We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Liberty Rose
Save
You added Liberty Rose to your Saves list
1025 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 27 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This B&B was perhaps the most beautiful one I've ever stayed in. The furniture was superbly appointed, the bedrooms have ample towels, luxurious sheets and comfy pillows, robes, wine glasses, videos for the DVD player and several places to lounge. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The yard was gorgeous, and my daughter and I swung on the tree swing. We had two rooms--one for my husband and I and one for our daughter. We got a peek at all the other rooms and each was nicer than the next.

Although the breakfasts were beautifully prepared, they were a little heavy. Be prepared to ingest lots of fats and carbs (i.e. french toast made with croissants and bacon on the side.) Maybe its a Southern thing...

Sandy, the proprietress, was lovely and aims to please. This experience was of exceptional value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desingerinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
louisville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Beautiful and charming are the best words to describe this bed and breakfast. Our room was the Suite Williamburg considered the best room in the house but I took a peak at all the rooms and they were all beautiful. We stayed there just before Christmas and the whole house was decorated, we even a had Christmas tree in our room! Breakfast was delicous and different every day. Sandy was a knowledgable and friendly hostess. The only compaint is the mattress is a bit lumpy. Next vacation to Williamsburg we'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Savannah room (the smallest one?). Trying to treat ourselves while not going overboard with cost. We should have treated ourselves more to a larger room. Loved the decor and room, just missed having a shower. I am not a tub person and that is all that we had. We took a look at the room next door and it was amazing. As woman I loved the decor and atmosphere, my husband found it a bit too victorian for him but he was very happy that I was happy. Absolutely most comfortable bed and sheets, blankets we ever had. We had to go home and try to buy ones like them for our bed. Were able to watch movies in our room. Very quiet, never heard any noises in the house. Really first experience with a B&B and it changed my view of traveling, now I look for them. The food was outstanding, really felt we were eating at a 5 star place. Hostess, Sandi, was so friendly and helpful. Asked what we wanted for breakfast the next day and we loved that. Felt if we wanted to have something less gourmet (which thank goodness we didn't so it was so good), she would accommodate our request. Overall, stay here and treat yourself.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank US_traveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the gorgeous Liberty Rose B&B. I could see as soon as I entered this intimate guest house that it had a designer's/decorated touch. So many special objets d'art everywhere -- and each one fitting the Victoriana atmosphere. The owner/hostess is a most charming and accommodating lady and serves a sumptious, delicious breakfast each morning. The menu is by the staircase the night before so you can leave her a note if there is something you don't like. She will arrange tickets to Williamsburg for you and will point you in all the right directions. The rooms are like suites and have an elegance befitting a special-occasion trip, yet the price is most reasonable. The garden is lovely and I can imagine a wedding there or some other special event. The B&B is conveniently located a few miles from the center of the colonial area and very close to the College of William and Mary. I cannot imagine a more wonderful place to stay while visiting Williamsburg and I recommend it most highly! from Lee-Alison Sibley, Great Falls, VA

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DramaqueenMadagascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

My wife & enjoyed our 28th wedding anniversary for 3 nights at this 4 bedroom B & B.
Each bedroom is decorated differently but elegantly. We stayed in the Suite Williamsburg which had a 4 poster antique canapy bed that was extremely comfortable. Our room/suite had two antique chairs, an antique sofa, a writing table, and a modern bathroom that had both a great shower and a claw bathtub. The decorations were fun, wimsicial, and arty. There is a TV and it is enclosed in a cabinet made to look like a doll house. There are no phones in any of the bedrooms. The B & B also had a living room with a piano and sofas, as well as, a sunroom where made to order breakfasts were served each morning. Sandi, the innkeeper, posts the breakfast alternatives the night before on a little stand in the foyer, and asks each guest to let her know if there is something else they would like. Since we stayed the first 3 days of October the house was decorated with some terrific Halloween dolls & decorations. Very artistic & wimsical. One other thing, Liberty Rose also has a great backyard & patio where my wife and I sat early each evening and shared wine, cheese, and the wonderful ambience. The B & B
is very conveniently located to Colonial Willamsburg and Jamestown. If you're looking
for a special and maybe romantic place to stay, you will be pleased you selected Liberty Rose.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieboyToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Highly reccommend the Liberty Rose. Beautiful house decorated with lovely antiques. Warm style. Sandi, the owner, is pleasant to chat with and makes you feel at home. We stayed in the Rose suite on the first level. Can hear guests above but just barely. Would stay in same room again though it is a bit dark. Very comfy bed and linens. Large bathroom. Towels weren't so great but robes were nice. Website photos are accurate. Backyard is lovely. Breakfast was delicious. Easy five minute drive to Colonial Wburg. We plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluerocks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed three nights and enjoyed the convenient (driving) proximity to colonial Williamsburg and some good golf courses. The owner, Sandy, was friendly, had suggestions for dining, made great breakfasts, and made us feel welcome without being overbearing. Although Liberty Rose is on a seemingly busy street, it was very quiet in our first floor room. We stayed in the Rose Victoria bedroom, one of the pricier rooms with a very large bath. The room and bath were immaculate, linens were lovely. The period furnishings were a little fussy, but overall fun. On a rainy day, it was great to have access to the large sitting room. While pricey, this was a unique experience that really beat staying at any chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJScienceTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
1.6 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 27 in Williamsburg
5.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Rose

Property: Liberty Rose
Address: 1025 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg's only Four Diamond Award B&B is celebrating 30 years in business. This turn of century beaded clapboard and slate roof gem sits on a hilltop acre of woods and beautifully appointed intimate patios along pathways that wind through magnificent gardens. Inside you'll find rooms so luxurious yet comfortable you're unlikely to find anywhere else. The hosts are warm and friendly, with tips ready to help guests have a uniquely local experience. Each suite has free wifi, cable TV, stocked complimentary minibar, plush bathrobes, locally made organic spa soaps, and lots of privacy. The complimentary chocolate bar is always filled with sweets and the breakfast room, called The Nest, has lovely views of the gardens from every two person table top. The breakfasts are designed and elaborated with local organic ingredients whenever available and are as delicious and unique as they are filling. You may want to take a few recipes home after your stay. Chose one of the new weekend #stayandeat packages that include a Saturday evening Argentine Gaucho styled Asado BBQ prepared by the Liberty Rose cook who lives part time in Buenos Aires and uses only grass fed organic beef at our new natural fire place grill. The Liberty Rose is a bike friendly B&B so bring your bicycle and discover this beautiful area with pedal power. Above all else, The Liberty Rose is a place for romantics- a place you'll love to return to year after year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing