We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Place for A ROMANTIC GET-A-WAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Rose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liberty Rose
Ranked #12 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place for A ROMANTIC GET-A-WAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I are both experienced travelers. We decided to stay at a B&B for our 29th anniversary rather than stay in a hotel. Good choice. We researched the B&B's around Williamsburg Virginia and chose the Liberty Rose. Great decision!

Sandi, the owner, is charming and attentive. She is also an extraordinary decorator. The Christmas themed settings were so detailed yet, not ever done, we spent an hout in the living room and another hour in our suite just admiring all the appointments We had a beautifully decorated tree beside of our bed. The food was great! The House was beautiful.

We had a lot of privacy. It was so romantic of a setting, we believe we will make it an anniversary tradition. We couldn't have had a more perfect experience.

Room Tip: No bad rooms. Ther's virtually nothing you could complain about in the Liberty Rose. Sandi has t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This B&B was perhaps the most beautiful one I've ever stayed in. The furniture was superbly appointed, the bedrooms have ample towels, luxurious sheets and comfy pillows, robes, wine glasses, videos for the DVD player and several places to lounge. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The yard was gorgeous, and my daughter and I swung on the tree swing. We had two rooms--one for my husband and I and one for our daughter. We got a peek at all the other rooms and each was nicer than the next.

Although the breakfasts were beautifully prepared, they were a little heavy. Be prepared to ingest lots of fats and carbs (i.e. french toast made with croissants and bacon on the side.) Maybe its a Southern thing...

Sandy, the proprietress, was lovely and aims to please. This experience was of exceptional value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desingerinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Beautiful and charming are the best words to describe this bed and breakfast. Our room was the Suite Williamburg considered the best room in the house but I took a peak at all the rooms and they were all beautiful. We stayed there just before Christmas and the whole house was decorated, we even a had Christmas tree in our room! Breakfast was delicous and different every day. Sandy was a knowledgable and friendly hostess. The only compaint is the mattress is a bit lumpy. Next vacation to Williamsburg we'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Savannah room (the smallest one?). Trying to treat ourselves while not going overboard with cost. We should have treated ourselves more to a larger room. Loved the decor and room, just missed having a shower. I am not a tub person and that is all that we had. We took a look at the room next door and it was amazing. As woman I loved the decor and atmosphere, my husband found it a bit too victorian for him but he was very happy that I was happy. Absolutely most comfortable bed and sheets, blankets we ever had. We had to go home and try to buy ones like them for our bed. Were able to watch movies in our room. Very quiet, never heard any noises in the house. Really first experience with a B&B and it changed my view of traveling, now I look for them. The food was outstanding, really felt we were eating at a 5 star place. Hostess, Sandi, was so friendly and helpful. Asked what we wanted for breakfast the next day and we loved that. Felt if we wanted to have something less gourmet (which thank goodness we didn't so it was so good), she would accommodate our request. Overall, stay here and treat yourself.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank US_traveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the gorgeous Liberty Rose B&B. I could see as soon as I entered this intimate guest house that it had a designer's/decorated touch. So many special objets d'art everywhere -- and each one fitting the Victoriana atmosphere. The owner/hostess is a most charming and accommodating lady and serves a sumptious, delicious breakfast each morning. The menu is by the staircase the night before so you can leave her a note if there is something you don't like. She will arrange tickets to Williamsburg for you and will point you in all the right directions. The rooms are like suites and have an elegance befitting a special-occasion trip, yet the price is most reasonable. The garden is lovely and I can imagine a wedding there or some other special event. The B&B is conveniently located a few miles from the center of the colonial area and very close to the College of William and Mary. I cannot imagine a more wonderful place to stay while visiting Williamsburg and I recommend it most highly! from Lee-Alison Sibley, Great Falls, VA

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DramaqueenMadagascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

My wife & enjoyed our 28th wedding anniversary for 3 nights at this 4 bedroom B & B.
Each bedroom is decorated differently but elegantly. We stayed in the Suite Williamsburg which had a 4 poster antique canapy bed that was extremely comfortable. Our room/suite had two antique chairs, an antique sofa, a writing table, and a modern bathroom that had both a great shower and a claw bathtub. The decorations were fun, wimsicial, and arty. There is a TV and it is enclosed in a cabinet made to look like a doll house. There are no phones in any of the bedrooms. The B & B also had a living room with a piano and sofas, as well as, a sunroom where made to order breakfasts were served each morning. Sandi, the innkeeper, posts the breakfast alternatives the night before on a little stand in the foyer, and asks each guest to let her know if there is something else they would like. Since we stayed the first 3 days of October the house was decorated with some terrific Halloween dolls & decorations. Very artistic & wimsical. One other thing, Liberty Rose also has a great backyard & patio where my wife and I sat early each evening and shared wine, cheese, and the wonderful ambience. The B & B
is very conveniently located to Colonial Willamsburg and Jamestown. If you're looking
for a special and maybe romantic place to stay, you will be pleased you selected Liberty Rose.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieboyToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Highly reccommend the Liberty Rose. Beautiful house decorated with lovely antiques. Warm style. Sandi, the owner, is pleasant to chat with and makes you feel at home. We stayed in the Rose suite on the first level. Can hear guests above but just barely. Would stay in same room again though it is a bit dark. Very comfy bed and linens. Large bathroom. Towels weren't so great but robes were nice. Website photos are accurate. Backyard is lovely. Breakfast was delicious. Easy five minute drive to Colonial Wburg. We plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluerocks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.8 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Rose

Property: Liberty Rose
Address: 1025 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3415
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Liberty Rose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg's only Four Diamond Award B&B is celebrating 30 years in business. This turn of century beaded clapboard and slate roof gem sits on a hilltop acre of woods and beautifully appointed intimate patios along pathways that wind through magnificent gardens. Inside you'll find rooms so luxurious yet comfortable you're unlikely to find anywhere else. The hosts are warm and friendly, with tips ready to help guests have a uniquely local experience. Each suite has free wifi, cable TV, stocked complimentary minibar, plush bathrobes, locally made organic spa soaps, and lots of privacy. The complimentary chocolate bar is always filled with sweets and the breakfast room, called The Nest, has lovely views of the gardens from every two person table top. The breakfasts are designed and elaborated with local organic ingredients whenever available and are as delicious and unique as they are filling. You may want to take a few recipes home after your stay. Chose one of the new weekend #stayandeat packages that include a Saturday evening Argentine Gaucho styled Asado BBQ prepared by the Liberty Rose cook who lives part time in Buenos Aires and uses only grass fed organic beef at our new natural fire place grill. The Liberty Rose is a bike friendly B&B so bring your bicycle and discover this beautiful area with pedal power. Above all else, The Liberty Rose is a place for romantics- a place you'll love to return to year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Liberty Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing