We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service good; Food average”
Review of Plaza Azteca

Plaza Azteca
Ranked #12 of 97 Restaurants in Waynesboro
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: New restaurant where south river grill was located
Restaurant details
Description: New restaurant where south river grill was located
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Service good; Food average”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The decor is pleasant and seating is comfortable. I was quickly seated and had a waitperson at the table. The service was friendly and fast but not intrusive. The food selection was ok but I found the food to be average. The salsa was bland> The burritos were ok but I have no idea what the sauce that covered them was. I think it lowered the quality of the meal and wish it was served as a side.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    76
    31
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Three High School Chums Reunion”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Ordered three very different dishes and all were very good. Sangria had fresh blackberries in it -- margarita was good too!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was good mexican food. Clean and well prepared.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tvass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We live in Waynesboro, and have gone to Plaza Azteca several times. The food is OK, but nothing extraordinary. What is extraordinary is that our credit card has been charged a number of times by this restaurant when we were not even in town. Our charges are for small amounts like $3 or $6. We are not the only people with this problem, others have had substantial charges, over $200, charged fraudulently. Police have been notified of the problem.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank VirginiaWallygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oh
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I liked the Plaza Azteca! The decor was nice...loved the high back booths! The staff was friendy and attentive.

I ordered a quesadilla and was happy with the taste, portion, sides, etc. The guacamole that is prepared table side is a nice touch! It was tasty too. It would be nice if they offered a half portion of the guacomole, especially if there are only two people sharing it.

I think the salsa they serve in a small stainless steel cup could be improved upon. It needs a little more kick!

The wait staff could use a little more training. Had to ask for small plates and utensils when served our appetizer.

Overall, I liked it and would go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drpc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Azteca also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing