We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,value...breakfast needs improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Clean room, friendly staff. First experience w/ a Best Western. Would most likely recommend to somebody visiting Williamsburg. Had an issue with air conditioner (didn't work), repairs attempted. Moved to another room which was a bit of an inconvience...but upgrade provided for party that was traveling w/ us at no extra charge. Had an issue with room keys not working on third night, but to their credit issue was resolved quickly. Breakfast was worst that I have encountered in 20 years of traveling. But for the price... an overall good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danicraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for your response concerning your recent stay at the Best Western Historic. We apologize for the difficulties with the AC and room keys. As for the breakfast, we are currently looking at options to improve the selection. We are glad to hear that overall your stay was enjoyable. Once again thank you for your response.

Bill
AGM
Best Western Historic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed at Best Western this past weekend while attending a school trip with my daughter. Overall, the hotel is nice however, there were signs of wear and tear. When the room I was staying in was cleaned, the crew missed the ice bucket and left the emptied trash can on top of the toilet. Breakfast buffet was no more or less than expected.

Now for the bad part. First, about an hour after our group had checked in they evacuated the hotel due to a gas leak. While the leak was beyond the hotel's control, the coordination of getting guests out was awful. No calls were made to individual rooms, nor alarms sounded, to alert anyone of the problem. The entire evacuation was done by word of mouth with guests alerting other guests to leave the building.

Second, the housekeeping staff was quite rude to the group leader Saturday morning as we were going room to make sure all of the kids were on the bus. They thought she was checking in on them and made a sarcastic comment about how they "looked like" high school students.

Third, when we arrived home my daughter realized her Ipod had been left in the room. She and I were the last ones out and shut the door behind us. She called the hotel immediately Sunday evening and was told to call back the next day. I took over from that point on and called Monday morning and again Monday afternoon. I received a call back from the hotel only once on Monday evening. This was to tell me to call on Tuesday to speak with housekeeping. Called on Tuesday and was told the Housekeeping Mgr. was off until Wednesday at 9:00 and to call then. I did, left a message and had to call back again to be told the Ipod was not found in the room. No suprise, a pair of brown shoes left by another student in a different room were recovered.

I would never stay at this hotel again and would recommend others avoid it as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlhandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Good afternoon,

I would like to thank you for the response regarding your recent stay. At the sametime I would like to apologize for the inconvienances you experienced while at the Best Western. We did receive claims of gas fumes during your stay and we immediately called Virginia Natural Gas. After precautionary procedures were suggested to our hotel by Virginia Natural Gas our front desk attempted to contact all rooms by phone. Virginia Natural Gas responded much faster than anticipated so we were unable to contact all guests. After an inspection was completed no leak of any kind was found.

We are not responsible for any items that may be left at the hotel. The hotel recovers lost items on a daily basis and we research each claim with the same urgency no matter how small or large the value of the item. We do hope that you will reconsider returning to the Best Western Williamsburg in the future since you found the hotel overall to be nice, Please contact me directly in the event that you decide to do so. Thank you and once again we apologize for the inconvienances you experienced during your stay.

Assistant Manager
Bill Saccardi
Best Western Historic Williamsburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Being in Williamsburg during spring break for public schools, the hotel had lots of young children and families so it was a bit noisy at times. The room size was good. It was clean and had a refrigerator and microwave. It was close to restaurants and a K-Mart if you need to pick up any last minute items. The breakfast was very crowded and probably could have used more staff to re-stock and clean the tables. Overall our experience was good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locolomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thank you for your response concerning your stay at the Best Western Historic. Yes, spring break is challenging but we are pleased your stay was enjoyable. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Despite a miscommunication with the checkin (wrong room type) we had no issues with our room, except the noise from being right across from the stairwell.

The only thing I have to comment on negative was the breakfast. It was terrible. Everything that didn't resemble pet food was cold or looked like it was from yesterday. It's not really difficult to keep something in a chafing dish that looks appealing and stays warm...that's the entire point.

Increase the quality of the breakfast offerings and we'll return again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soulslayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Assistant Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your response to your stay at the Best Western Historic Williamsburg. We apologize for the miscommunication of room type and more importantly we are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations for breakfast. Please contact me directly in the event you return to Williamsburg VA. We would appreciate the chance to make this right for you.

Thank you
Bill Saccardi-Assistant Manager
757 220-0880

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel was conveniently located between Busch Gardens and the historic sites. The rooms were clean, stafff was friendly, breakfast included, and a nice pool area. The price was right as well. We would definately come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Insbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Thank you for your response concerning your recent stay. It is always good to hear positive responses. If you return to Williamsburg please feel free to contact us at 757 220-0880, we would be happy to be of any assistance. Thanks again!

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

(Note: this is 5/5 rating based on Mid-level Hotel (Best Western, Holiday Inn, etc) not saying 5 stars like a Ritz or Hyatt.)

I'll admit that I'm always a little leery of mid-level hotels. Even in same brand, such as Best Western, there can be a very large range of accommodations and facilities, and I wasn’t sure what to make of the “Plus” in the name.

We were very happy with our choice. Close to Colonial Williamsburg (about 5 mintues) and Busch Gardens (about 15 minutes). A lot of restaurants and other activities were also nearby.

Local area and hotel seemed very safe. Outside of hotel looks like it could use a paint job in the next year or two, but inside is very nice. Lobby is clean and modern. Check-in was simple and efficient with appropriate descriptions of Pool hours and breakfast hours. Room was quite large (even with 2 double beds, you could fit roll-away or crib easily and not feel cramped.) Bathroom was somewhat bizarrely plush. I say bizarre as not expecting it to be so nice. Moderate size, granite counter top, fancier wall paper, and spa-like showerhead (though really skimpy on shampoo/conditioner). It really seemed as though we were in higher end Hilton or Hyatt, and I’m usually pretty persnickety about bathrooms at hotels. (We kidded the Bathroom would be a 6/5 rating for a mid-level hotel) Beds were very cozy and clean. (I’m freaked out by the bed-bug epidemic, so pretty attentive and I had no issues with the room) The cabinet with the mini-fridge and microwave was bit flimsy, but really…who cares. Rest of furnishings were nice. Our room was right across from the elevator and thought it would be loud, especially our first night when about 50 teenagers were there with school trips, but I heard nothing in the room.

Indoor pool was quite large for a mid-level hotel (about 20x 40ft) with separate Jacuzzi (4x8ft). Room could use a bit of tidying up around the edges (old paint, cement chips) and maybe a new paint scheme to lighten up the room, but overall it was very nice pool area.

Only bad comment would be breakfast was weaker than most midlevel hotels. Three cereals, white toast, English muffins, sausage (greasy), “crispy” pancakes or “limp” French toast sticks, scrambled egg “patties”. But edible and enough to pick from to get us through to lunch. Area was messy during week, much better on weekend when 2 staff there. Would give b-fast a 2.5/5, but breakfast is a added plus to me, not a major determinant of a overall stay or major factor in hotel choice.

I’d easily vote to stay here again if we came back to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cd1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Thank you very much for your response on your recent stay at Best Western Historic Williamsburg. We are pleased that you found your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again very soon. If you visit Williamsburg in the future, please feel free to contact me at 757 220-0880 and I would be happy to be of any assistance.

Thank you
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Over the past 3 years service and cleanliness have declined. Price has gone up too much.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crossroadsdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Good Afternoon,

I would first like to " Thank You" for being a returning guest here at the Best Western Plus Historic Area, we really do appreciate it. I would like to apologize on our behalf for not meeting your expectations during your stay. I would also like to apologize about the price rising. Unfortunately, while you were here it was spring break , therefore; our rates rised due to the hotel being in a tourist attraction area. If you have any question or concerns please feel free to contact me at (757)220-0880. Have a terrific weekend.


Alexis Williams
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Williamsburg Historic Area, VA
2 mi away
Best Western Williamsburg Historic District
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn

Address: 201 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $68 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. Hot Breakfast Buffet Included with your stay. Williamsburg's only Best Western "PLUS" with added amenities and higher quality standards. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants and convenient to all major attractions including Busch Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg and the College of William and Mary. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing