We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cross House Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weyers Cave
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cross House Garden Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Weyers Cave B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This B&B is conveniently near Staunton and Harrisonburg, VA. We visited both towns as well as the Frontier Culture Museum, Grand Caverns, the Rockingham County Fair, and old friends. Our hosts, Dana and Dennis, were very friendly, helpful, and fun to be around. The B&B is clean, comfortable, and decorated with antiques that compliment the ca. 1900 house. There is a large garden to stroll through or just sit in and chill out. The other guests were interesting and pleasant people which made breakfast quite enjoyable (as did the food). Our room was very nice, with a skylight in the modern, large bathroom. We hope for a return visit.

Room Tip: Note that one room's bathroom is down the hall, but no one else can use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana C, Owner at Cross House Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review for CHGI. We appreciate hearing back from all of our guests. What we look for in our reviews are: If our guests were comfortable, if their stay satisfied their expectations, if any comments on how we can improve and/or encouraging words for what they liked most.
Your review was awesome and we thank you for your kind words. We hope you will be a "repeater" Remember...this is your home as well! Don't let it sit empty :}
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
54
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The home was beautiful and very clean. The owners are very nice and so accommodating. Breakfast was excellent. The patio and gardens are wonderful. This bed and breakfast is truly a place to relax. We really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Rose room is large and decorated so nicely. Very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana C, Owner at Cross House Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
What fun people you are! We enjoyed your visit and are wondering when we will see you again. Brin really misses you. Don't break her heart and wait too long:} Your review was great. Letting others know about the area and activities that surround the Valley. We appreciate you taking your time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a great little B&B adjacent to the Shenandoah National Park and near several local winery's, small farm stores, and other off the beaten path things to discover. We found this to be a nice base for a three day vacation. We visited Front Royal, drove the entire Skyline parkway, visited Monticello, and also toured a cave or two (there are 4 within 30 miles). The inside is nice and clean and well decorated to bring you back to the 1930, but the AC works and the furniture is comfortable -you are not afraid it will break if you sit on it, unlike at many B&B's.

I suggest that you pick up a bottle of Virginia Sweet Wine and hangout in their sun room or front parlor at the end of the day after an adventure.

Only negative is that the exterior gardens and bushes need some tender loving care, a good pruning this fall is in order to make it easier for visitors to see the front of the house and get up the front path with roller bags.

Over all, a great stay with friendly owners who are willing to work with you to make your stay special.

Room Tip: Most rooms are on the second floor, if you have problems with stairs this may not be the place for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana C, Owner at Cross House Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
This response may be a bit late but comes with a heartfelt THANK YOU! Your comments have been well received. Thank you for trying out CHGI and we hope you can find your way back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had such a wonderful stay at this wonderful B&B! Dana and Dennis were such wonderful hosts. Dana and I had wonderful talks and her iced tea is hands down the best! My room was beautiful and I felt so comfortable. There was so much in the area to do ....I would recommend White Oak Lavender farm, Cross Keys Winery...just to name a few. They are both right down the road! I highly recommend this beautiful home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iwcquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana C, Owner at Cross House Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are so happy CHGI could provide you with a place of relaxation and recreation. Thank you for such a lovely review. We are still learning our way and it is folks like you that give us encouragement even when some "oops" happen. Hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We escaped the city for a secluded slice of peace and quiet, and found it in this beautifully landscaped and restore Victorian. Both Dana and Dennis were warm and Welcoming, and showed us to our charming room- "The Room with a View." We were able to have a later breakfast, which was a much needed rest for us, and they had lots of fun suggestions for things to do in the ares. We'll be back for sure!

LJ

Room Tip: All four rooms were decorated in a vintage Victorian style, restored to a beautiful artist's tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvilKeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana C, Owner at Cross House Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for putting your trust in CHGI for this special memory. We are also thankful for your kind words and review. Please don't forget us whenever a "get-a-way" is needed! We would look forward to seeing you again.

God Bless....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I had a beautiful time during our stay thanks to Dana and Dennis, who where warm and welcoming hosts. They truly make you feel right and at home with their hospitality. We stayed in the Dogwood Room in which we thoroughly enjoyed the decor, bathroom products, very comfortable bed, and the special touches of the "The Story of The Dogwood" book placed on the bed along with a bouquet of lavender. Beautiful keep Victorian home tucked away in a quaint and quiet village with scenic surroundings. Close to wineries, parks and other attractions. Delicious breakfast served in the mornings and scrumptious snacks set out throughout the day. Perfectly peaceful place to getaway, relax and unwind. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishJoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana C, Owner at Cross House Garden Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Well...Thank You for those very kind words. Now it's our turn. What a lovely time we had having you as our guests. Without people as "fun-loving" and interesting as you, this business would be just a job without any enjoyment sharing our home with others. We sincerely hope to see you back soon. Perhaps we can hire you as our "visiting photographer!" Also, we would like to thank you for posting your pics along with your review. Taking your time to write a response was very much appreciated. Taking your time to post pics, capturing what you found interesting at CHGI ,made your review even more personal. Remember, our doors are always open!

God Bless!

Dana & Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were visiting at JMU in nearby Harrisonburg and were only able to stay at this lovely inn for one night, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Since we were running late and wanted to visit the lavender farm down the road, Dana kindly called to ask them to stay open for us. It was a special treat to have the farm's lavender toiletries in our beautiful bathroom, which was very clean and nicely decorated and updated, and even had a skylight! The Dogwood bedroom was spacious and comfortable, with a luxurious canopy bed and a view of the mountains. Dennis made us a wonderful breakfast of yogurt parfait with fresh berries and bacon and eggs, having asked if we had any dislikes or preferences the night before. We lingered over freshly made coffee and thoroughly enjoyed our conversation with him. We would highly recommend this inn as an alternative to the hotels in Harrisonburg for anyone visiting JMU or the other schools or attractions in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catfish49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weyers Cave
6.7 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
8.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
13.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross House Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross House Garden Inn

Property: Cross House Garden Inn
Address: 1224 Keezletown Rd, Weyers Cave, VA 24486-2318 (Formerly Inn at Keezletown Road)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Weyers Cave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Weyers Cave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us for a reprieve from the hustle and bustle of daily life and enjoy a stay at Cross House Garden Inn. We are just 15 minutes away from Harrisonburg and 20 minutes from Staunton. Enjoy Shenandoah Valley cooking accompanied by true, Southern hospitality at Cross House Garden Inn. We are a spacious, Victorian inn located in the heart of Shenandoah Valley with breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our rooms are beautifully appointed and our grounds offer lovely, English gardens. Located on one acre in the quaint village of Weyers Cave, Virginia, our bed and breakfast is reminiscent of a country home from another era with its English gardens and koi pond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing