We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time in Waynesboro”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Speckled Trout for a mini-getaway without our toddler. The house was beautiful! Jim and Kay made us feel right at home and were very knowledgeable about things to do in the area, particularly where to go hiking. Breakfast was excellent each morning and we had a very relaxing time. Would recommend staying there to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Hi Megan, how nice!
Guests from Charleston, S.C. just left, they also hiked up on the Blue Ridge Mountains; the Rip Rap Circuit Hike, almost 10 miles, they loved it!!! They plan to come back for several other hikes they had in mind. We'll be watching for you two, also!
Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have visited many B&B's over the years,and the Speckled Trout B&B is definitely on our return list.Kay and Jim make you feel so welcome as soon as you walk into their lovely home.The detail in every room is so that of a Virginian home.If you love history ,you have come to right place.If you want the beauty of nature ,just step out into Kay's garden.We love sitting out their and enjoying all the color of her flower garden.She also has a hammock calling our name.Our room was so inviting and comfortable along with fresh flowers.We woke up to the smell of fresh coffee,and something special being prepared for breakfast.They are so accomodating. We are still thinking about the homemade apple tart.Kay and Jim are so knowlegible about the area and can inform you of things going on. Definitely something for everyone .We can't wait to plan our next visit.Thank You Kay and Jim for a very memorable time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your very kind recommendation! We enjoyed your visit!
Jim & Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We just had the pleasure of staying at the Speckled Trout. The owners Jim and Kay are extremely hospitable and they made our trip amazing! The house and rooms are beautiful, it surpassed all of our expectations. Every morning we awoke to a wonderful gourmet breakfast and in the evenings we were treated to dessert, coffee and tea.

We can't wait to come back, thanks Jim and Kay!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YipMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

We enjoyed your stay... please come back to see us again!
Jim & Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this fantastic Bed & Breakfast this past weekend. The bed was most comfy, the B&B very clean, the food was wonderful and best of all, the owners are incredible. The Heafner's know how to treat a guest and caters to your every need. Kay even delivered coffee, before breakfast, to our room as we were getting ready on Sunday morning! How's that for perfect service And the food.....OMG, wonderful. Even had fresh farm eggs along with our fruit, sausage, and homemade apple tart. Everything was excellent. Don't spend your money going to a bland hotel......give the Speckled Trout B&B a try and you will be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruiseGirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Wonderful guests... thank you!
Jim & Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Waynesboro - Rt. 340
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
#5 of 9 in Waynesboro
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast

Address: 607 Oak Ave, Waynesboro, VA 22980-4428
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range: $130 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Trout offers a quintessential bed and breakfast experience-an elegant home in a historic Waynesboro, Virginia neighborhood...luxurious guest rooms with vintage four poster beds...delicious gourmet breakfasts...beautiful gardens for outdoor relaxation. The home is decorated in the delightful Virginia Hunt Country Style; a blending of traditional furnishings and sporting themes that convey a refined sense of adventure and comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing