We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners, same coffee!”
Review of Gay Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gay Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Agree with the other reviewers- under new ownership, the Inn continues to be a great getaway and base for dining and exploring the Washington, Virginia area. And Gary and Wendy have also continued featuring the special coffee roast from the roasters up the street!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spindoct0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 280 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had celebrated our 24th anniversary at the Gay Street Inn with dinner at the Inn at Little Washington two years ago. We decided to celebrate our 26th in the same way this year! The new owners of the Inn, Gary and Wendy, were delightful and the Inn remains a wonderful way to have a gourmet meal at the Inn at Little Washington, drink wine with each course and then stroll to the Inn for local Virginia port wine and chocolates as we came down from our culinary high! Breakfast was wonderfully delicious and we will continue to keep the Inn on our list of "go to" places!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobBavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

"Hi, we just bought the Inn," said the new owners when we checked in. But don't worry, everything is just as good as it was before. The corn meal pancakes are still on the menu, as well as some other praiseworthy items. And the owners went out of their way to find us restaurants on a Monday evening (not much open)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I were in town to celebrate our second anniversary with a dinner at the Inn at Little Washington. Our whole weekend turned out to be quite amazing, and our accommodations at the Gay Street Inn were a big part of that.

We found the new owners, Gary and Wendy, to be very kind, and certainly helpful with whatever we needed to make our stay comfortable. The Inn itself is beautiful, comfortable, and in a perfect location for walking the small town of Washington, VA, or for exploring the many other sights within a short drive of the region.

A few things in particular that we loved about our stay, were the offering of local Virginia port and chocolate in the evening and the amazingly delicious breakfast that was provided in the morning. After our meal at the Inn at Little Washington the night prior, who would've thought we'd even want to look at food, but....it was that good!

I would recommend the Gay Street Inn to anyone from foodies in town for a meal at the Inn at Little Washington, to outdoors lovers, or to anyone just looking to get away from it all.

We had a great experience!

Oh, and btw---it's very reasonable price wise

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawnboy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We only stayed one night, but it was truly delightful. The inn is beautifully and tastefully decorated. The Mountain View room is very comfortable with lots of nice little touches. We enjoyed sitting and relaxing in the garden with a glass of wine before going to dinner at the Inn. Breakfast was absolutely delicious (loved the broiled grapefruit and the pancakes!), and Kevin and Jay are perfect hosts. They gave us some ideas about a walk in Shenandoah National Park, and recommended some wineries and other local activities as well. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else the next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were celebrating a 50th birthday at The Inn at Little Washington, and found Gay Street Inn from a link on the restaurant's website and stayed there for two nights. Owners Kevin and Jay were great hosts and arranged for flowers and champagne to be waiting in the room when we arrived. The grounds are lovely, and we were sitting outside sipping the champagne on a glorious spring afternoon when our friends arrived to surprise the birthday girl before our dinner at the ! The breakfast was delicious. GREAT alternative to the much pricier accommodations at The Inn at Little Washington!

Room Tip: We stayed for two nights in the Shenandoah Suite, which is the only one of the five rooms at the inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I spent the night at this B&B to dine at the Inn at Little Washington. The restaurant is a quick 3 minute walk down the street. The innkeepers were very hospitable and gracious hosts. I asked them if there a fridge was available because I was nursing mom and they offered and placed a cooler with ice in the room for me. The inn was very charming and extremely clean and well-kempt. We stayed in the Mountain View room which does have a lovely view of the mountains. The room was spotless and the bathroom was large. This inn doesn't have the amenities like some others, such as high end bath amenities or robes. Also, be prepared for no cell phone service or tv. The inn does have wi-fi, but you apparently can't get it from the Mountain View room. The breakfast was delightful and gourmet. The innkeepers were great cooks. They also offered great winery suggestions. This B&B is not exactly inexpensive, but you won't be disappointed. I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desertdiva24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gay Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gay Street Inn

Address: 160 Gay St, Washington, VA 22747-1974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: $145 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gay Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored and updated 1850s farmhouse in historic Little Washington, Virginia, will welcome you to a relaxing stay in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are within walking distance of the renowned Inn at Little Washington, minutes from Shenandoah National Park, award-winning wineries, horseback riding and antiques. Your day begins with a home-cooked breakfast in our sunroom. Lounge in the library or in the quiet of one of our guest rooms, each with private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gay Street Hotel Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing