We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Iris Inn!”
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
centreville virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Iris Inn!”
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Iris Inn Bed & Breakfast. It was a refreshing way to spend the weekend in the Shenandoah Valley. The Iris Inn is set in a wooded lot where you can hear the leaves blowing against each other in the wind. It was very relaxing to sit on the front porch and take in the beauty of the surroundings.

We stayed in the Woodland Room. The room was very large, and very nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable! The sheets were fabulous. I am an airline person that travels ALOT, and these sheets, and this bed were amazing! I almost didn't leave! The bathroom and shower were immaculate. Our room even had private access.

The Inn Keeper's Dave and Heidi were friendly, and very informative about some sightseeing excursions. They also had great suggestions about some local restuarants. The breakfast they served had a great variety of choices, which were all delightfully delicious! The tables had fresh flowers on them, and made the room very cozy.

I am also impressed with their professionalism, and that they have the Iris Inn's billing set up to have a receipt sent to you by e-mail.

It was a great experience, and I look forward to staying at the Iris Inn again soon!
Lisa & Mark

  • Liked — It was very comfortable & Cozy!
  • Disliked — There is not a thing I didn't like!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank callielisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    43
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
593
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2008

My wife and I were nervous booking our weekend trip to the Iris Inn sight unseen, but now having been there we can't wait to spend another weekend with them! From the outside, the Inn is a attractive, two-story contemporary structure nestled low on a mountainside with porches running the length of the building and plenty of inviting rockers. Totally surrounded by trees, you instantly forget how close you are to civilization. The building's main entrance leads to the very large communal area which balances the contemporary exterior with just the right amount of rustic elements, giving the enormous area a cozy, living room feeling. Huge windows bring the trees and sunlight into the room. On our arrival, we were also greeted with the sight of a 10-point buck just off the balcony watching us as very closely.

Our room was the Hawk's Nest, a very private loft room separate from the main building. It was well appointed, very clean, and its open architecture design made it feel larger than it was (and it was plenty large). The hot tub was ready and waiting for us.

The breakfasts alone are worth the trip. Not satisfied with muffins and pastries, Dave and Heidi serve up an amazing full breakfast served in the communal area. Our two meals there were easily the culinary highlight of our trip (with apologies to the Staunton Grocery).

We highly and whole-heartedly recommend the Iris Inn.

  • Liked — The Inn is professionally operated and maintained by motivated owners.
  • Disliked — Nothing, really.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_n_Delia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
born in the north and live in the south (Virginia)
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We had been recommended by a friend to stay at this b&b they stay every year to watch the leaves fall. First we met Dave and Heidi and they were both so warm and welcome. After settling in we had a glass of wine with them and learned about each other. It was a relaxing and nice time. They also recommended places to eat (where they eat) and great quick short hiking areas (more bang for your buck hiking).
They packed us a beautiful backpack full of goodies for our hike. Even the hot homemade cookies from that morning. My husband also had champagne and strawberries in our room too. The flowers were beautiful too. We took them home and gave them to our daughter's teacher.
I can't tell you when we have been that relaxed...especially my husband. We also sat next to a nice couple of women (cousins) on both mornings. It was very enjoyable since we found out common threads between us.
We will be back when we can rangle someone else into watching our kids. Or could they sleep outside with Katie? Just kidding!
Debra P.

  • Liked — breakfast was amazing and the beds were amazing!
  • Disliked — didn't see the first floor hottub I heard about
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liontamer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, VA
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2008

When we first planned our trip to the Charlottesville area for the USC football game, we discovered that the major hotels already were booked. So we tried something else: we looked for a bed & breakfast in the surrounding area. We chose the Iris Inn in Waynesboro and it was a great decision. Our room was large, well-appointed, and peaceful. Innkeepers Dave and Heidi were friendly, helpful, and offered up a heck of a breakfast. I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scott031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We were looking for a quiet retreat to spend a few days before the hectic school year began and we found it at the Iris Inn . The room was delightful with the softest most comfortable sheets. Little amenities such as robes and wine glasses were provided in addition to the bottomless cookie jar in the open dining area.
Fauns and a very friendly dog came to greet us as we entered and left. The breakfast was delicious.Our most pleasant stay was a tribute to the hard work and art of the InnKeepers.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank popiMaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We have stayed at numerous B&B's throughout the country and we rate the Iris Inn one of the best. The accommodations are fantastic and the hosts are perfect -- they truly understand how to ensure their guests are comfortable but not suffocated with too much closeness. The inn is tucked into the mountains and our room offerred a private hot tub on a deck surrounding forest. The most romatic getaway we've had in years. The breakfast was outstanding and we look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Blumbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We just stayed at the Iris Inn and it was wonderful. The staff was friendly and kind. They helped us with our dinner plans and with directions to attractions in the area. The room was just beautiful, spacious and clean. We met some wonderful people from Virginia and New Jersey over breakfast. The food was fabulous. We highly recommend the Iris Inn. It will be our first choice when we visit the area again.

Peter & Barbara
Rhode Island

  • Liked — The Accomodations were beautiful!!
  • Disliked — Everything was great!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rileyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
22.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
19.8 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
916 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing