We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality with a Capital H!”
Review of Gay Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gay Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hospitality with a Capital H!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wendy and Gary Aichele have perfected the method of making every guest feel as if they are at home in their beautiful inn. Our room was nicely appointed and the breakfast was delicious. The port and chocolate were a nice surprise on our return to the inn after dinner. Don't plan on watching TV (there are none) and don't expect your cell phone to work (it won't unless you're on Sprint). Sit back, relax, and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    35
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
208
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We came to Washington to dine at The Inn at Little Washington and chose The Gay Street Inn because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. Gary and Wendy were gracious hosts. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This review is a bit late but heartfelt non the less. Husband and I stayed at the Gay Street Inn in March of 2012. We had made reservations at the Inn at Little Washington for dinner and the GSI looked like a much less expensive and still charming option at which to stay nearby. We were not disappointed. Everything was first rate. We were welcomed immediately and they jumped to our assistance when we realized we'd forgotten something critical at home. They couldn't have been nicer! The room was well appointed and comfortable. My husband had arranged for a bottle of champagne in honor of my birthday and it was on ice waiting for us when we arrived. The sherry and chocolates in the den made a great after dinner treat. Breakfast was delicious!! We would wholeheartedly recommend this Inn to everyone. A delightful place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacochran812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Agree with the other reviewers- under new ownership, the Inn continues to be a great getaway and base for dining and exploring the Washington, Virginia area. And Gary and Wendy have also continued featuring the special coffee roast from the roasters up the street!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spindoct0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had celebrated our 24th anniversary at the Gay Street Inn with dinner at the Inn at Little Washington two years ago. We decided to celebrate our 26th in the same way this year! The new owners of the Inn, Gary and Wendy, were delightful and the Inn remains a wonderful way to have a gourmet meal at the Inn at Little Washington, drink wine with each course and then stroll to the Inn for local Virginia port wine and chocolates as we came down from our culinary high! Breakfast was wonderfully delicious and we will continue to keep the Inn on our list of "go to" places!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

"Hi, we just bought the Inn," said the new owners when we checked in. But don't worry, everything is just as good as it was before. The corn meal pancakes are still on the menu, as well as some other praiseworthy items. And the owners went out of their way to find us restaurants on a Monday evening (not much open)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I were in town to celebrate our second anniversary with a dinner at the Inn at Little Washington. Our whole weekend turned out to be quite amazing, and our accommodations at the Gay Street Inn were a big part of that.

We found the new owners, Gary and Wendy, to be very kind, and certainly helpful with whatever we needed to make our stay comfortable. The Inn itself is beautiful, comfortable, and in a perfect location for walking the small town of Washington, VA, or for exploring the many other sights within a short drive of the region.

A few things in particular that we loved about our stay, were the offering of local Virginia port and chocolate in the evening and the amazingly delicious breakfast that was provided in the morning. After our meal at the Inn at Little Washington the night prior, who would've thought we'd even want to look at food, but....it was that good!

I would recommend the Gay Street Inn to anyone from foodies in town for a meal at the Inn at Little Washington, to outdoors lovers, or to anyone just looking to get away from it all.

We had a great experience!

Oh, and btw---it's very reasonable price wise

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawnboy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
984 reviews
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,260 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gay Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gay Street Inn

Property: Gay Street Inn
Address: 160 Gay St, Washington, VA 22747-1974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gay Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored and updated 1850s farmhouse in historic Little Washington, Virginia, will welcome you to a relaxing stay in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are within walking distance of the renowned Inn at Little Washington, minutes from Shenandoah National Park, award-winning wineries, horseback riding and antiques. Your day begins with a home-cooked breakfast in our sunroom. Lounge in the library or in the quiet of one of our guest rooms, each with private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gay Street Hotel Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing