located just steps away from where it all began. The hotel is within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg; two miles to Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA; only minutes to Jamestown and other area attractions. The College of William and Mary is less than two miles. Williamsburg Premium Outlet is less than five miles. Whether visiting the colonial capital for sightseeing, golfing, or shopping, the Clarion Hotel Historic District is the perfect choice for your accommodations. Guest rooms have coffee makers, spacious work desks, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail, cable television and include free local calls. Select rooms also have microwaves and refrigerators. Guest amenities include an indoor heated pool, hot tub, exercise facility, free wireless high-speed Internet, free parking, free coffee, free daily newspaper and onsite security. We are pet-friendly and a non-smoking hotel. Daddyo's is our full-service restaurant and lounge. In addition, we have 3000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet facilities and a dedicated catering staff to ensure your meeting or banquet is destined to make history! Just choose from one of our pre-planned meeting or banquet packages and we will take care of all the details! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Historic District
Clarion Hotel Williamsburg
Sheraton Williamsburg
Williamsburg Four Points
Williamsburg Sheraton
Four Points Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing