We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Cabin!”
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Fabulous Cabin!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Iris Inn. The cabins were absolutely beautiful - exceeded our expectations! They had wonderful modern amenities, such as the heated bathroom floor. We enjoyed the private hot tub on the balcony - overlooking the valley and forest. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were very tasty, again exceeding expectations! Their bottomless cookie jar was also a big hit! I would definitely recommend this place to stay. If we ever find ourselves in the area again, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    43
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
590
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Iris Inn exceeded all of our expectations. The cabins are truly a first class experience. Any amenity we could have needed from a full kitchen, to a grill, to the hot tub, were provided. It does not seem that Dave and Heidi skipped on providing the highest quality when they designed and furnished the cabins. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I just got back home from a business meeting in Waynesboro and from the time I punched in the code and opened the door to my cabin to the time I left the next morning, I was floored! Dave and Heidi seem to have nailed it! They have taken the time to sweat the small details that make a stay enjoyable and memorable! I stayed in cabin #4. There are six total and they are built on the sloping edge of a tree lined overlook that provides a great view of the valley. Glass abounds! Everything you need is here and placed right where you would put it if you were home. The big screen TV embedded in the wall with the comfy couch facing it reminded me of my man cave at home. The privacy curtains are controlled by a switch on the wall that brings them down to shut out the world. There is a washer and dryer and the closet lights come on when you open the door and shut off when you close it. The linen on the king size bed must be a very high thread count because it was silky smooth and the pillows were just right! The shower stall is ultra modern and provides a view of the mountains through the glass sliding door that leads out onto the screened in porch area where a full-sized hot tub resides! This is more like an upscale vacation cottage than a true bed & breakfast experience. Each cottage even comes with a full-sized grill on the deck! Dave and Heidi are very hospitable and breakfast was brought to my table. This couple have laid the place out as if to provide all the comforts of home. The Iris Inn Bed & Breakfast is nestled in a wooded area and not highly visible from the road but well worth the discovery! If you stay there, you will understand why this review is so gushingly complimentary! This place ROCKS!! You'll be sending pictures and talking about it to your friends. I guarantee it!

Room Tip: If you choose a cabin in the middle of the row like #4 or #5, you get a panoramic scenic view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lafayette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary with a weekend at the Iris Inn in mid-July. The weather was variable, humid and occasionally rainy; but the views are spectacular and the surroundings are wonderful. The Inn is modern in style, very elegant; we stayed in one of the rooms in the main building, and from our windows on the second floor could see for miles down the Shenandoah valley with rows and rows of mountains. You are close to the interstate, but all you see is forest; and the surrounding area is beautiful, with back roads that lead to wineries, breweries, fruit farms and stands, and charming village/suburbs to Charlottesville and Staunton. The hosts are friendly and gracious, and every detail is thought out. Breakfast was delicious. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnC57718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just returned from staying in one of the cabins. It was such an experience being able to have a "treehouse" with so many modern amenities! Hot tub on the deck overlooking the woods, heated floors in the bathroom, rainfall shower, comfortable bed. It was so cozy and private. Up a few steps to the Inn, we enjoyed our wine reception in the late afternoon. The original artwork is captivating! (Shenandoah Woodlands canvas is breathtaking!) The Inn itself is beautiful and well cared for. The innkeepers and staff were all so welcoming and attentive. We would definitely recommend staying here, and will go back there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JapaneseChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I recently stumbled upon this inn nestled in the mountains of Virginia. It is lovely, with great porch swings and an incredible view. It truly is nestled in the mountains.

It was the perfect two day get away. Very relaxing, the inn keepers were very kind and the inn was beautifully kept.

One not to miss.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My girlfriend, Lorena & I had a wonderful time together here! Very professional, yet warm & inviting Inn. Complimentary wine was delicious and it was even more perfect as we sat outside on the upper decks in amazingly, comfortable chairs and watched an evening thunderstorm off in the distance across the Shenandoah Valley. We can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
22.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
19.8 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
911 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing