We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming, relaxing and beautiful getaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“A welcoming, relaxing and beautiful getaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at the inn while visiting nearby Charlottesville, VA for our daughter's graduation. It was wonderful to stay somewhere so peaceful and cozy and away from the hundreds of families packed into Charlottesville. The innkeepers went out their way to make sure our family had everything we needed, including pastries for the road when we left before breakfast in order to beat the crowd to the ceremonies. The rooms were large, clean and cozy and the setting in the woods, including decks with swings and hammocks, was lovely. There was wild mountain laurel blooming everywhere. We're hoping to make another visit soon--it must be beautiful in the fall!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masva306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    41
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
563
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Our extended family (party of 8) stayed here for our son's graduation from UVA. The setting is relaxing and quiet, the rooms are all updated and spacious, the lounge/lobby is conducive to sitting and talking, the wrap around porch is fantastic, and the views are wonderful. Additionally breakfasts were great and the special dinner that Dave and Heidi catered in for us was top notch. Heidi and Dave are wonderful hosts and take obvious pride in their B&B!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank anonfromnowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

My wife and I were looking for a place to spend several days to celebrate her birthday. The Iris Inn had great reviews and was within several hours of home so we decided to try it. From the moment we were met by Dave and Heidi at the door everything exceeded our expectations. The room (Pine Room) was large, nicely appointed, very clean, and had a great view of the Blue Ridge mountains. Early coffee and breakfast were both great. We had a great egg soufle one day and Heidi's secret receipe Apple French Toast the other.
Their border collie, Katie, was a joy and loved to fetch her ball for you. Just sitting on our balcony in the swing or rocking chairs and enjoying the view or reading provided one of the most relaxing getaways we have ever had. And the inn is convenient to Charlottesville, Staunton, the Blue Ridge Parkway, vinyards, and several past presidents homes. You could not ask for a better location or better hosts. I would recommend the Iris Inn to anyone and we will definitely be returning, probably again this year.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Wildflower or Pine rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray4461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Having researched on Trip Advisor where to stay in the area, we plumped for the Iris Inn and wasn't disappointed.

There was one thing that made our stay so nice - Dave and Heidi. With a complimentary glass of wine, it was nice to have contact with our host in a social sense, rather than a receptionist at a hotel.

The room and facilities were first class and the breakfast was very American and very enjoyable. Just what we wanted to sample the life in North Western part of Virginia.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEnglishTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Great accommodations, just off the parkway/Skyline Drive. Dave and Heidi are excellent hosts, not to mention Katy, the border collie, she made us feel right at home! Breakfast was delicious and we also took along a picnic packed for the road that we enjoyed on the drive the next day down the parkway. Dave even recommended a drive to Crabtree Falls just off the parkway. It was beautiful and I'm sure we would have missed it otherwise. Great stay, they thought of everything!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjroadtrips_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We loved the Iris Inn. The Inn was immaculately kept, the food delicious, the Inn Keepers wonderful hosts, and the location fantastic. The view from our room was beautiful. The porch swing was a great place to relax and watch the sunset. It was close to so many great wineries, historic spots and of course the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debmike83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Dave and Heidi at the Iris Inn made us very welcome. The accomodation was excellent we had wonderful views from our bedroom which opened out on to a wide veranda with chairs and a swing set. Breakfast was good and served in a relaxed and freindly atmosphere. The Iris Inn is well placed to explore Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Monticello, Thomas Jefferson's house, is not far away and worth a visit as are the spectacular caverns at Grottoes and local wineries. Waynesboro itself is a quiet town which is not spoilt by tourism but is worth a look around. There is a small museum, a house that is associated with the Civil War, an art centre and a good bookshop where you can also buy excellent food - visitors from the UK will be impressed by the drive-thru bank! Kate and John

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reddys4851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
19.8 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
5.5 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing