We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original site of James Fort 1607, still being excavated”

Historic Jamestowne
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.99*
and up
Colonial Williamsburg Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic Jamestowne is the original site of the first permanent English settlement in America. Ongoing archaeology at the site of James Fort has changed our understanding of the struggles and triumphs of early 1600s life in Virginia. Living history programs and an archaeology museum tell the story of this dramatic rediscovery. The site is jointly administered by the National Park Service and Preservation Virginia.
Ewing, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Original site of James Fort 1607, still being excavated”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were told that the original site was boring....NOT SO! We thoroughly enjoyed the site of the original James Fort. At this time, April 2014, excavation and archeological work is ongoing. The results of that work can be seen in the Archaearium (Archeology Museum). Extremely well laid out and instructive. We like that the artifacts were shown and there were life size representations of exactly where piece you are looking at belongs in the larger scheme of armour, period clothing, part of building. The map made the area look huge, but it was an easy walk and there were guides everywhere to assist and answer questions. Don't miss the glass blowing area!

Thanks especially to Cindy,aka Lucinda, at the JamestownVisitors Center for making us welcome and advising what to see and giving realistic time frames.

We will be returning for a second day to the Jamestown Settlement Reenactment Area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnandSteve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,162
    840
    164
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great look into the past”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Loved our first trip to Jamestowne! Beautiful day and learned a lot about history. Loved seeing all the archaeology and everything they have found.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Real archaeology afoot”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Despite a rainy day, our guide Jeff brought passion and kept us engaged during a great tour. We went to Settlement and tour first which felt like the right sequence. Don't miss the museum. The archaeologist team are really working hard and need everyone's support. This experience boggles the mind to visualize how tough our English ancestors had it in 1607-1624+ while we all complained about a rainy 50 degree day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We have so much to be thankful for”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We visited this historic site after the Spring Break crowds left. The Ranger we toured with was so engrossed in the historical background, we felt we were transported back in time. Visiting this site really brings us to truly understand the sacrifices made by so many that has allowed us to be what we are today!!! Reading history books is one thing but walking on the grounds of these horrific battles give the sense of true meaning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Archeology in action”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This NPS site is a working archaeology site and is fascinating. The artifacts and exhibits connect today with yesterday. Don't miss the Glassblowing center...the demonstration is wonderful and the shop is delightful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Jamestowne also viewed

 

Been to Historic Jamestowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing