We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay. Neat and clean. Very courteous staff...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie
1 review
“Good place to stay. Neat and clean. Very courteous staff...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Good place to stay. Neat and clean. Very courteous staff. Lots of nice restaurants close by. Breakfast needs improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Chris L,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you found our hotel to be neat, clean and to your satisfaction. We would love for you to come back next summer some time or at any Days Inn Nationwide when we roll out our new DayBreak Breakfast. Wyndham Hotels has heard that guests want a different variety and are planning a large roll out. Until then, we hope that you will enjoy our make-your-own Belgian Waffles or one of our variety of danishes and muffins. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    264
    73
    20
    7
See reviews for
410
327
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This motel is clean and attractive. The remodeling job was well done. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was cheerful and bright. The continental breakfast was basic, but offered something for everyone.
The beds were comfortable. Housekeeping did a superior job having our room prepared for us every day. What a pleasure to stay in a motel where everything is new!
We have stayed in just about every motel in Williamsburg, but found this one to be the best deal for the price. We will stay here the next time we visit Williamsburg.

Room Tip: We loved the first floor (rooms 110 - 122) since they were close to everything (breakfast area, pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denmiller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear DenlinOceanCity_Md,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that we have become your hotel of choice anytime you visit Historic Williamsburg. If you get a chance, please come back over the holidays. Our area is such a beautiful sight to see while the decorations are up. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Checked in with my 3 month old. After dinner we were watching TV and a roach crawled across the bed. Desk clerk called the owner who offered to move us to a different room. Roaches in one room would likely mean roaches in the rest of the hotel. We packed up and drove straight through the night 9 hours home cutting our vacation short. Asked that the owner call me, no phone call. We spent $40 at the laundry mat washing everything we had with us, threw away $30 worth of foods/snaks ect. They didn't charge us for the night, however we weren't there a matter of 3 hours. I had no plans to write a review as this is a new hotel and I felt this was likely an isolated incodent. However in reading other reviews this has happened since the renovation to other guests. Calling health department tomorrow. People shouldn't need to get sick, ruin vacations and spend money disinfecting belongings for an ongoing issue. Had the owner contacted me as promised perhaps I would have felt secure that this was being taken seriously. No communication and I'm out $ ..needs attention.

Room Tip: The room had roaches, what more can I say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Melissa R,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know about your stay. I'm sorry to hear of your experience and would like to talk with you further. We do a monthly detailed pest inspection that was just completed last week as well as a detailed inspection twice per week of the rooms by management. We take issues like this very seriously since we are new, as a result, we have been in touch with our pest company and they are coming back out today to service the property. We understand that we can't change the past but would appreciate another opportunity to show you that we are the hotel of choice for the Greater Williamsburg Area. Please email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was in Williamsburg mid-week late October. Got a room through the Internet with AARP discount for just over $50. This hotel has been totally redone on the inside. The lobby, the hall (a little dark), the room all fresh, clean, inviting. My room was #121. Everything about it was tasteful, simple. It's not the Ritz but who cares when there is a pleasant atmosphere and environment, quiet, comfortable and at the price I paid. The only drawback is the need for some towel holders, but the owner is working on that. Better than some older four-star hotels I've stayed in within the past year or two of traveling.

What else do you want to know? Staff friendly, helpful. Didn't eat breakfast because I got up too late, but the eating area looked clean and well kept.

I travel a lot for pleasure and business. I wish I could take this room was portable and be unfolded out of my suitcase everywhere I go both for price and environment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Bobbi W,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much. We are sorry that you missed out on our DayBreak Breakfast. We hear that our beds are so comfortable that guests have overslept. We do offer extended hours on the weekend until 10am for Breakfast for guests convenience. Thanks again for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Address: 331 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2922 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Gateway hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Premium Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing