We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cap2Cap Ride”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Livonia, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cap2Cap Ride”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent housekeeping service, pool, fitness room, and complementary breakfast.Located on a quiet road just off of Rte 60, this inn provides easy access and short drives to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, many restaurants, and Premium Outlets. We wanted a hotel close to the start of the Cap2Cap Ride, and other attractions around Williamsburg, and this was perfect.
We had some minor problems with TV reception in our room, and the manager graciously discounted our rate for the inconvenience. A very nice gesture.
We look forward to returning to Williamsburg, and definitely would stay at this inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKR0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate it. We are lucky to have a little bit of a hidden location, away from traffic and noise. But at the same time a very short distance from all attractions. We hope you will choose us again when returning to Williamsburg, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    307
    172
    79
    45
See reviews for
466
286
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I'm the type of person who sees a glass "half full," so here's the positive part of my experience. The staff was very friendly, and check-in/out went very quickly. Breakfast was great, and there was plenty available. The location is fantastic, right across the street from a small shopping center with a Kmart and my favorite Mongolian barbecue restaurant. It was a gorgeous spring day, and the grounds of the hotel looked lovely.

As for my room, well, I have to say that it was pretty grim. Had we not driven 7 hours to get there, we would probably have asked for another room. We put our bags in the room and then immediately went to dinner. As we exited, we noticed that someone had stuffed toilet paper in the peephole of the door. I guess the previous occupants wanted extra privacy???

When we got back from dinner, we entered what appeared to be a lovely room. As we settled in, we noticed the real state of affairs: there was a long black hair across the back of the toilet; crumbs all around the night stand; left over cough drop in the night stand drawer; hair dryer caked with fuzz; air conditioner air smelled musty; furniture tired looking and needed repair. This was not an "ultra" room by any stretch of the imagination.

Would I stay there again? Probably....but I would check out the room first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schneewitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, I can assure you this is not the norm. We are blessed with an outstanding housekeeping team. I apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We hope you will come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Booked this hotel as a package with Busch Gardens. We were very happy with the hotel. It was very clean. Great location for all attractions. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large with mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The breakfast is good. We are staying again when we return in June.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you, always good to hear our staff was helpful and friendly. We will see you again in June and again thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

the location was so very good. the hotel is centrally located in the middle of williamsburg. walking distance to food, shopping, activities, etc. we came with a group of 50 and had a blast. the staff is always warm and welcoming and the fresh cookies added to a great start or nice welcome back for the day. we plan on coming back for a trip ouf our own.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victor l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your response, hope to hear from you soon when you decide to come back to Williamsburg. Its the best time to be here, before the summer heat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My daughter's travel softball team stayed at the Best Western Plus in April 2013 for a tournament in the area. The staff was very nice and accommodating, and I personally liked the free breakfast a lot. The girls are got plenty to eat, and there was quite a good amount of seating.

The rooms were fine, very clean, nice bathrooms with plenty of towels. There was a microwave, smallish fridge (but not the super tiny ones) and a coffeemaker. The air conditioner was really loud, the kind that is the unit below the window, and made for not the best sleep but really cranked out the cold air.

There was nothing to complain about really, it's just a bit older property, but very clean and super nice folks that work there. And we got a very good rate as a group, although I can't recall what it was.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reportingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your response and we hope your daughter team was successful in the tournament. We are glad your stay was enjoyable, it sure was a very busy weekend. We hope to see you again next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have reservations for June 1 for 6 nights and have never been to Williamsburg. I have spoken to the staff on the phone and their customer service skills are exceptional. If the hotel is anything like the staff I know we will be greatly satisfied. Thanks again for your kindness, don't see it much anymore in this day and time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Wow, thank you for the nice comment before you even stayed with us. That is truly appreciated, look forward to you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus for a birthday trip in April. It was great. The hotel is clean and nice. We had 2 beds, mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room. The new flat screen tv, free wifi and free breakfast were great, but the thing that make this hotel stand out is the staff. The staff was AMAZING!! From check in until check out they are there to make sure your stay is wonderful. When we checked in they even had a small birthday cake and card placed in the room for my husband. They gave great resturant and attraction recomendations. All the staff, from front desk (they are supper friendly) to the housekeeping, maintaince, and breakfast staff are just soooo nice. Always asking how you are, and is there anything you need. We would deffinantly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay. Glad you enjoyed the cake and we could make your birthday enjoyable. There is alot to do in the area, come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.8 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Address: 201 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing