We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pick another hotel. Really.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williamsburg Hotel Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Williamsburg Hotel Historic District
Ranked #61 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pick another hotel. Really.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a shame. The location is great. It could be a nice budget hotel, but the upkeep and safety issues make it not acceptable for us. Broken elevators, broken ice machines on 3 floors (out of 4), wires hanging from ceiling where a smoke detector should be, exterior doors propped open for men (staff?) drinking liquor in back parking lot, and a TERRIBLE paid ($8) breakfast buffet at the adjoining restaurant (no free breakfast). Room was older, outer bed coverings had pizza sauce and oil stains on it, hairs and makeup residue in bathroom, generally unclean. TV reception poor. When things reported to staff (various items, various times over 2 days) they were indifferent at best.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rick_EMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    85
    79
    71
    53
See reviews for
133
108
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

just stayed here for 4 days, I did read the reviews before hand and figured I'd give it a try also thought the pictures looked nice well pictures can be deceiving our room was on the 3rd floor I guess a newer room it wasn't bad the bed was comfy pillows were terrible alothough my husband liked them. The pool area (which was one of the reasons I chose this hotel) was horrible, the grout in between the tiles were filthy jacuzzi was cold and dirty the chairs were sagging needless to say we didn't use this at all. If you just need a place to sleep this will do, some shady looking guests in the halls a few times. I guess since it was so cheap thats what you get. I won't go back to this hotel because of the low quality and terrible pool ( kids want to get in pool and water looked cloudy)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SANTDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

On reading other reviews, we were very wary of this Hotel. We were expecting it to be noisy mainly.

We checked in and were given a second floor room overlooking the roof of the pool area, no view in other words and the potential to be noisy. Alarm bells rang and we went back to the Reception and asked whether a room higher up was available.

We were delighted with the response that we could look at a room on the fourth floor which was the Business floor and if we liked it we could change to that. The Reception Staff were quite helpful over all.

Once we had settled in, we tried the food in the lively bar and restaurant area within the Hotel. The steak was the best we had on our two week trip and the restaurant staff were friendly and happy. The bar was great fun and we got chatting to all sorts of people who recommended places to visit in the area. The Bar staff were friendly too.

Our overall stay in Williamsburg was great and would recommend this Hotel but can see that there may be an element of noise on the lower levels. There were a lot of families and to-ing and fro-ing between rooms on the first floor and this is also where the swimming pool is.

Our room was quite large and clean with all the basics we needed. Would stay again if we were ever in the area in the future.

Room Tip: Top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catweazleatplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Clarion Hotel a few times this past year and each time I'm reminded of why I keep coming back. Upon each visit, I have always been greeted with a smile and a helpful attitude from the reception staff. My room has always been clean and tidy and if there is ever anything I need the service staff is always available to accomidate my needs. Also, the Roanoke college hockey team stayed at the Clarion and from a team perspective it is truly the ONLY place we will stay in Williamsburg.

Thanks a lot Clarion I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Positives room was pretty clean but the outside areas and ice and drink machine areas were dirty I would not stay here again. The location to historic area make it prime realestate but a new updated hotel is severely needed. I also didn't think this "motel" was dog friendly' but we hear barking and saw a cute fluffy dog ducking into a room near us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topotraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antoio, Tx
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed with a tour 12 kids 10-12 yrs and their grandparents. Staff very nice on phone and in person. Very kid friendly- don't care if they cartwheel down the halls. Nice pool area..indoor and stuffy hot tho. We ate every meal there for 6 days and were surprised at the quality on food. Full breakfast, did run out of youget on the next to last day and promised me some the next day. There was none out, but I asked and she went back and found me one. They tried very hard to please, and very friendly. The kids didn;t seem to bother them as much as they bothered some grandparents!
Great location, for Colonial Williamsburg, but not to town or anywhere to buy groceries etc.
I asked for a refrig, and got one -no charge- and microwave. The rooms were worn, stains on the spreads, hair on towel, blood or ketsup on the wall, drawer knobs fell off, no key in safe. They did come fix the safe after we asked. All in all you get what you pay for. They weren't much for helping you get around- bus, train etc.
Good for our tour.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. No one else in our group had a microwave and refrigerator. We were also the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staro311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Like the other reviewers said, looks can be deceiving. We checked in and were, at first, on the 4th floor. The first ground level was the "pet friendly" area, which smelled sooo bad. We get up to our room and find it has two Queen beds (I asked for a King with a refrigerator and microwave). The room felt wet! It smelled of pool, pets and just funk. The A/C was on, but it still felt muggy and humid. The beds were both slumped in the center/ uncomfortable and we called down immediately to tell them we asked for a King room.

The lady at the front desk told us to come down to get the new room keys and we went to the 3rd floor. We got the King room and it was much better, it even looked better, no smell and was nice and cool.

Upon further inspection I see that there's hair still left on the walls in the shower, a few mascara stains on the pillow cases, a huge clock in the room that hung on the wall with a dead battery that had been there so long it was leaking battery acid all down the back of it.

Some hot pink nail polish stains (?) on the bed spread.

The refrigerator in the room had a mini freezer in it too....but with no freezer door...so anything we put in there, no matter how low we put in the fridge thermostat on, froze everything. Bye, bye peaches.

The dresser drawer was so broken it wouldn't open but about 2 inches and then wouldn't shut after that.

And the grand finale, we woke up early to eat breakfast and were sitting there and I spot the biggest cockroach I have ever seen, easily 3 inches long, hanging on the bed skirt.

The boyfriend trapped it in a cup and flushed it.

We paid about $300 for three nights and I always go to the Super 8 in the area because it's cheap ($39 per night!), clean and has a good continental breakfast. I said, "Let's go ahead and spend the extra money and get something a little nicer to look at/ vacation in".

The Super 8 rocks and I will never go back to this hotel.

On the upside, the two girls bartending at the side bar/restaurant were very nice.

We mentioned all these things during check-out and the lady just got the big "OMG eyes" and wrote everything down and never offered to try to fix the problems (i.e. discount a night, maybe?!)

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tmb216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
0.8 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#50 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#42 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort Magruder Hotel
Fort Magruder Hotel
#60 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Hotel Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Hotel Historic District

Property: Williamsburg Hotel Historic District
Address: 351 York Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Historic District)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Williamsburg Hotel Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Williamsburg Hotel Historic District is located just steps away from where it all began. The hotel is within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg; two miles to Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA; only minutes to Jamestown and other area attractions. The College of William and Mary is less than two miles. Williamsburg Premium Outlet is less than five miles. Whether visiting the colonial capital for sightseeing, golfing, or shopping, the Williamsburg Hotel Historic District is the perfect choice for your accommodations. Guest rooms have coffee makers, spacious work desks, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail, cable television and include free local calls. Select rooms also have microwaves and refrigerators. Guest amenities include an indoor heated pool, hot tub, exercise facility, free wireless high-speed Internet, free parking, free coffee, free daily newspaper and onsite security. We are pet-friendly and a non-smoking hotel. Daddyo's is our full-service restaurant and lounge. In addition, we have 3000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet facilities and a dedicated catering staff to ensure your meeting or banquet is destined to make history! Just choose from one of our pre-planned meeting or banquet packages and we will take care of all the details! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Williamsburg Hotel Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Historic District
Clarion Hotel Williamsburg
Sheraton Williamsburg
Williamsburg Four Points
Williamsburg Sheraton
Four Points Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing