We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown,PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and we couldn't have been happier. The price was reasonable, the proximity to the historical sites was perfect. Breakfast was readily available with an attendant available to restock and tidy things as patrons helped themselves. The pool was clean and comfortable with towels right by the door so you didn't have to use the ones from your room.
We arrived much later than expected but had notified them well in advance, both times I called the staff was pleasant and reassured me that everything would be fine.
The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the staff pleasant. I would stay here again. Oh one last thing, if they would add sausage patties or bacon to the breakfast fare it would truly be outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlouise254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear jlouise254,

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you found our property to be perfect! We are conveniently located only 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg, 10 miles from Jamestown and 15 miles from Yorktown. Our seasonal pool creates a wonderful opportunity to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. We appreciate your recommendation on our breakfast items as well and will take it into consideration. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    241
    69
    19
    7
See reviews for
381
299
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I picked this hotel for it's location to Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and Water Country USA. With my AAA discount it was priced right for a hotel that has been recently renovated.

Overall I was satisfied with my stay. The rooms were clean, decent size, and beds comfortable. On my last night of the trip I did have trouble sleeping since it seemed like the "summer rush" had taken over the hotel but that is just how it is during summer time.

The breakfast was pretty terrible. The "egg patties" were gross, the waffles mediocre, and the shot glass sized cups for juice were odd. If you want all carbohydrates for your breakfast this is the place for you. However, with the amount of restaurants nearby you could easily eat elsewhere every morning. There is actually a Denny's in the parking lot of the hotel.

Would I stay here again? For one night passing through, sure, but for an extended stay I would not because of the breakfast selection.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kkins56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Kkins56,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us however sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our breakfast selection. We have removed quite a bit of the carbs and now offer the egg patties, yogurt and kettle style oatmeal with toppings. For those who would like more, there is a Denny's next door as well as Bistro 515 which normally offers menu and some days a breakfast buffet (discounts for Bistro515 available at front desk). Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga, tn
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is super clean and newly renovated. I was very happy with check-in and the front desk staff. We easily found everything we needed and it is right around the corner from Colonial Williamsburg. You can walk but would probably prefer to drive. It is also close to Cracker Barrel and other bigger restaurants. We walked down to play mini golf and eat ice cream at the Dairy Queen. The pool was also nice and clean. I would like to see prices on the vending machines for drinks. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christienrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear christienrandy,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you were happy with your decision to stay at our newly renovated hotel. We are conveniently located within walking distance to a convenience store, restaurants, golf, shopping and much more. Thank you again for your business and we hope that we have become your new home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
296 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed here while en route to the Outer Banks. The hotel has recently been remodeled and was relatively nice. There was an adequate free breakfast (cereal, toast, waffle maker, eggs). I didn't use either, but there was a pool and a small exercise room. It was only about 5 minutes to Colonial Williamsburg, which is why I stayed in the area. Best of all, it was under $100 for a night.

I wouldn't want to spend a week there, but it was just fine for 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharkalark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sharkalark,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased that you found what you were looking for on your 1 night stayover. We hope that you will keep us in mind if you ever plan to vacation in Williamsburg. Please email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com as I would love to know what else you would be looking for if stayed at a hotel for 1 week that we do not offer. Thank you for your business and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. We booked on the same day through an app, so our rate was already paid and we had absolutely no problem to check in. The front desk people were very friendly and efficient. Although we had originally booked a double room, we were given a really big room with two double beds, which was definitely a plus after staying in really small rooms during our trip to the east cost.
The location is very good, close to a variety of restaurants down the road and a few minutes from the historic area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Juliana D,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and our convenient location. Our rooms have 2 queens or 1 King bed. In addition, we do have upgrades available to corner rooms as well as our 1 bedroom suite or 2 bedroom suite. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you are a hard sleeper, like a firm bed, no comforter and do not intend to eat the hotel breakfast, than this might be a good place for you. One of the worst hotels I have stayed in, in regards to paper thin walls/doors. It didn't help that many disrespectful people/kids running/yelling in the halls early in the morning (before 7 am) and late at night after 11 pm.

The beds had one sheet with one "bedspread" which was a thick version of a sheet, never have seen this before. Some pillows did not fit in the pillow case. One wardrobe with five hangers, no closet. Door just barely opens into bathroom, less than an inch from the hitting the toilet. I believe these are double beds also, not queens as advertised.

The breakfast was toast, oatmeal (?), generic cereal, yogart, waffles and watery orange juice and instant coffee. And egg patties we saw being warmed in a microwave on a styrofoam plate. One morning the oatmeal was about empty, then next it was like cement, had to scrape it on the side of the bowl. Saw the man refilling the "Kellogg's" dispenser with generic cereal. There was cream cheese...never saw bagels for 5 mornings.

I would consider this an upscale motel, it was clean and nicely decorated, but that did not make up for all the negatives. Stayed based on reviews, this was a mistake.

Room Tip: Go to 6 Crabs to eat on 2nd Street, disappointed they were out of crab cakes but good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TinaKzooMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear TinaKzooMichigan,

Thank you for taking time out to share your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our hotel. Our goal is complete satisfaction in all aspects of our hotel and we obviously fell short. Unfortunately if we do not know that kids are running the hallways, we would not be able to correct it. Our bedspreads are light weight, however, we do have blankets in our rooms and have extra blankets available upon request. Our breakfast bar consist of White Bread, Wheat Bread, Cinnamon Raisin Bread, kettle style oatmeal with toppings, regular and a flavored waffle, variety of cereals, yogurt and egg patties. We are sorry that you were not pleased with our products or how they were prepared. We have addressed your concerns and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

That's what we said when checking in. This is probably in the top 5 nicest hotels I've stayed in. For the price you can't go wrong. It is beautifully decorated in a modern style you wouldn't really expect from a Days Inn.

The only reasons I didn't give it a perfect rating is because housekeeping needs to pay a little more attention to detail. To be fair, they did tell us they didn't inspect the room yet when we checked in, but there were a couple of issues we spotted right away. Dried soda splashes on the door, dust on the lamps, etc. Still the room for the most part was clean. The other reason is the complimentary breakfast seemed meager and the breakfast area could have been better organized.

I would still recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boatr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear boatr35,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are sorry that you were checked into a room that had not been inspected as of yet. We appreciate your feedback on our breakfast bar. We would love to hear from you further to find out what changes you would suggest to make it appear more organized for our future guests. Please email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com. Thank you for your business and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Address: 331 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2922 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Gateway hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Prime Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing