We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B&B in Virginia”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint B&B in Virginia”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hosts Jim and Kay made us feel welcome and catered to in their lovely home. Whether it was with a refreshing beverage upon arrival or a sweet home made dessert at bedtime, their genuine hospitality will be remembered. And the location is ideal for hiking along the Blue Ridge Parkway or sight seeing in Charlottesville.
Sincerely, Hector and Amy-Syracuse New York

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind response! Please come back anytime... you were wonderful guests!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife found the Speckeled Trout on Tripadvisor and everything written in the reviews lived up to our expectations. We could not have been made to feel more welcome into their home. Jim was there with us each evening helping us plan our day trip for the following day. If there is a complaint it is only that breakfast each morning and dessert each evening were wonderful and my wife and I will carry them with us for a few more days.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the house and it was great but not sure there is much difference betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
You were great guests and we hope that you will consider us again when you are back in the area!
Thanks for a wonderful stay,
Jim & Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Depot, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Waynesboro for a nice weekend getaway and stayed at the Speckled Trout B&B. It was such a wonderful experience. The B&B is simply beautiful and the hospitality of Jim and Kay was above and beyond. Breakfast was amazing and they also served dessert each evening as we sat and enjoyed watching the Olympics in the quaint sitting room they have set up. We are definitely looking forward to returning. Thank you Jim and Kay for a wonderful experience. God Bless.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
You were great guests and we hope to see you again. It was wonderful to connect with fellow Alaskans.
Thanks for the great comments,
Jim and Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Speckled Trout for a mini-getaway without our toddler. The house was beautiful! Jim and Kay made us feel right at home and were very knowledgeable about things to do in the area, particularly where to go hiking. Breakfast was excellent each morning and we had a very relaxing time. Would recommend staying there to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hi Megan, how nice!
Guests from Charleston, S.C. just left, they also hiked up on the Blue Ridge Mountains; the Rip Rap Circuit Hike, almost 10 miles, they loved it!!! They plan to come back for several other hikes they had in mind. We'll be watching for you two, also!
Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camden sc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have visited many B&B's over the years,and the Speckled Trout B&B is definitely on our return list.Kay and Jim make you feel so welcome as soon as you walk into their lovely home.The detail in every room is so that of a Virginian home.If you love history ,you have come to right place.If you want the beauty of nature ,just step out into Kay's garden.We love sitting out their and enjoying all the color of her flower garden.She also has a hammock calling our name.Our room was so inviting and comfortable along with fresh flowers.We woke up to the smell of fresh coffee,and something special being prepared for breakfast.They are so accomodating. We are still thinking about the homemade apple tart.Kay and Jim are so knowlegible about the area and can inform you of things going on. Definitely something for everyone .We can't wait to plan our next visit.Thank You Kay and Jim for a very memorable time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your very kind recommendation! We enjoyed your visit!
Jim & Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We just had the pleasure of staying at the Speckled Trout. The owners Jim and Kay are extremely hospitable and they made our trip amazing! The house and rooms are beautiful, it surpassed all of our expectations. Every morning we awoke to a wonderful gourmet breakfast and in the evenings we were treated to dessert, coffee and tea.

We can't wait to come back, thanks Jim and Kay!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YipMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We enjoyed your stay... please come back to see us again!
Jim & Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this fantastic Bed & Breakfast this past weekend. The bed was most comfy, the B&B very clean, the food was wonderful and best of all, the owners are incredible. The Heafner's know how to treat a guest and caters to your every need. Kay even delivered coffee, before breakfast, to our room as we were getting ready on Sunday morning! How's that for perfect service And the food.....OMG, wonderful. Even had fresh farm eggs along with our fruit, sausage, and homemade apple tart. Everything was excellent. Don't spend your money going to a bland hotel......give the Speckled Trout B&B a try and you will be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiseGirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Wonderful guests... thank you!
Jim & Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
610 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
#5 of 9 in Waynesboro
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Waynesboro - Rt. 340
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast
Address: 607 Oak Ave, Waynesboro, VA 22980-4428
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Trout offers a quintessential bed and breakfast experience-an elegant home in a historic Waynesboro, Virginia neighborhood...luxurious guest rooms with vintage four poster beds...delicious gourmet breakfasts...beautiful gardens for outdoor relaxation. The home is decorated in the delightful Virginia Hunt Country Style; a blending of traditional furnishings and sporting themes that convey a refined sense of adventure and comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing