We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes ya gotta take the not-so-good with the good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Severna Park, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sometimes ya gotta take the not-so-good with the good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Good points - friendly and very nice front desk personnel. those ladies seem to really want to help you and make sure your visit is good. Room was clean. Beds were quite comfortable, sheets were fresh and clean. Every staff member we encountered was very pleasant. Great location for whatever you want to do in Williamsburg. AC worked very well once it got going.

Not-so-good - the sheets were so fresh that they were still damp on the bed. Called front desk that they had someone come up right away to change who said it was the humidity. Room AC was not on and it was over 95 outside. Took forever for room to be cool. Breakfast is sparse and not well thought out. Only waffles (very nice), cinnamon raisin bagels (no other bread of any sort), plain donut holes (really, who eats those?), 3 cereals (none being Frosted Flakes which are daughter's fav), orange & apple juice, milk (which I had to ask a staff member to get us more of since it was out and he didn't seem to notice), couple of bananas, a few condiments. They need to put the toaster near the bagels and not in the middle of the setup in the very small room that doesn't have enough seating. Also, I had given them a charge card to hold the reservation but wanted to use a different one when I got there. They charged the original card anyway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for your comment as it does help us to better serve you. I do apologize for the breakfast not being to your liking. We are in the process of expanding our breakfast area as well as upgrading the menu. We do hope that you give us the opportunity to serve to serve you and your family again.

Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    242
    150
    65
    42
See reviews for
381
236
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north west england
Level Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

reception was not very welcoming or helpful. room ok but on 1st floor, when we asked if we could have a higher room "checked computer" for a least 5 secs and then said nothing available--I think untrue just couldn't be bothered.Room comfortable and plenty of room but the room and hotel needs updating. Breakfast is shambolic, running out of items--bread,bagels orange juice. The Waffle maker is terrible,it leaks so badly that the counter underneath it is covered with towels to catch drips ,overflows and just doesn't seem hygenic. Why not simply have a waffle mixture dispenser that serves up the correct amount--problem solved. We asked about safe deposit box,told there were none despite letter in guest folder advising to use them.
Overall could be excellent but needs some energetic management input to up the game at the hotel and renovate thro'out

Room Tip: insist on rooms above 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hippo432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. As it is our goal to make sure that our guest is having an enjoyable stay. I do hope in the near future that you give us the opportunity to serve you and your family again.

Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our stay at the Best Western Historic Area, Williamsburg, VA was absolutely wonderful! The staff was extremely kind and helpful. We did not want for anything during our entire 12 night stay. The location was perfect and there were many places (restaurants, stores, etc.) within walking distance! We would be thrilled to stay there any time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polishedpearl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comment. It’s because of guest like you that we work very hard to make sure we do everything possible to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible.

We are so glad to have had you and your family stayed with us. We are looking forward to serving you and your family again in the near future.

Thank you again

Yours in Service,
Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

When i stepped into the best western i was shocked at what i saw. It was so clean, nice, and beautiful that i could not wait to get into my room. When i checked in the staff was amazing. Sara, Alana, and Jay made me laugh throughout my whole stay and they were helpfull with all my needs. The room was vey clean and spacious. The next morning at breakfast everything was delicious especially the doughnuts and the waffles. The man at the breakfast was so nice and kind. I do not know about the lady who wrote the review down below me, but I had a wonderful stay and I will come back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmasterof2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
I would like to thank you for your outstanding comment.......I am so glad that my staff was able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to your next trip here.

Thank you again,

Yours in service,
Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two nights while in town for a family event. When I booked the rooms several months earlier and then required a last-minute change a week before staying there, the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.

The hotel itself, however, was a big disappointment. We were assigned to a dirty, messy, run-down room on the first floor across from the pool entrance, gym, and elevators and next door to the laundry room--and to top it off, the only window in the first-floor room was just a couple feet from the outside walkway leading to the pool. The foot traffic made the room unbelievably noisy. The carpet in the room was absolutely filthy and needed to be replaced. The sheets were stained. A previous guest had left shampoo in the shower and a hair band was on the floor. The towels smelled like they had been stored next to a fireplace. It was difficult to tell whether the room had been cleaned or whether housekeeping had simply made the beds to make it look as though it had been.

After housekeeping presumably cleaned the following day, we returned to the room to find a pool of dirty water surrounding the toilet. That was the last straw. I called the front desk and asked for a room change, but was told that the hotel was completely full. Would hotel management give us a reduced room rate instead? Never. So I asked the woman to please tell her manager that he/she had lost my business. I explained that I knew it wasn't her fault, but paying $100/nt for a noisy, dirty room seemed outrageous.

Not 10 minutes later, the desk manager knocked on the door to tell us that they had another room available--down the hall, about three feet off the main lobby. It didn't seem worth moving just to deal with the same noise level, so we stayed put. But where was that room when I requested it a few minutes earlier?

Although the desk staff remained friendly and helpful throughout this ordeal, they couldn't do much about the run-down condition of the hotel (the breakfast area was equally noisy and dirty, flies everywhere). Williamsburg has scores of hotels, but I chose this one because I've been a Best Western Rewards member for some years. No longer!

Room Tip: Avoid first-floor rooms--especially Room 123
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reesetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
I first would like to thank you for your response. As it is our goal to provide the best customer service. I am glad that staff was doing their best to accommodate you and your family. As far as the issues that occurred during your stay. I hope in the further that you give the opportunity to serve you and your family again. Thank you again

Yours in service,
Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We booked our trip through Williamsburg Vacations online and got the room at a great price. We received the pack 'n play for our 15 month old as soon as we checked in. The cleaning staff gave us fresh towels each day as well as took care of the trash and made the beds. The breakfast was kind of disappointing as they told us they would be changing the menu during the week but each day had the same menu of waffles, fruit, doughnuts, and cereal. The best part of breakfast was the ' waffle man'' who made waffles each morning, this was something to look forward to each morning. The breakfast area and pool was a little too crowded.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fromMartinsvilleVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
All the staff at Best Western Plus Historic Area would like to thank you for taking the time out to comment on us. Your feedback helps us help you. We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you and your family again in the near further.

Yours in service,

Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel on Bypass Road - which although states historical area is actually about a 7 minute drive. Room was very comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was great. A couple of restaurants next door including a cracker barrel. We ate at the Rocco's restaurant and lef most of the dinner of pulled pork as it was was not good. This was our only disappointment. Richmond Road has great restaurants including an Outback steakhouse. The Premium Outlets is along the road and great for shopping.
Do visit the YANKEE CANDLE Shop and Santa's 'residence' inside - you will be amazed!! We stayed during Memorial week end and experienced the celebrations at Williamsburg and visited Jamestown and Yorktown.

The only hotel issue was that the air conditioning was not fully operational in the hallways and breakfast room and was somewhat un-comfortable at times

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skarthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwha47138, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your comment. We are so delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
I do apologize for the a/c in the lobby area as well as the breakfast area not being as cool as it should have been. But we are pleased to inform you that the a/c is running much better and we are in the process of upgrading the breakfast area. We do hope you give us the opportunity to serve you and your family again.

Alana S. Maldonado
General Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
Address: 201 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing