We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nyack, ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a very nice experience at the Iris Inn. The inn keepers were very hospitable, and the inn was clean, comfortable, and loaded with wonderful amenities. These included: A large, lovely deck with swinging hammock seats, overlooking the mountains; a very large, lovely room, with a great TV and lots of channels, and a great DVD collection, deliciously cool air conditioning, plentiful parking, and even some air freshner in the bathrooms. The inn keepers were most willing to help with planning outings, and recommending restaurants. They even accomodated my dietary limitations. It was a great stay!

Room Tip: Go for the Second floor rooms with the large deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisInn, Owner at Iris Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for kind words. The decks are one of our favorite places as well. Often, we await the arrival of guests in the swing with a drink in hand.
--Dave and Heidi Lanford, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    41
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
563
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
westminster, md
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The second night of a birthday weekend (first night was The Inn at Gris Mill Square) was spent at the Iris Inn. WOW!!! A gorgeous place overlooking the Shenandoah Valley. Dave and Heidi were very nice and breakfast was exceptional. There will be a return trip.

Room Tip: Woodland room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainLar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern va
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed this B&B perched on the western side of the Skyline drive . Heidi and Dave were warm and helpful hosts who served a generous wine tasting and great breakfast. The rooms share a common porch with comfortable seating and terrific view of the sunset over the valley. Especially beautiful as the leaves were changing color during our visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This b&b is worth the stop. It's location is excellent off the southern end of the skyline drive. Heidi & Dave are the nicest people you could ever meet and so is their dog Katie. The pictures on the website are true to form so no surprises. They are adding cabins in the front with hot tubs. Can't wait to return for that. Save the standard hotel rooms for city trips. This place is a little piece of heaven with unbelievable views.(sorry I had to pull my review, I called Dave Dan by accident. Trip Advisor doesn't make it easy to edit once it's posted.

Room Tip: I asked Heidi to give us a room with a view. We ended up in the Pine Room and couldn't stop look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I attended an all-day business meeting at Iris Inn and it was perfect. There were only 5 of us at the meeting but they had a great space for our small group. They put us in a separate building so it was private and we could work undisturbed, and not worry about disturbing other guests. The room was one of their large guest suites but they moved in a conference table for us. There was a kitchenette for our morning coffee and then they provided lunch - sandwiches to order, chips, cookies, drinks - just what we needed to work through the afternoon. Before we left, Heidi gave a tour of the couples cabins they are building - they are amazing! Can't wait to go back to enjoy some relaxing time in one of the new cabins.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisInn, Owner at Iris Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thanks for the kind words about your business meeting at the Iris Inn. Dave and I enjoyed hosting the group. I heard your favorite candidate accepted the position today. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It was our second visit to the Iris Inn. Everything was perfect. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were superb. Once again Dave And Heidi were gracious hosts. We can't wait to go back. Perhaps we will try one of the new cabins next time.

Room Tip: We enjoy staying on the second floor facing west. The view is wonderful and there is direct access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMe20082011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Iris Inn. Beautiful, comfortable, large rooms and great food. The rooms were quiet and clean. Just minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway. We will be returning and are anxious to try one of the new cabins are will be open soon.

Room Tip: The Woodland Room was very large, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacati0nM0m05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
19.8 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
814 reviews
5.5 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing