We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to Best Western Plus standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
The Villages, United States
2 reviews
“Not up to Best Western Plus standards”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Very tired hotel, needs upgrades. Room towels frayed. Soap, shampoo, conditioner Made IN CHINA!-Cheap and poor quality. Breakfast area too small. Had to wait for a table to open up to sit down. Staff gets an A+ for friendliness and helpfulness. Location excellent, convenient to Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize that you were not satisfied with the quality of shampoo and conditioner. We are also sorry you had to wait for a table at breakfast. We are limited when it comes to seating and we do the best with what we have including the patio we just added. Thank you for making us aware of the issues so we can fix them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    292
    167
    76
    45
See reviews for
441
273
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Staff was helpful and friendly. When we got to the hotel at about two o'clock our room was ready, and we were able to do an early check in. The front desk clerk gave us a map of the area and some coupons. The hotel is very convenient to outlets, restaurants, and Bush Gardens. Hotel room was ok, the carpet was dirty. It gave me the impression that it hadn't been vacuumed or cleaned in weeks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and sorry for the appearance of the carpet. I can assure you we vacuum the carpet daily and we actually added new carpeting to the rooms about a year ago. Thank you for letting us know of the issue. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINSTON SALEM
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Good family place. Close to Williamsburg and clean hotel. Only problem was the breakfast area was crowded due to the hotel being full. Will stay there again when in the area.. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was good and lots of room. Staff kept up the room throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CHARLES S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and we apologize for the crowd during breakfast. We unfortunately have very limited space for breakfast. We added on the patio which helps but seating is still a challenge. Thank you for your understanding and please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and located close to the Williamsburg Visitors Center. The décor was beautiful, the staff was courteous and helpful. There was a patio area where we ate our breakfast. I also liked that, even though there was no restaurant on property, there was a room service option which was great at the end of the day when we were tired from traveling or sight seeing

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. We have had a good response from the room service program we offer and heard many good things about the food. We added the patio due to the limited space we have for breakfast and its working great. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Please, do not stay here, even if the rates and reviews are good. Just stayed 5 nights to enjoy a family vacation. The whole Hotel needs updating. Rooms (mattress old and stained, feel springs), Electrical outlets don't work,furniture aweful and broken down, dirty bathtub. So much to say. I will never stay again. Pool Old and dirty, hot tub, nasty. Breakfast so bad, had to eat yogurt each morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank timothyanddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and we apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Did you inform any of our staff of the issues you experienced? We always try our best to make things right. Once again sorry you were disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We found the Williamsburg Best Western Hotel very clean, comfortable and staff were helpful. The breakfast was good and was served until 10:00 which is an hour later than most hotels were have stayed in. The cleaning staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We decide to keep breakfast open till 10am since most of our guest leave to the attractions around 9 or 10. We hope to see you again, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a family outing to Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. The hotel was everything what you would expect of a hotel of this class. The rooms were fairly clean and good. I used the words fairly because we had to move the bed a bit and found a lot of dirt and junk below the bed. The staff was friendly. Overall everything was fine. The breakfast (which was in the rate) was a surprise. Normally I am used to seeing cold breakfast with the occasional waffle maker. This one was a full spread.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WhiteFelucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the breakfast. We believe we offer plenty of choices and try to please everyone's needs. Its always good to hear a guest enjoyed the breakfast since we have added some items and changed some things around. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 74 in Williamsburg
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#35 of 74 in Williamsburg
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
Address: 201 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing