We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Retreat”
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Iris Inn is more than a B&B, as it also offers efficiency units (comfortably furnished modern cabins and cottages) with full kitchens or kitchenettes. the cabins offer spectacular views of the Shenandoah Valley and the Blue Ridge Mountains from the 1,600 foot above sea level inn premises.. Dave and Heidi offer up a variety of full and very well prepared breakfasts. There are many walking trails in the area, of varying degrees of difficulty. More important for our group of four was the easy access to the many visitor sites in the area including the town of Charlottesville and Jefferson's home at Monticello. the town of Lexington and the Washington & Lee campus (expecially worthwhile is a visit to the Lee Chapel) and the town of Staunton. Davie is a great source for information about what to see in the area and is an indefatigable host. There are activities here for the outdoors folks as well as those interested in American historical sites, and the Iris Inn is centrally located to all of it. Don't miss!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandLNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 799 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the inn for a weekend getaway in the Shenandoah Valley and loved it! Heidi and Dave were wonderful hosts and attended to every detail. Our visit could not have been more pleasant. And, the breakfasts that they prepared for us each day were magnificent! The inn is set on the side of the mountain that gives it a majestic quality. We enjoyed a glass of wine while sitting in the tower and watched the sunset over the western mountains a view not soon forgotten.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I wanted to get away for a long weekend. We stayed three nights in one of the brand new cabins on the property. I am not easy to impress, and have actually never written a review in TripAdvisor.... But I will for this Inn! The decor in the cabins is fresh, tastefully modern with a European flair. Our cabin was very private allowing us to feel as if we could disappear and come and go as we pleased. The cabin had beautiful lighting, floor to ceiling windows, new furniture, wood floors, a full kitchen with fridge, microwave, dishwasher and table settings. The Living Room had a new LG blueray 3D TV, blueray DVD player and Dish hooked up. We enjoyed a movie while sitting in our two person recliner. Free Wi Fi was a bonus. The bathroom comes with granite counter tops, modern fixtures, a heated tile bathroom floor with a walk in rain shower which opens to the huge screen in porch. The 4 person hot tub on the "spa-ish" deck was a huge bonus after our hike on the Appalachian Trail. My wife and I typically stay at resorts and we found these cabins to be a perfect blend of the Ritz and a comfortable, private excursion into the mountains.

Dave and Heidi are incredible Inn Keepers. It is obvious that they have extensive experience in the Hospitality industry from their travels when they worked in the corporate world. Their attention to detail on the property was not unnoticed. Breakfast was a treat each morning. Creme brûlée French toast, eggs and pancakes with whipped cream, sausage, fresh OJ.... Perfect! Other details: My wife had an in room massage, Heidi arranged for flowers to greet us when we opened the door to our cabin, and we has a picnic lunch made for us to take on our 8 mile hike.

The location of the Inn is fantastic. We drove the entire Skyline drive and after finishing made it to the Inn in just a few minutes. Later, we hopped on the Blueridge Parkway (if you like to drive, this is a must!) to hike the AT. The Inn is also close, but not too close to Waynesboro. We drove into town for Mexican Food, Starbucks and a trip to Krogers for a snack and a Redbox DVD.

For a guy who doesn't do Bed and Breakfasts I couldn't have been more pleased. If you are looking for a lovely, romantic, private getaway in a beautiful setting with top notch details, this is the place for you. Thanks Dave and Heidi!

Room Tip: The cabins are amazing! Cabin #1 is the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed two nights in the Wildflower Room for my fiance's birthday. We had a great time. This was our first true Bed & Breakfast experience, and have zero regrets. The room was well equipped, extremely comfortable, and quiet. The Hosts, Dave and Heidi were very nice and welcoming. As all other guests have mentioned, the views are breathtaking. The hotel faces west, and is situated up on a hill overlooking a valley, so you can see for miles. The second level is one massive deck that's accessible by all guests, and has a bunch of rocking chairs, tall chairs, and swings, perfect for soaking in the afternoon sun and witnessing some gorgeous sunsets (porch faces west!). The room we stayed in was very large, a king bed, two lounge chairs, a small desk, and a small mini fridge. It also had a large bathroom and an additional sink that was separate from the bath itself. Very nice and I'm not sure there's anything I can say that was displeasing. The bed was very comfortable and had clean crisp linens. Also, since we're both part-time students we had to use the wi-fi on Friday night and found that it was easy to access and speedy. Not very important for a romantic B&B, but nice to have in case something comes up or you need to do some research.

The breakfasts were also very tasty. Very fresh fruit, and nice out of the ordinary meals (baked oatmeal and stuffed french toast, both very very good). I will say that in the mornings, there could be a very short wait if the place is booked up. But with numerous tables, some couches/chairs and a back deck, there's plenty of places to relax and wait over a cup of coffee. Also you can play with the cute and gentle dog, Katie.

One thing few people mention is the location of this B&B. Its right off of I-64, just over Afton Mountain west of Charlottesville, 5 min from downtown Waynesboro, and 15 minutes from Staunton (highly recommend!). Its also extremely close to the Western Monticello Wine Trail boasting numerous wineries and breweries. Its really the perfect location for those who just want to sit and relax, or those who want to discover new towns or go wine tasting. And since its right next to 64, its easy to find and access. Don't worry you dont notice the interstate noise, give the significant tree barrier between the B&B and the highway, and the fact that its up on a hill.

Room Tip: The Wildflower room, while fantastic, is a bit pricey as it connects to the 2nd story deck and has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaurusSaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at one of the new single couple cabins and loved the experience. The cabins have a fully stocked kitchen, a screened deck and a hot tub for our personal use. The views are amazing, the breakfast meals are delicious, and the owners are so personable and helpful. It's a great getaway if you want a quite mountain retreat or if you want to do wine and brewery tastings.

Room Tip: Kings Family and Grace Estates were great vineyards to visit. Also, the Blue Mountain Brewery was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Wildflower room in the main Inn. The room was spacious, had a breathtaking view of the Shenadoah Valley and the bed provided the best sleep that we have had in a long time. The Innkeepers - Heidi and Dave - couldn't be more gracious hosts and the breakfasts alone are worth the stay. We would highly recommend the Inn if you are in the area. We also enjoyed the three brewpubs that are nearby - great food and great beer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the new cabins over the past weekend and words cannot adequately convey how amazing this place is - the setting is beautiful, it is close enough to everything you want to do, but far enough away that you feel such peace.

Dave, Heidi, and dog Katie make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Breakfast was delicious and a great way to start the day.

The cabins are like adult treehouses – private screened decks looking west for amazing sunsets (including screening under the deck – whoever thought of that is a genius!), welcoming Jacuzzi, comfortable bed, fireplace, TV with Dish Network, a full kitchen and coffee maker, as well as a bathroom with heated floors. The cabins truly are a wonderful, couple-centered retreat.

We really didn’t want to leave and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
1.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
11.8 mi away
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
11.5 mi away
Inn at Old Virginia
Inn at Old Virginia
#1 of 12 in Staunton
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range: $176 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing