We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible mountain weekend getaway!”
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
1 review
“An incredible mountain weekend getaway!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at one of the new single couple cabins and loved the experience. The cabins have a fully stocked kitchen, a screened deck and a hot tub for our personal use. The views are amazing, the breakfast meals are delicious, and the owners are so personable and helpful. It's a great getaway if you want a quite mountain retreat or if you want to do wine and brewery tastings.

Room Tip: Kings Family and Grace Estates were great vineyards to visit. Also, the Blue Mountain Brewery was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    43
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
590
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Wildflower room in the main Inn. The room was spacious, had a breathtaking view of the Shenadoah Valley and the bed provided the best sleep that we have had in a long time. The Innkeepers - Heidi and Dave - couldn't be more gracious hosts and the breakfasts alone are worth the stay. We would highly recommend the Inn if you are in the area. We also enjoyed the three brewpubs that are nearby - great food and great beer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the new cabins over the past weekend and words cannot adequately convey how amazing this place is - the setting is beautiful, it is close enough to everything you want to do, but far enough away that you feel such peace.

Dave, Heidi, and dog Katie make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Breakfast was delicious and a great way to start the day.

The cabins are like adult treehouses – private screened decks looking west for amazing sunsets (including screening under the deck – whoever thought of that is a genius!), welcoming Jacuzzi, comfortable bed, fireplace, TV with Dish Network, a full kitchen and coffee maker, as well as a bathroom with heated floors. The cabins truly are a wonderful, couple-centered retreat.

We really didn’t want to leave and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just enjoyed an overnight stay in the new Cabins at The Iris Inn. Beautiful setting in the woods, with fireplace, tv, hot tub, small kitchen and all of the modern details to spoil you! Great location for a multi-night stay to enjoy the many nearby wineries, Staunton and Charlottesville. Heidi and Dave are gracious guests so enjoy the wine social time in the main part of the inn.
Thanks again for a great stay and for tickets to the Virginia Fly Fishing festival!

Room Tip: All cabins are brand new Cabin 1 is at the far end of the cabins, very quiet and perfect spot to rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We use the reviews on Trip Advisor to help us make choices about travel. It's difficult some reviews range all over the map. I have pretty high expectations so here is my review of the Iris Inn. The Iris Inn is a lovely, lovely place to stay. We stayed in one of the cabins/tree houses and thought it was wonderful. Very new modern décor. The cabins are a bit small but extremely thoughtfully designed and decorated. Even the lighting is smart and purposeful! There is a hidden washer and dryer and brand new and efficiently spaced kichennette. The bathroom is large with a heated floor (really neat) and multi shower head shower that is very open and bright. You can enjoy the great fireplace, comfy double recliners and watch a large screen TV. The entire cabin has great views of the Shenandoah Valley. You can enjoy a brand new hot tub on the front porch with cleaver access through both the living area as well as the shower. / Bathroom. An unbelievable view of the Shenandoah Valley. There is a relaxing screened-in porch with a hot tub that is perfect. An amazing breakfast is included in the main house. The only negatives we could find was there isn't a stool or step to get in and out of the hot tub. We will definitely be back. You can't go wrong staying here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steffch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Springfield
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I began our 40th anniversary road trip at The Iris Inn. We were warmly greeted by Dave & Heidi and their border collie Katie. Upon entering the inn, we couldn't help but smell the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies that are available at any time of the day...or nite! Our room, the Pine Room is more beautiful & inviting that we could have imagined. We had a spectacular view of the valley and mountains from the porch right out our door. It was a bit chilly so we really didn't get to enjoy sitting on the swing...taking in the vistas...this time! There most definitely will be a next time. We've never experienced such warm hospitality at a bed and breakfast. Pleasant conversation by a warm fire with a glass of wine - it doesn't get much better than that! Breakfast was delicious as well.

We highly recommend The Iris Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My Fiance' and I stayed at the Iris Inn this week for two nights in one of their new Couples Cabins. We stayed in Unit 5. I was blown away when I walked into the room, it was gorgeous, well decorated, comfortable, very swank for a B+B room! We enjoyed a long hike (~ 9 miles) one day and couldn't wait to get back to our room to enjoy the screened in porch and hot tub. The wall facing the mountains is glass so you can always look out and enjoy the view. I have to say we both slept like rocks here! Our room was clean, had all the amenities we needed and breakfast was delicious. I was so sad to leave and am looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
22.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
19.8 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
911 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing