We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable birthday celebration!”
Review of Middleton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Middleton Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Memorable birthday celebration!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

From the moment we were greeted upon arrival, Mary Ann did everything possible to see that we had an enjoyable stay. The beautiful setting, tasty gourmet breakfasts, after dinner port and comfortable room are just a few of the attributes that contributed to this perfect weekend away. Anything we asked for or needed was delivered--pronto! We look forward to a return visit and recommend this charming Inn without hesitation!

Room Tip: Front rooms have a superb view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
127
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Middleton Inn for a recent wedding anniversary. We were planning on dining at the Inn at Little Washington and were not interested in paying $700+ for a room at the Inn. The Middleton Inn is just down the street and was an absolutely perfect choice! We arrived in the early afternoon and found there was absolutely nothing to do in the town. However, we were welcomed at the Inn by Mary Ann, several cats, and dogs. We started the afternoon reading on the front porch and when the shade left us moved to the lovely back porch. We sipped champagne and enjoyed the unplugged respite from our hectic lives. Our room was quiet, comfortable, and beautiful. The service was impeccable. The breakfast was delicious -- the best scones we've ever had! We wouldn't hesitate to recommend and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanbmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We just spent two nights in Washington VA at the beautifully restored Middleton Inn (c. 1850) and could not be more pleased with our experience. This beautiful brick manor house sits on a knoll at the edge of town with breathtaking front-porch views of the surrounding Shenandoah foothills. The owner, Mary Ann, was most personable and gracious in seeing to our every comfort in her well appointed Federal-style manor rooms with marble bath and fireplace. The courtesy and pleasant service of her staff was equally superb. Conveniently located just a few short blocks to five-star dining at the Inn of Little Washington, with captivating gift & antique shops, galleries and the delightful Little Washington Winery nearby, the Middleton Inn is an ideal destination for a relaxing, rejuvenating weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is a lovely inn in its own right, and a great alternative to staying at the Inn at Little Washington if you are coming for the purpose of eating dinner there. The building is beautiful, the staff is accommodating and the rooms are comfortable. Yes, the floors creak, but the place has been around for a very long time. Yes, the prices are high, but the location is ideal -- the Inn down the street is not exactly a bargain basement value. Breakfast at Middleton was prepared perfectly. Having stayed both here and at the Inn, I enjoyed this as much or more in some respects. The service is less obsequious and the furnishings are not rococo, which I appreciate. Plus, it is nice to get away from the Inn after dinner, I find. Still, if you are looking for the full-on Inn at Little Washington experience, you should realize that this is more laid back and casual. For what it is, Middleton does it well.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCAttorneyMcLean_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent a night in early April---we enjoyed the complimentary chilled champagne for my husband's birthday on the front porch with cheese and crackers-- spring flowers were blooming and the bees were humming around us-- a delightful setting with the beautiful rolling hills. Mary Ann took wonderful care to insure we had dinner reservations and recommended a kennel nearby for our dog. The breakfast was just right and the room in the Inn was comfortable and quiet. We would gladly return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlheir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nations Capital
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Spent several nice evenings in the Log Cabin (similar to the nearby "Gamekeepers Cottage" only larger and more fireplaces). Well appointed, warm friendly host - we had a terrific time. The quality of the very fine breakfast was a suprise. Kudos, we'll be back.

Room Tip: The log cabin has a quiet porch with a terrific view, great for an afternoon glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancient2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely, relaxed stay, with such thoughtful touches as a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne when we arrived (in honor of my milestone birthday). Mary Ann also gave us a complimentary room upgrade, so our view across the pond and hills was perfect. She is a fine hostess with a well-honed sense of how to chat with the guests without intruding at all. The breakfast was scrumptious, with fresh ingredients in the fruit salad and omelette, best flaky scone ever, fresh squeezed OJ. We had stayed here about 15 years ago and found it even better this time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
973 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,239 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton Inn

Property: Middleton Inn
Address: 176 Main St, PO Box 254, Washington, VA 22747-1915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Middleton Inn, circa 1840, a Four Diamond award-winning luxury bed and breakfast inn located in the historic district of "Little" Washington, only two blocks from the famous restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington. Middleton offers five elegant accommodations in the manor house and historic cottage, all with working fireplaces and mountain views. Enjoy a scrumptious breakfast prepared by our chef before strolling around our six-acre estate, visiting wineries, hiking in Shenandoah National Park and browsing among our area boutiques and antiques stores. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing