We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Soup Books and Cafe - CLOSED

Stone Soup Books and Cafe
Cuisines: American, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gem in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went out for a walk today to explore the area and found this wonderful place.'s

It's a combo bookstore and cafe in an old building.

The staff is very friendly and the food is excellent. The inside eating area is small - 2 3-person tables, 2 2-person tables and a number of seats at the counter. They also have a nice patio for outdoor eating.

I got the half and half - choice of two - 1/2 salad, 1/2 sandwich or cup of soup - $6.50. I got cabbage and potato soup (I believe they call it Colcanna) and half Smoked Turkey with cranberry chutney and Swiss on Chibatta. DELICIOUS.

I would highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwolfe8140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been here for lunch once. Not much to choose from but very good food and great prices. The service is good also. Sort of a tight squeese in a few place. All in all, a great place for lunch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, VA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always great!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

A safe haven with great food, friendly staff and books!! On Friday evening there is even entertainment. The perfect place. One of my top two!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MURDERLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the trip off the highway for lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on a beautiful summer day in August. Interesting cafe menu made with local ingredients. I really liked the bookstore/cafe combo in a cute little house on a hill side. There is a nice little garden seating area in the back. This place is definitely worth taking some time to find for a good lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeBeeRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Sandwiches and relatively small variety but menu changes daily. Great outdoor music on weekends all summer. Bookstore and snack bar all in one. Chef is very good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hendo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Soup Books and Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing