We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gay Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gay Street Inn
Save
You added Gay Street Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We only stayed one night, but it was great. Just two blocks from the Inn at Little Washington. We were trying to see if there were any places to stay since dinner there would already be very expensive. The owners were very nice. They planned our next day's activities and served a wonderful breakfast.

Room Tip: The Blue room has a high bed, which might be difficult for some to climb into. We just had to rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carljn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
168
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed this past weekend for one night at this lovely B&B. Both Kevin and Jay were extremely friendly and warm. This was our first experience with a B&B and we couldn't be happier. The room was comfortable, the Inn tastefully decorated and breakfast the next morning was divine. Homemade banana scones, fresh fruit, corn meal pancakes with homemade cranberry butter and bacon. Yummy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenyfer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Our visit to the Gay Street Inn was perfect in every way. Kevin and Jay are friendly and helpful, and their rooms are beautifully appointed and decorated. You can tell an artist is in residence! Our room was quiet and comfortable, and the port and chocolate in the sitting room after dinner was a treat. Breakfast was delicious, especially the robust coffee and the yummy scones. The Gay Street Inn was a lovely experience all around. If you are visiting Washington, VA you should stay at the Gay Street Inn!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed on Saturday night while we were in town to eat at the Inn. Kevin greeted us personally and wished my wife happy birthday before showing us to the room. The place was very clean and nicely decorated. We had a quiet night in front of the fire after coming back from dinner. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the breakfast room was a nice place to start the day with the day's newspaper. If we had more time in town I would like to have sat on the porch or in the yard to relax a little bit more but we had to take off to get back home. I would definitely recommend it if you are staying in the area or if you are planning to eat at the Inn but dont want to stay there

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibbleypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Gay Street Inn is a quiet, unpretentious, and very relaxing B&B in Washington, VA. We celebrated our 27th anniversary there and will definitely be back! The hosts were very helpful making recommendations for local activities and very attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KNP60726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Everything everyone has previously written is true, we loved our stay here. Wonderful Innkeepers, top notch service, extremely clean and comfortable, delicious and plentiful breakfast, special roasted coffee that was wonderful. A memorable experience!

Room Tip: We had the Shenandoah Room on the first floor. It was very quiet and spacious with a small kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just returned from a lovely overnight at the Gay St. Inn. Like other reviewers, my husband and I were celebrating at the Inn at Little Washington (15 years!), willing to pay the price for the fabulous food but not the accommodations. Gay St. Inn is walking distance and the hosts could not be more pleasant and helpful.

We are not really B&B people -- too often they feel to me like you're at a distant relative's house --forced to tiptoe around, be nice to an over-chatty home-owner and make small talk at a communal breakfast table. Gay St Inn is NOT like this. We walked in the door and pressed a little button, which rang Kevin, who is, as others have mentioned, a wonderful host. You really do feel like he wants nothing more than for you to have a great time. He showed us to the Mountain View Room -- spotless, comfortable, and large with a bathroom that looks brand new. As he left us to unpack, he suggested we ring him for a glass of wine when we were ready, and we did. He brought Virginia wine, described the nearby winery, and left us on the cute front porch with wine and nuts. We felt perfectly at home, strolled the town, had an amazing dinner, and slept very well. Though the Inn was full when we were there, we didn't hear noise from the nearby rooms or halls.

The breafkast room is sunny and has individual tables at which to sit (hurray!) and copies of the Washington Post and local papers. Kevin puts out coffee (special blend just for the Inn - delicous) and bread (banana walnut today) at 7:30 a.m., with a hot breakfast at 8:30. My husband and I enjoyed a leisurely hour with the paper and coffee, and a wonderful breakfast by Jay. After breakfast Kevin directed a scenic walk for us, gave us guest passes to a local winery and recommended some stop-offs for a liesurely way home (24 Crows Italian Veggie Sandwich -- awesome!).

One other note - there is almost no cell service in Rappahannock County. Though there are only two roads, in Washington, VA, if you're using a cell phone to navigate, you may find yourself asking strangers for directions. Luckily, there are plenty of friendly strangers in town to help.

Room Tip: We liked the mountain view room -- two nice windows with a cross breeze, two comfortable reading cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heathery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
14.4 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 10 in Washington
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
The Inn at Little Washington
#3 of 10 in Washington
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,825 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caledonia Farm - 1812  B&B
Caledonia Farm - 1812 B&B
#2 of 2 in Flint Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gay Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gay Street Inn

Property: Gay Street Inn
Address: 160 Gay St, Washington, VA 22747-1974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gay Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored and updated 1850s farmhouse in historic Little Washington, Virginia, will welcome you to a relaxing stay in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are within walking distance of the renowned Inn at Little Washington, minutes from Shenandoah National Park, award-winning wineries, horseback riding and antiques. Your day begins with a home-cooked breakfast in our sunroom. Lounge in the library or in the quiet of one of our guest rooms, each with private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gay Street Hotel Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing