We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrot Tree Kitchens

Carrot Tree Kitchens
Ranked #3 of 26 Dessert in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Willilamsburg's favorite scratch bakery and restaurant for 25 years! Now located at 135 Colony Square by the Habitat for Humanity ReStore. Serving breakfast and lunch daily 8am-4pm, our bakery counter is open until 6pm Monday-Saturday.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

So glad we stopped at this place as it wasn't appealing from the outside. But the food was very good and loved the carrot cake! The chicken salad was so good that we ate it again a couple of days later when we were in Historic Jamestown.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suzily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    93
    25
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
haddon Heights
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great carrot cake, plus more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We always go to this small resturant when near Williamsburd. The menu prices are reasonable, the food is fresh and creative, The carrot cake is to die for. I just want to stop in and eat 2-3 pieces of carrot cake for lunch...but I would be setting a bad example for my kids...and I might have to share.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food is Delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Off the beaten path in Williamsburg, this whimsically decorated restaurant has a menu filled with traditional southern fare like meatloaf sandwiches and pimento cheese sandwiches, many of which are named after historic events. The food is outstanding but the carrot cake and lemon squares take this experience to a whole new level. We will return again and again and you should too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BurgGirl620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Trip back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was a good find. The lunch was tasty and not too filling. I had a sampler platter with single scoops of fresh homemade egg, tuna, & chicken salads with crackers and fresh vegetables. My husband had the tuna salad sandwich and both of our dishes came with fresh spinach and orzo salad! The homemade carrot cake was almost as good as the one I make from scratch (that means good!). We sat on the second floor of this 1700's home with a view overlooking historic Yorktown. It was a great addition to our colonial summer vacation and we would return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scobsnrn95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had lunch here during a visit to Williamsburg and thoroughly enjoyed the offerings. Food was served on disposable plates but that didn't distract from the great taste and the unique atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrot Tree Kitchens also viewed

 

Been to Carrot Tree Kitchens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing