We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Sandpiper Restaurant
Price range: $14 - $39
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Established in 1982, the Sandpiper Restaurant's success is born of loyal customers, dedicated staff, and the finest quality of steaks and seafood with our own homemade flair. We strive to serve fine spirits and wholesome meals within a pleasant, comfortable atmosphere.
Virginia
Level Contributor
394 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a great meal here - just stumbled upon it while visiting the area. Calamari for starters, great bread, homemade blue cheese dressing on the salad. Hubby had HUGE jumbo shrimp and I had the recommended also HUGE piece of friend flounder. Would certainly go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nav1go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandpiper1982, Owner at Sandpiper Restaurant, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Amy J,

It is always a pleasure to read such inspiring reviews! Thank you so much for becoming a Sandpiper fan! The calamari has become a number 1 hit since we brought it on board several months ago....it's fresh, that's the secret! ;)

Sincerely,
Kelli Sullivan Moss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Stone, Virginia
1 review
“New Treat at an Old Haunt”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We've been enjoying meals at the Sandpiper since forever. There's a charming back room with little lights strung around the windows where our family and friends get together to enjoy good times together and to sample our favorite recipes (in my case beer-battered shrimp and the red-pepper soup with crab meat). Recently, the back room was busy so my wife and I sat down at the newly constructed bar. The service was wonderful, we met new friends, and were joined, unexpectedly by old friends, and then enjoyed the full meal without leaving our seats. What a comfortable and unique dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandpiper1982, Owner at Sandpiper Restaurant, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Kenneth S,

Thank you!
The tune you sing is much appreciated! We always look forward to seeing you and your family. We share many memories, and we look forward to many more!

Sincerely,
Kelli and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Virginia
1 review
“The Perfect Summer Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you have dreamed of the most perfect summer dining experience (or year around) you must go to The Sandpiper. The service is First Class, the food is tasty and pleantiful and you will leave with an all -over great feeling !!! My wife and I go year around when we want a truely guaranteed great night out!!! And this from a newly transplanted NewJersey /New Yorkite..Thanks to the staff of the Sandpiper. Dan and Ellen

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan and Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“really , really nice”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

this was a nice experience. now allow me to state, it's not the Ritz- but you go there for good food and to be comfortable. it is key to note, that the place is frequented mainly by locals, which speaks well. the food was wonderful and fresh. i noticed when our server was busy, others from staff stopped by to bring another glass of wine or refill water, a team approach and w/a smile. owner stopped by & could not be more genuine in seeing that we had a nice experience. other restaurants have something to learn here..............

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coanetinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have been a customer of The Sandpiper since September 1997. I have never been disappointed at the quality of food, food preparation and service at this establishment. Many of the team that were with the restaurant in 1997 are still with the restaurant today and each member of the team takes the time to know their customers. I personally enjoy the many specials that are offered at The Sandpiper and recommend this restaurant to everyone that may be local or first time visitors to the middle penninsula or northern neck.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandpiper1982, Owner at Sandpiper Restaurant, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Rob,

The Sandpiper Staff thanks you for this extraordinary review....you are truly appreciated! You are a part of our family, and we are grateful for you!

Sincerely,
Kelli and "the gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandpiper Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sandpiper Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing