We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Owings
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel was nicely renovated not at all what I would expect from this chain.
The room was beautiful, just like the pictures. Free deluxe breakfast. We were really impressed. We have finally found our Williamsburg Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank cathyndavem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Cathyndavem,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know of your experience. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations! We would love to see you again at our hotel. Give me a call next time you plan to come to the area, we always take care of our return guests! Thanks again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    272
    77
    20
    7
See reviews for
422
333
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Seneca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

the hotel has been newly renvovated and was pleasant. The staff, especially our maid, Rosalynd, and the day manager, David Smith, we exceptionally pleasant and accomodating. The breakfast was fine and there was always lots of ice. I do have a few complaints -
1) no meeting room. Our team had to congrigate in the lobby/breakfast area for meetings and meals
2) 2nd floor door to the stairs - would slam shut - we stayed for 8 days and day 3 the door got fixed
3) dryers - were new in boxes for 2 weeks and got hooked up Friday after trapsing across the street with dirty uniforms.
Overall good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaughnQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear DaughnQ,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. You are correct, we eliminated the meeting room when we went thru our $4.5M renovation. We can suggest other nearby properties within walking distance if you would like to stay with us again in the future but require meeting space. Thanks for bringing the slamming doors to our attention and we are glad that we resolved that to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at this location on 7/19/13 - 7/21/13. Check in was very quick and easy. We were given a room on the first floor but in the back of the hotel. Luckily there was a door that was very close to our room but there were stairs which made carrying luggage into the hotel a little hard.

The room itself was beautifully decorated. Gray and white interior. The flat panel tv was about 39" (It may have been smaller but it was definitely over 32"). Our room had two queen sized beds. I believe there were "summer linens" on the bed. There was one sheet and a top sheet that kind of looked like a table cloth. We called the front to ask for additional blankets unaware that blankets were in the dresser drawers. It did take longer than we were told (20 minutes) to receive the blankets however I was told by the front desk attendant that he had just pulled them out of the dryer. One blanket was dry however the other one was still wet. I didn't feel like calling to have another one brought to the room so I just kept the one I had and attempted to let it dry in the room (that didn't work very well). The beds slept great. The bathroom was beautifully decorated and clean except one section at the very top of the shower curtain. The water pressure was good and the water got extremely hot. The free wi-fi access code is given to you at check-in. But it constantly kicks you off so you will have to re-enter the code numerous times during your stay. Also, there is no closet in the room. Instead there is a wardrobe. Be careful not to push on it because it will knock out your cable as the cable outlet is directly behind the wardrobe.

Breakfast: Here is the bad part. The breakfast offered, in my opinion, was horrible. Cold items: your standard cereals, muffins, bagels. Hot items: sausage patties (sitting in water) and round egg patties. We immediately left and had breakfast at Golden Corral which was within a block (walking distance) from the hotel. There is also a Cracker Barrel directly across the street from the Golden Corral.

Pool: The pool was nice. It was never really crowded.

Exercise equipment: There were two treadmills and a seated bicycle though the tv screen was actually to the left of the equipment instead of in front of it.

All in all it was a good hotel in what we considered a prime location. It is maybe about 10 minutes from Busch Gardens, 5-6 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and a much more cost efficient option than some of the other hotels on the same street. There are lots of great places to eat on Bypass/Richmond road. There is a Yankee Candle store which is like a mini mall, Carraba's, Uno's a few seafood restaurants, Japanese, Cookout, etc. The Outlet mall is about 10 minutes down the road. I mean the only thing about this hotel was the breakfast. It was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCQT919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear NCQT919,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know of your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. You made a lot of good suggestions and we appreciate your feedback. I just personally went into the fitness center and changed the equipment to face the TV. I would like to get the cable issue resolved that you experienced in your room. Please email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com with your room number. Also, let me know what items you are looking for on our breakfast menu that you didn't find. We have a very extensive breakfast and I apologize if there was nothing there to satisfy you. Thanks in advance for your business and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

enjoyed the stay very much,,very clean and up to date..would stay there again..there was nothing negative to report.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sheila B,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again real soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Address: 331 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2922 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Gateway hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Premium Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing