We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway”
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Highly recommend this for a couples retreat. We stayed in Couples Cabin #1 and did a sip and spa package, that included an in room couples massage. I can't wait to go back in the Fall when the leaves are on the trees :) Although we had great weather for March.
The Inn is ideally situated close to Staunton and lots of wineries and breweries. Nothing was more than 20 mins away.
I loved that you didn't even have to check in- the key code for the cabin door is sent to you in advance. The inn keepers leave tons of supplies (towels, coffee, etc) in the cabin so you don't have to call for anything; at least we didn't. The only thing I think you'd need to bring if you wanted to use the W/D is laundry detergent. We didn't need to use it though for just 2 nights. Loved the full size fridge and microwave. Also a small electric range and dishwasher. The cabinets were fully stocked with dishes, cups, mugs, silverware, etc. We could have cooked dinner there but went out both nights.
Breakfast both days was great- waffles one day and fritata the next.

Room Tip: Couples Cabin #1 was great in that it was secluded and we preferred it that way. The inn keepers did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    43
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
578
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

A++ B & B. So relaxing. Wonderful reviews got us there and we will definitely return!! We stayed in the Main Inn but hope to enjoy the views and solitude of a cabin next time. Nice touch was complimentary wine tasting late afternoon. Breakfast was scrumptious and especially liked sitting alone as a couple not at a large table with other guests. Mesmerizing roaring fireplace.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hooof81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at the Iris Inn over Valentine's Day weekend 2014. Big snowstorm during the week prior, but the (steep) road and driveway to the inn was perfectly clear Friday afternoon. Beautiful facility (we stayed in the Duck Room in the main building), great location and views, got there just in time to watch the sunset. Relaxing glass of wine with Dave, one of the owners/innkeepers, after settling in. Reasonable drive (15-20 min) to downtown Staunton for dinner. Great homemade breakfasts at the inn both mornings. A really nice surprise. Dave and Heidi run a top-notch B&B. We will definitely visit the Iris Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Me and My Husband stayed in Cabin 3 Great views, nice relaxing getaway, enjoyed the personal hot tube on deck, loved the rain shower and the heated floors on the bathroom. We went in February so we were able to use the fireplace. the Owner were away and inn keeper was very pleasant and very nice and helpful he suggested a place to eat the Greenleaf wonderful food.

Room Tip: if you are going to stay in a Cabin pick cabin 2,3,4,5 but cabin 3 or 4 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant staff, great location, amenities top notch. The inn proper is very warm and hospitable, the cabin where we stayed met our expectations and then some, from the heated floor to the hot tub, and the view from the mountain while lingering there. The fireplace is all that was needed to heat the room and set the mood.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captflipflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I are very happy to have found this place. Even though we arrived a couple days after a huge snowstorm, and it couldn't have been easier to get to. In fact, we were nervous about traveling during the snow, but a well-timed email from the innkeepers assured us that the their driveway was paved. Conveniently located right off the highway, the inn is perched up on a hill and offers grand panoramic views. We were welcomed by Dave, whose delightfully warm and genuine personality made us feel at home right away. We were shown to our room, one of the cottages, and were just blown away by the sheer size, cleanliness, and attention to detail. What a comfortable stay, despite more snow the very next morning. We didn't mind one bit! With hot chocolate, wine, and a roaring fire, we had everything we needed to enjoy a cozy romantic weekend. We can't wait to return when the weather is warmer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just stayed for one night in Cabin #6. We had an amazingly relaxing and rejuvenating night. Everything that everyone says in the reviews is true and need not be repeated. Will be back back for a longer stay next time!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank benlee500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
11.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
19.8 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing