We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
gwtw428
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed June 23, 2007

I stayed at the Waller Mill Inn June 21-23, 2007 with my husband and 10mth old baby. My sister, her husband and 2yr old had a seperate room. The outside of the hotel is being worked on but the inside is really nice. The hotel staff was also VERY nice and helpful. In both rooms they have a fridge and microwave. The room was average size and
very clean. The breakfast was bagels, toast, french toast sticks, 3 kinds of cereal, oatmeal ,muffins and hard boiled eggs. Coffee, tea, orange and apple jiuce was also served. Was decent. The indoor pool was nice but needed to be cleaned. It was next to Uno's Chicago pizza, Hooters, Cracker barrel, Dairy Queen, K-mart, food store and a GREAT restaurant called Mirabellas. EXCELLENT location. Took about 5 minutes to get to busch gardens. We paid $79 a night.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    297
    168
    78
    45
See reviews for
449
278
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

We made last minute plans to visit Williamsburg and this hotel was the only place with rooms. And when we arrived, we understood why! Their "computers were down" so our bill was messed up, then the automated room keys didn't work; we tried 5 different cards until they finally switched us to a different room because even the manager couldn't open the door to our original room. The actual room was okay. It's an old hotel, so there were carpet stains, worn furniture, etc. The room was "clean", though, so that was nice. Compared to a lot of other hotels in the area, this hotel was expensive ($110/night) and there wasn't anything to account for the price. I would NOT recommend this hotel unless it's the only place you can find. We felt like we were slumming it despite what we paid.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ChatChambord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2007

Called to verity charges and total amounts. gave a rate for group on 2-10 of 49.00/nite...called back on 2-12 to make sure and book...would not honor quoted rate given, changed amount to 89.00/nite...Will not ever stay here!!!! Who knows how much you will be charged??? Changed name, could this be because of the service the reservation people are giving??

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RoxyinRogersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2006

I booked this hotel for a bus trip over a year ago, and I was very nervous when I heard that they were no longer a Hampton Inn. In my scramble to ensure that my bus trip participants would receive nice hotel accomodations, I discovered that the Hampton Inn was the inflexible and unaccomodating hotel and unwilling to honor my Hampton Inn reservations and transfer to another Hampton Inn in the area.

The Waller Mill Inn was very accomodating and willing to honor my contract with Hampton Inn. They had a very nice hot & cold breakfast buffet daily from 6am until 10am. The lobby was very attractive and the rooms (we had 13) were clean with a refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, and other amentities.

It is apparent that they are still in the process of changing, but it is also apparent that all the changes are POSITIVE.

The pool was having some heating (it was a bit cold) issues, but the whirlpool was wonderful. We had no problems with the HVAC units in the rooms, both Air Conditioning and Heating worked, as the outside temperature over the weekend changed dramatically. One of my pet peeves can be the comforter or bedspread, and I would hope that they will soon be replaced as they appeared to be worn, but were clean.

The staff was helpful and courteous throughout my entire dealings.

  • Liked — Great Value - clean comfortable room with a great price.
  • Disliked — Communication from the hotel regarding the change from Hampton Inn.
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank FromSea2ShiningSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

This is the former Hampton Inn Central, which became the Waller Mill Inn on September 29, 2006. They did honor the reservation for 6 nights that I made one week earlier when the hotel was still a Hampton Inn. Some of the housekeeping staff "no hablo ingles", so getting anything from them may be a problem; perhaps calling the front desk would be better. This was clearly one of the more austere Hamptons when it was a Hampton. It was quiet, which was a major plus, but otherwise there was nothing outstandingly good or bad about this hotel. Several other Williamsburg hotels have also apparently changed owners very recently.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean, and convenient location
  • Disliked — "No hablo ingless" housekeeping, sudden change from being a Hampton Inn
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want a Hampton Inn, try the new Hampton Inn and Suites on Capital Landing Road
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Arlington_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2006

This property has a pendulum swing of reviews, and for good reason. My parents had stayed here four years ago when their granddaughter came to William & Mary to go to school, and raved about the cleanliness, the breakfast and the great time they had. Since then, both ownership and management have changed.

There were two couples with two rooms in our party, both checking in on the same day and with wildly different results. One party had a major problem about the reservation (confirmation in hand), a non-functional toilet and non-functional HVAC. The other party breezed in for check-in (at 1:30am) and found everything functional…until the second day of the stay when there was no hot water anywhere in the building, except adjacent to the coffee pot. The hot water situation was remedied by noon when the plumber corrected the problem, too late for those wanting a bath before check-out.

The Hampton breakfast is good – fresh fruit, juice, cereal, breads of various forms, odd little “egg patties”, sausage/bacon, coffee and tea. Our party thought the best food offering, overall, was the afternoon cookie bake with coffee and/or tea.

We stayed 6 nights with Hampton and the chambermaid asked on the first day if we wanted our sheets changed or should she just make up the bed. We requested the change because we wanted fresh sheets at some point while we stayed with them. As you’re probably guessing, they changed the sheets every day, an unnecessary (to us) event made even more of an event because the hotel doesn’t have enough sheets to replace without washing, so our sheets were trucked downstairs to the in-house laundry every day and then our bed was remade when the sheets were dry. We were there to see things and to celebrate graduation, so we were out most of the day, but having our room in disarray from morning to late afternoon would have been a chore if we’d needed to nap or socialized there.

There’s no question the location of this Hampton is good for doing W’burg touring and for anyone participating in anything to do with William & Mary, but other hotels and the other Hampton’s aren’t very far away. Would we stay again? Maybe. We paid $92/night during a “high” season (graduation) and don’t feel bad about the value for the $, but the other couple in our party (with the toilet and check-in problems) has vowed NEVER to say with them again, which is pertinent since they’ll be back in the area in December of this year.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ocruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2006

Stayed here overnight while on a longer trip just before Memorial Day. Its a standard Hampton Inn with the usual amenties including the complimentary breakfast. Its a five minute drive from the old town. Many restaurant choices are nearby. We had a quite and restful night.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flying_Rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#36 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Address: 201 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing