We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BW Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
New York
1 review
“BW Nice place to stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed at the Best Western the week of July 20th. If you plan on booking during the hot season I suggest you ask for a bottom floor. We were put on the 4th floor and our air didn't work so well. it was tolerable for the night . Ask to be put in a room on the bottom floor. None were available so they put us on the 3rd floor. The air worked great in that room so we didn't need to move again. They were very helpful. Breakfast Buffet was good Bagels, French toast sticks, eggs,juice, fruit, coffee, cereal. We let them know about a problem with the toasters but nothing was done, it only made the wait to toast bagels longer. Location was very convenient to all the attractions. Cracker Barrel Restaurant a short walk away. Great food and great prices. Don't waste your time and money at the Peking Buffet across the street. Not worth the money. Worst Chinese food I've ever had. The pool was nice. My son used it nightly after the days activities. The employees are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel. Nice and clean

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ethansmomnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    320
    176
    84
    46
See reviews for
499
297
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennesse
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Wow i was surprised while reading other reviews i had a very nice stay. The Staff was overwhelmingly helpful rooms extremely clean, very quaint, and comfortable. One complaint is the breakfast is a bit sketch eggs and french toast pretty boring if they had waffles i would have been tons happier. All in All i had a very Nice time at the Best Western.

  • Liked — The friendly Desk Staff.
  • Disliked — The Hot Breakfast.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jayd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

This place is now called the Best Western Historic Area. I don't know if we got a newer room or what, but our experience was not near as terrible as the others I have read.

We checked in late and asked for a rollaway which they brought in a reasonable amount of time. The room was clean and the beds had nice down comforters. The bathroom was updated and had granite countertops.

The breakfast didn't have a lot of selection and the dining area wasn't very large but for the price we paid for the room it was more than adequate for a family of five.

I have stayed in much worse hotels. If they upgraded their dining area and breakfast and the front desk staff was more friendly and professional, this place would be pretty nice.

  • Liked — beds, location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

The check in went ok and everything went downhill from there. The hot tub was broken when we arrived. The pool was warm though the first day. The second day the pool was cooler and so forth. We said something to the front desk many times and finally after 2 days they determined the heater was broken. We asked several times for extra pillows and towels and never recieved them. Their breakfast "buffet" is awful. Some gross french toast sticks and egg disk things. Not a very good selection. Clueless and useless help at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blarue500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2008

The bathroom had "issues" when we arrived. I mentioned this at the front desk on my out for an evening activity. I was told it would be taken care of before I returned. It was not taken care of during my three day stay.

Towels were not replaced during the daily cleaning, upon request I was told that I could that I could get one in the morning from the front desk.

I had three pre-teen boys in another room. I called to tell the front desk that their toilet was clogged, the boys waited untill 11:30 that night. There was no attempt to fix the toilet or move them to anther room.

Breakfast was a joke. The toasters didn't work, the begals, muffins, etc. were frozen solid, the cereal was stale and don't recall seeing the eggs everyone is talking about. The french toast sticks were available one morning but they were hard as rock.

I was most displeased with my experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ArkansasDisneyaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeschatz76
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

I stayed at this hotel during a smithsonian tour. We when arrived at the hotel the rooms were not yet ready. We were told this was becasue we were earlier than what we were scheduled, however we were only 15 inutes early. Upon entering my room I found a hole in the wall, clipp toenails on the bathroom floor, torn and ripped carpet, and just a generally dirty room. I called the front desk about cleaning the room, their respnse was they would have someone clean it. No one ever came. The next morning we arrived at what was supposed to be a hot breakfast for all of the participants (44). There were only 9 tables for us and the other guests in the hotel and not nearly enough food, none of which was hot. Our tour director quickly informed them that they were not meeting the terms of the contract, again they answered with ok we will work on it. The second night we arrived back at the hotel to find that there had not been any clean towels left. I called the front desk and was told that she, the assistant general manager, was the only employee in the hotel and that she couldn't get us any, but we could come down in the morning about 8:00 and pick up some towels. We were scheduled to leave at 8:15. One of our rooms also had a backed up toilet, when I called about that the assistant general manager didn't even offer to fix it, she just said ok. This is absolutly the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in. Don't Stay Here!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank aeschatz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

I reviewed the property on website and made reservations thru the telephone.

upon arrival there were two other guests at the hotel (i think). the electronic front door didnt work properly so i had to physically push it open. there may have been two lights on in the whole place. the manager greeted me after i managed to get thru the door and was pleasant but was not professional. ( i do not consider talking on a blue tooth while working a front desk professional) Besides the unusual checkin she told me to help myself to a swim. well the next morning that may have been difficult since the pool had no water at all!

our room had one out of 4 light bulbs working. it was clean but considering the state of the hotel its possible no one had stayed there for months.

at check out i asked the day manager about the pool and comments etc and she just simply said i spoke with the nite manager who had not worked for a week and was not aware the pool had been recently painted. her lack of emotion for the pool and state of the hotel was that of someone on prescription medicine.

considering i had already made my same day reservation it would have been difficult to back out and ask for a refund so my spouse and i braved the place for a nite but i would definitely warn others to "KEEP OUT" at least until the renovations are complete.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — state of the hotel.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank roomie054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Address: 201 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing