We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

we just stayed ed for 4 days and found the location great to be near the restoration ,comfortable room but the greatest part was the staff. they couldnt seem to do enough for you. good location nice room and great rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceaser2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear ceaser2014,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your location as well as the hotel and team. Our goal is complete customer satisfaction and to provide a vacation experience to every guests every time. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    286
    79
    20
    8
See reviews for
448
343
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was one of the nicest hotels for the price we have ever stayed at! My girls were thrilled to stay at such a nice hotel...and mind you, we had just left "The Great Wolf Lodge". We stayed here to save $$ after doing the famous water park and before heading to our next adventure at Busch Gardens the next morning. Shopping and food were close by and so was our previous hotel and BG. Food was typical in the morning-but at such a good price, no one was complaining! The beds slept good and weren't dipped down in the center like at GWL. Everything was very clean. The bathroom was a little squished but otherwise a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomoftwoPrincesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear MomoftwoPrincesses,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the recent renovations was to your satisfaction. We are excited to announce that as of Sunday 4/14/14, we launched our new breakfast menu. We hope that you can come back and see how this change brings even a greater value to staying at the new Days Inn Historic Area. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

From the outside, this place looks like a standard Days Inn. But looks are deceiving. After a recent renovation, the lobby is very impressive from an architectural point of view. But the renovation has left the hotel with a sort of funky layout. If you need to use the elevator, it's located near the back of the property which requires a bit of a walk from the lobby. But that's a small beef. The rooms were large, bright and painted in a unique avant-garde style. The wi-fi was great and the beds were comfortable. We found David Smith, the General Manager to be very upbeat and friendly and a manager who will go out of this way to keep the guests happy. The breakfast area is very large, bright and cheery. While the main breakfast items are carb related, they were fine. My only suggesting is that the standard plastic knives and forks are so small and flimsy, it's almost impossible to cut a waffle. I would like to see all free breakfast hotels/motels add a buck on my room tab so they could upgrade their plastic knives and forks to something more substantial that you can actually use. The Days Inn is an excellent choice for visitors to Williamsburg who want to save a few rubles on their travel tab.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Retired1811,

Thank you for your kind words. What an awesome review heading! We are glad that you found our hotel to be nothing like the normal Days Inn. Shortly after opening a few months ago, we received the Days Inn Renovation of the Year Award. Our goal is to be the "Best Value Under the Sun" and we are glad that you found us to be an excellent choice for visitors coming to Historic Williamsburg. We are pleased to announce that Days Inn Worldwide is restructuring the breakfast menu at all hotels and will be a "Healthier Choice" by April 30th. We hope that you will come back to see the process. Thank you for your business and please keep us in mind in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We tried this hotel based on price, proximity and the fact that we had found a great coupon at the Virginia Welcome Center. We were VERY pleased with this updated, clean and economical choice! The hotel is a short trip from Colonial Williamsburg. The staff was friendly and helpful. If in the area again, we would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in the first room on the first floor, as you leave the lobby. The head of the beds backs up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abakeraday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear abakeraday,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are glad to hear that you were very pleased with your accommodations. The HMP Design Group did a magnificent job with the renovations of the hotel and we are glad to hear that our guests love the new surroundings. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We saved $15 a night booking this at the last minute. Clean, reasonably convenient to attractions. This was in shoulder season, peak seasons usually don't give this flexibility. Now quite finished, so they're still adding some cosmetic stuff to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Don H,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our recently reopened hotel. Our goal is to provide the "Best Value Under the Sun" and we are glad that you found that during your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
1.4 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Address: 331 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2922 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Gateway hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Premium Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing