We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for small business meeting”
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for small business meeting”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I attended an all-day business meeting at Iris Inn and it was perfect. There were only 5 of us at the meeting but they had a great space for our small group. They put us in a separate building so it was private and we could work undisturbed, and not worry about disturbing other guests. The room was one of their large guest suites but they moved in a conference table for us. There was a kitchenette for our morning coffee and then they provided lunch - sandwiches to order, chips, cookies, drinks - just what we needed to work through the afternoon. Before we left, Heidi gave a tour of the couples cabins they are building - they are amazing! Can't wait to go back to enjoy some relaxing time in one of the new cabins.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisInn, Owner at Iris Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thanks for the kind words about your business meeting at the Iris Inn. Dave and I enjoyed hosting the group. I heard your favorite candidate accepted the position today. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    41
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
570
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It was our second visit to the Iris Inn. Everything was perfect. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were superb. Once again Dave And Heidi were gracious hosts. We can't wait to go back. Perhaps we will try one of the new cabins next time.

Room Tip: We enjoy staying on the second floor facing west. The view is wonderful and there is direct access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMe20082011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Iris Inn. Beautiful, comfortable, large rooms and great food. The rooms were quiet and clean. Just minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway. We will be returning and are anxious to try one of the new cabins are will be open soon.

Room Tip: The Woodland Room was very large, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacati0nM0m05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at the Iris Inn Bed and Breakfast in Waynesboro, Virginia while traveling through the scenic Shenandoah Valley via the Blue Ridge Parkway Scenic Byway. The Iris Inn was the perfect stop for me before I continued on to explore Shenandoah National Park.

When guests arrive to the Iris Inn they will immediately discover the calm and serene atmosphere that surrounds this bed and breakfast that is set into a private hillside away from other properties. Upon entering through the gorgeous stained glass French doors, guests will notice the tranquil ambiance continues when they step into the Great Room with extensive floor to ceiling windows that look out into the surrounding woods. Owners Dave and Heidi warmly greet guests and instantly make them feel right at home. After introductions, Dave gives guests a tour of the beautiful home before showing them to their room and providing a helpful overview. There are nine elegantly decorated guest rooms, each in a woodland theme. In each room, guests will enjoy a well-appointed bed wrapped in luxurious linens, plush towels, flat screen TV with DVD player, writing desk and sitting area. Each room has private access to the outdoor decks and grounds where guests can relax and take in the soothing environment. Be sure to go up to the three story look-out tower to watch the sun set over the Blue Ridge Mountains! Guests are also welcome to unwind in the upstairs library or Great Room with one of the many books available on the Shenandoah Valley and surrounding areas. Each evening, guests are invited to sample wines from some of the area’s wineries. There is also a bottomless cookie jar to satisfy that sweet-tooth. In the morning, breakfast is served at the communal dining table in the Great Room where guests can exchange experiences over a delicious hot baked main dish accompanied with a side of bread or muffin and breakfast meat.

The Iris Inn is centrally located to an assortment of attractions within the Shenandoah Valley, making this bed and breakfast an ideal location for travelers of all interests.

The Iris Inn is a member of BedandBreakfast.com and has been awarded a top choice by travelers.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bnblover_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the Iris Inn for a weekend and had an absolutely fabulous stay. Dave and Heidi were the perfect innkeepers, always there but never hovering over the guests. They were eager to give advice on restaurants and things to do, and their sense of humor was refreshing. The breakfasts were fresh, hot and delicious. The 5:30 p.m. wine social provided for a relaxing time to meet other guests. Our room was large, very comfortable and clean. Even though the house was full that weekend, it was very quiet and peaceful. The location is convenient to many cities and historical attractions. We would highly recommend staying with Dave and Heidi!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4-Tarheels0193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

It was our second trip to Iris Inn, and we stayed in the spacious Garden Path room. The view from the front of the inn is second to none, and its proximity to local attractions makes it the perfect jumping off point. Dave and Heidi are charming, friendly, and a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area. If your stay includes breakfast, don't miss it - its always freshly prepared and delicious. We'll be back again and again.

Room Tip: The upper balconies afford an unbeatable view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked the Hawks Nest Suite at the Inn to spend a night prior to taken the right north on Skyline Drive, which is only a few miles from the Inn making it very convenient to drive on either Skyline Drive or Blue Ridge Parkway.

As we approached going east on I-64 just passed I-81 the Inn pops unmistakably out of the side of the mountain indicating that the next exit is the right one. Once we entered the property and drove up the upgrade drive the Inn appeared on our right like a resort spa.

We met Dave just inside the main doorway and realized immediately that this guy was doing what he loves. After explaining the amenities he then showed us to our Suite and left us with "if their is anything you need, please call". We unpacked and drove towards Staunton and had a nice dinner before returning to the Inn. By then it was past dusk, and the entire valley was lit up in lights for a great vista. We spent the rest of the evening by sharing a bottle of excellent Amarone Valpolicella and watching the big screen. I'm not sure what woke me up at 4:30 am (actually I do) but I decided to enjoy the hot tub out on the back deck (very private) so I woke up the better half, and that's what we did. The stars were out in abundance making it a very romantic setting.

Breakfast is served in the beautiful lounge/dining area (again by Dave himself) and prepared by his wife Heidi. The food was excellent, the hosts were great, the view was awesome, and the room was exactly what we needed. We highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eltoro1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
19.8 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing