We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position but nothing else to recommend it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great position but nothing else to recommend it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Great position but nothing else to recommend it. Breakfast terrible. Stale bread that looked as if it had been there since the Revolution. Our room and all the public areas need a good clean.
TV ancient and picture dreadful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Hello,

On behalf of the Best Western Plus Historic Area I would to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences today. We would also like to thank you for sharing your concern about your stay, but you also made us aware of our weaknesses and areas we may improve.
I do apologize that your stay with us was not as excellent as what you had planned for it to be. It is disappointing to see that we did fall short. Please be assured that we would like nothing less than provide the best accommodations for you and your family, and we hope that you give us another opportunity to make things special. Your review has provided us great knowledge and can only improve our operations.

Alexis Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    284
    164
    75
    43
See reviews for
431
267
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Best Western for 3 nights in early September 2011. We were in Williamsburg to check out the colonial sites and some of the theme parks. The location is proximate to both. The hotel facilities were adequate, but the people at the hotel were very odd. First there was a large population of bikers, I didn't realize it was such a hot spot for bikers when we booked it. Secondly, they have a continental breakfast which consists of juices, coffee, sliced white bread, boxed cerals and a make-your-own waffle station. The problem is that there was a large family that would monopolize the waffle station for 20-30 minutes at a time, so unless you wanted to stand in line for a while, you were SOL. Lastly, there is an indoor swimming pool and hot tub which we never used becuase it was always flush with pre-teens acting loud and crazy. I'm not some old grandpa, only 28, but there were just too many kids to tolerate. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evilmosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. I can understand how frustrating that may have been for you. The month of September is still a very busy time for us here in Williamsburg. As our off season does not hit us until January, February time frame. Your comment is important to us. As we use all the good and the bad to guide us in making our current and our future guest have an enjoyable stay each and every time. So with that being said please give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
If there is anything we can do to assist you in making your next reservation, please give us a call.
Yours in service,
Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
757-220-0880
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I expected more, since this was a Best Western Plus, but this is just an average Best Western with plain accomadations. The carpet was stained, the indoor pool too cold, the hot tub burning skin and eyes. Only good to crash after long day, then leave ASAP.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angieogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
I would like to apologize for the hotel not being to your liking...... As our goal is to insure that our guest are 100% satisfied. I would like to thank you for the information you have giving us. So that way we can improve our hotel to meet the standards of our guest…. We hope to see you again in the near future.. If there is anything we can do to assist you in your next visit please don’t hesitate to call.

Thank you

Yours in service
Alana S. Maldonado
Best Western Plus Historic Area
757-220-0880
amaldonado@carltonhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We've stayed at Best Western Plus hotels before and this is not even close as far as the breakfast area goes. It was disorganized, juice machine was broken, poor selection of food items. There was a "tip" jar there also which I have never seen before. The room was clean except we had tiny ants in the bathroom. The TV was very old. It was in a good location. There are so many other choices in the area I probably would try one of those the next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
I would like to apologize for the issues with the breakfast area....That information is greatly appreciated as it will help us to improve in the areas we need. I hope that you would give us the opportunity to serve you and your family again in the near future.

Thank you

Yours in service
Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
757-220-0880
amaldonado@carltonhospitlaity.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We've been staying at this hotel for several years due to its close proximity to colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown. The facility is just fine. Rooms are generally clean, but certainly not thoroughly. As another reviewer mentioned, there were old Kleenex and small items leftover from other guests behind the nightstands and under the sink counter of the bathroom. Otherwise, rooms are pretty nice. The staff is hit or miss, with some people being exceptionally nice and helpful, and others being somewhat rude and unfriendly. Mr. Hassane, the gentleman who maintains the breakfast area, has always been extremely helpful and kind. When he realized that the coffee wasn't strong enough for some of us, he made a special pot of stronger coffee every morning of our stay. His service and care have been excellent over the years and we look forward to seeing him on our next visit. I don't know what other reviewers are talking about - his breakfast area has always been very clean and promptly maintained.
Final note: the gym facilities are pretty rough. The equipment and small room are old, sad, and rundown.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aclovatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
I would like to thank you for staying with us when you’re in the Williamsburg area. It has been a pleasure having you as our repeat guest. I am sorry for the issues with your room as I will pass that along to the department in question. On behalf of Hassane I would also like to thank you....As he works very hard to maintain the breakfast area. We are looking forward to your next visit. If there is anything we could do to assist in your future reservations please give us a call.

Again thank you

Yours in service
Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
757-220-0880
amaldonado@carltonhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Clean room, very welcoming staff, nice breakfast, will look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotcakelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for staying with us on your short trip. We are looking forward to your next visit. Hopefully for a longer stay. Thank you again we hope to see you in the near future. If we can assist you in any way setting up your next visit please don’t hesitate to call us.
Yours in service,
Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
757-220-0880
amaldonado@carltonhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

After two nights at the Best Western Plus Historic Area hotel in Wiliiamsburg, Virginia, I would definitley say it is not a "Plus" hotel. Best Western has recently started categorizing their hotels into 3 categories: Best Western, Best Western Plus, and Best Western Premier. This summer we stayed at 2 Best Western Plus hotels in California that definitely deserved their "Plus" rating with large rooms furnished with upgraded amenities such as sitting areas with sofas, flat panel televisions, and large work desks. This hotel in Williamsburg had none of these upgraded features. It was small and sparsely furnished with a tiny bathroom and only two not very comfortable chairs at a small table. Lighting was poor in most of the room and the television looked like a refugee from the 1980s. On our second day, the room service staff also did not replace the hand towels or washcloths and I needed to go request them from the front desk. Average yes, but most definitely not a "Plus" facility.

On the "plus" side, it was clean and the staff were friendly The expanded continental breakfast included a waffle maker (long lines though) and hard boiled eggs, but the coffee was mediocre and there was not enough seating for the number of guests.

We had earned a free one night stay which we used for our first night, so I wonder if that resulted in us being given the worst room in the hotel. I should have complained but had a very full schedule so just didn't want to deal with changing rooms. Besides, shouldn't the most loyal customers that earn a free night be rewarded with the best, or at least one of the better, rooms rather than the worst? I would think that is just good customer service.

The price of over $100 with taxes was for a "Plus" hotel, but what we got was definitely an "average" hotel. Go elsewhere as there are dozens of hotels in Williamsburg that are just as nice or better for much less.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Overpriced for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aboveclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
On behalf of the staff and myself I would like to apologize for the issues that occurred during your stay. I understand your concerns and I will take that into consideration for the New Year. We do our very best to ensure that our have an enjoyable stay. I do hope in the future you would give us the opportunity to serve you and your family again.
Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
757-220-0880
amaldonado@carltonhospitlaity.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
Address: 201 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing