We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foster Harris House
Ranked #2 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Purcellville, VA
12
Reviewed October 27, 2005

If you are looking for a beuatiful place to unwind and relax not far from Washington DC and just outside Shenandoah National Park, then the Foster Harris House is a must. Beautiful house, charming rooms, a 4 course breakfast to die for, and the warmest hospitality you could hope for. Great area dining including the Inn at Little Washington, beautiful Rapahanock County, Skyline Drive, local vineyards, great hiking and cycling...what more could you ask for? Our three night stay was just perfect and the Inn Keepers, John and Diane made us feel like family. The Foster Harris House is most highly recommended. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 514 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2005

I brought my family to the Inn to celebrate my Mom's 60th Birthday. John and Diane could have not been more helpful and accomodating. The house itself was beautiful and top of the line. The setting was the ultimate in Virginia countryside. The breakfast was excellent and we ate every morsel, even after having dinner the night before at the Inn at Little Washington. I have traveled extensively, have very high standards and would highly recommend the Foster Harris House.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lbndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2005

We've used Trip Advisor many times over the past few years and have found the reviews to be helpful and reliable. We stayed at the Foster Harris house for one night while on a quick trip for dinner at the Inn. Everything was perfect - from the hospitality of Diane and John, to the comfort of the room to the incredible breakfast. Highly recommend for a great place to relax that feels much farther than 1.5 hours from the hustle of DC.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bschwenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Coral Gables
14
Reviewed September 11, 2005

If you are heading to the Virginia Wine Country or dinner at the famous Inn at Little Washington then stay at The Foster Harris House just down the street.

As soon as you pull up, you will be greeted by the warm and friendly owners who live on site and do an amazing job running this beautiful property with a wealth of local knowledge. During our two day stay, we went Horseback riding and took three wine tours just down the road. They also operate a "Tour de Virginia" bicycling program in the summer which we cannot wait to go back and try out.

Looking for a tranquil setting? This is it with a spectacular backyard on a rural "Country Road". The rooms are spacious and well appointed and will far exceed your expectations. The real gem here however is the food. Each breakfast is expertly prepared and served with a 5 star approach. From the linens to the china and even the service, this Bed and Breakfast can compete with any Relais and Chateaux property in the US..

Geoffrey Cousineau
Director of Food and Beverage
The Biltmore Hotel, Coral Gables Florida.

Stayed: September 2005
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vienna, VA
29
Reviewed September 5, 2005

My husband and I just spent a lovely Saturday night at the Foster Harris House. We were lucky enough to get a room after a last minute cancellation and stayed in the Mary Ellen Jenkins Room. The room was tastefully decorated, with nice bed linens and really soft pillows. The bathroom had a large rainfall shower and nice toiletries from L'Occtaine. The hosts John & Diane very warm and friendly, and the 4 course breakfast they served was delicious. I would highly reccomend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chantilly, VA
11
Reviewed September 4, 2005

Beautiful surroundings, nice room, great food, wonderful hosts and excellent company. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. We'll be back and we highly recommend he Inn to anyone who really wants to enjoy a great getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2005

We stayed at the Foster-Harris house for our one year anniversary and it was simply wonderful. We could not have been happier. Check in was the seamless and we had a glass of wine within minutes of arriving. The Inn at Little Washington was a short walk away for dinner. Breakfast was amazing! John and Diane really know how to entertain. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
893 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,013 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster Harris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster Harris House

Address: 189 Main Street, P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: $322 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the world-renowned Inn at Little Washington in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Foster Harris House offers comfortable, refined country inn accommodations in an enchanting setting. Each queen bed guest room has exquisitely soft linens, spa robes, and a private bath with a rainfall shower. Included with your stay is a lavish, unhurried four-course breakfast. Dinner at the Foster Harris House unites the elements that inspire Chef John's culinary muse - fruits and vegetables from the rich soil of Rappahannock County, surprising flavors, bold splashes of color and family traditions - with each plate artfully composed to entice the eyes and the appetite. The intimate dining room of only 10 seats and just one seating per night allows for an unhurried and personal dining experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing