We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
New Bern Nc
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stayed again”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Checked in after long day at Busch gardens and check in was so fast and easy. Room very clean and nice. Only complaint this time and not hotels fault is noisy people in room next to us. Must be thin walls too...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Glad we could make your stay enjoyable, Busch Gardens can definitely wear you out. Come back soon, we look forward to it. Once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    320
    176
    84
    46
See reviews for
499
296
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This is my third visit to this hotel. They never disappoint. I was very happy to see some improvements done with new carpet and flat screens. It's nice to go somewhere and see familiar faces and be recognized and called by name. Danielle, Dayssi, and Bill went out of their way to make our trip exceptional.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank followmylead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Well it is always great to receive comments like yours! Glad to hear the carpet and tv's have made a noticeable difference. We look forward to your next stay with us, see you soon.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We moved into this Best Western after a horrible experience at the Travelodge across the street. Our Club Wyndham Travel agent was able to find us two rooms here with all of the amenities we needed. The rooms were spacious and quiet with no outside noise from the parking lot. The complimentary breakfast was comparable to a small restaurant, and stocked continuously. The fresh warm cookies each afternoon was a special touch. The only drawback was that we couldn't get packets of regular coffee each morning.

Room Tip: All have king beds with a sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowsigloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and it certainly was a pleasure having you stay with us during our crazy spring break. Glad we could improve your trip to Williamsburg, please come back and see us very soon. We will get you plenty of coffee packs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Location was close to LOTS of dining options, Busch Gardens was about 7-10 minutes away. Outlet mall & New Town shopping area within 10 min also. Seems to be used for large groups of kids a lot as the pool was overtaken by 15 children at once & lots of running up & down the halls with little supervision. Fresh cookies were awesome (best part of hotel). Room was standard - tv very fuzzy. Not enough outlets to charge everything. Wifi was spotty. Staff was nice - breakfast staff worked their butts off. I agree with a previous reviewer that some variety in breakfast selections would've been nice - even if just different fruit or cereals. Pool water was warm, not your typical hotel cold! Like I said, great if you are going to wind down after a day in Williamsburg. Reasonable and close to everything. Not spotless or brand new but acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask NOT to be by elevator - this may have contributed to our early morning "kid running in hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinStJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! We apologize for the inconvienances you experienced, it sounds like you may have traveled during spring break? Williamsburg is chaotic during that time and we try our best to make sure everyone's stay is enjoyable. Please come back and see us when you return to Williamsburg, thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We chose this hotel due to the location and price. There are LOTS of hotels to choose from in the area so the choice was not easy. We were very happy with the hotel, even with it filled with young kids on school trips (it was also Spring Break for my family). The staff was wonderful and accommodating. When the business center printer did not work to print our vouchers for Busch Gardens, the manager set up the front desk computer for me to print them. The room was clean and warm and the indoor pool was fantastic for my young children after days at Jamestown and Busch Gardens. The hotel has a Pizzeria Uno a few hundred yards away (walkable) and a Cracker Barrel across Bypass Road (also walkable, theoretically). There is a Big KMart across the street where we bought snacks and drinks for the room. There is a mini fridge and microwave in the room.

The breakfast was convenient, but the two days we ate the choices were the same (scrambled eggs, sausage patty, french toast sticks, biscuits and gravy as well as muffins, toast. Standard fare. Also, the mini fridge and one lamp were unplugged when we arrived. The unplugged lamp was just confusing, but it took a while for the fridge to cool down. I would recommend that it always be plugged in for the next guest.

We plan on going back to Williamsburg in the later spring/summer, and the kids will no doubt ask for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoxFanMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for the review and we are happy to hear we made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to your return and hope to make that stay even better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. A school group was staying here, but we never heard them - a credit to their chaperones. We paid a larger fee per evening as it was spring break & the rates were increased. A large group was at breakfast, but very manageable. Our frustrating part was our hotel phone had a dead line - no contact with the main desk & no availability to call out. The desk clerk had no idea how to fix the problem as maintenance had left for the evening. Result- \no phone during our stay. The room had no hotel directory so no TV channel guide - we needed to surf all the channels to locate the network needed as the tv remote didn't have a guide button either. The manager did credit a portion of our bill upon check-out, but a method is needed if maintenance is needed after 5PM.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and we apologize for the lack of attention to the phone issue. It sounds like it could have been as simple as a phone cord. We hope you come back and see us and we will make sure the phone works correctly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The staff is wonderful. They remember our names when we arrive. They know our favorite room and always try to have it available at our request. On our wedding anniversary the staff surprised us with a cake and chocolate kisses in our room. The hotel amenities are many and fun. I love the indoor pool and sauna. We come year round so we can always enjoy swimming and relaxing in the sauna. I love the Elvira pinball machine. I was a bit of a pinball wizard back in the day and really look forward to playing. Last stay I got 3 million plus on my first game. The rooms are clean and oh so comfortable. Because of this hotel we always stay at Best Western wherever we are traveling.

Room Tip: I love the room with the kings sized bed and the jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. Good to hear that you enjoy the Elvira pinball machine, many people do. Come back and see us and maybe you can beat your high score.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Address: 201 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing