We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable Inn with accommodating owners”
Review of Gay Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gay Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very comfortable Inn with accommodating owners”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Stayed at The Gay Street Inn when having dinner at the Inn at Little Washington, which is a five minute walk away. The Gay Street Inn offers very good value: rooms are nicely appointed and clean. The owners are very nice and offered to make whatever arrangements we needed. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank small_world-tome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    35
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
208
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the inn. Kevin and Jay were extremely friendly and obviously intent on making everyone's stay enjoyable. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The front porch was lovely, comfortable chairs, looking out at the mountains. The location is at the end of a very quiet street; very easy walking distance to where we had dinner, The Inn at Little Washington. Breakfast was exceptional and they serve the best coffee we've ever enjoyed. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer-run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed here during a one night visit to Little Washington. First of all, the inn is on a very quiet dead-end street within easy strolling distance of the main attraction in town, the Inn at Little Washington. The other B&Bs/Inns in town are all on the main drag. Not a busy street by any stretch of the imagination, but you would have car noise nevertheless. We stayed in the Garden room which was very pleasant and relaxing. The hospitality was great - we were greeted with a nice glass of wine. Both innkeepers were very thoughtful, and provided good recommendations, maps etc. Breakfast was excellent. They had beautiful gardens which I would have enjoyed, had the weather being better. All in all, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus_Inca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
severna park Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Kevin and Jay have a perfect gem in the Gay Street Inn. Within easy walking distance to our dinner reservation we were treated to a glass of wine before dinner an had port and chocolates waiting for us on our return. Our room was beautiful the breakfast amazing. They helped us plan our day with great advice and tasting cards to some of the local vineyards they even included a map. Next time (and there will be next time) we will make time to hang out in the garden.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vieques
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Outstanding...from welcome drinks and fire to chocolates and port to greet us when we returned from a night out....and everything in between. Coffee, paper and fresh banana bread were ready promptly at 7 am, followed later by a terrific breakfast and lovely view of the garden. No detail is too small for the hosts. We were a party of six in four rooms - there was nothing but praise from all in the party. We will return!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferncliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Husband treated me to a weekend getaway and we had a wonderful time at the Gay Street Inn. Kevin and Jay could not be more hospitable. Kevin greeted us upon arrival and got us all settled in. We were greeted with a glass of wine while Kevin helped us figure out the local scene. They served a nightly glass of port and chocolates, which is a nice way to relax and meet the other guests staying at the inn.
We stayed in the suite on the first floor, which was nicely appointed with a little kitchenette. Jay cooked breakfast for everyone each morning and the breakfasts we had were just delicious and filling.
We would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend to others!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We selected the Gay St. Inn due to it's proximity to Old Rag Hiking trail and were expecting simply a room to sleep in that allowed us an early start to our hike. What we found however, was a wonderful B&B with 2 of the most gracious and friendly hosts you could ask for. Jay welcomed us with drinks and conversation upon our arrival. We met Kevin across the street in his studio where he took the time to talk about his paintings and various excursions throughout the country to paint.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the backyard is beautiful, with its flowers and Adirondack chairs to lounge in.
While we enjoyed the B&B so much we thought twice about our decision to get up early and hike, we did end up deciding to leave before the "scheduled" breakfast time of 8:30. Jay and Kevin volunteered to make our breakfast for 8:00 instead, which was very generous and unexpected. The breakfast of fresh fruit, pancakes, the most amazing cranberry-butter, and baked bread was filing and delicious.
I highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in this area; the town of Washington is cute and quaint, and you are close to at least 2 entrances to the Shenandoah Mountains, as well as a variety of vineyards within a short drive. (I recommend Three Foxes, Mediterranean, and Rappahanock!).
We can't wait to come again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
984 reviews
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,262 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gay Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gay Street Inn

Property: Gay Street Inn
Address: 160 Gay St, Washington, VA 22747-1974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gay Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored and updated 1850s farmhouse in historic Little Washington, Virginia, will welcome you to a relaxing stay in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are within walking distance of the renowned Inn at Little Washington, minutes from Shenandoah National Park, award-winning wineries, horseback riding and antiques. Your day begins with a home-cooked breakfast in our sunroom. Lounge in the library or in the quiet of one of our guest rooms, each with private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gay Street Hotel Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing