We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful bed and breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foster Harris House
Ranked #2 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delightful bed and breakfast!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We chose to stay at Foster Harris House as part of our overnight trip to dine at the Inn of Little Washington on July 4th and were extremely pleased with the comfortable accommodations, beautiful surroundings and delicious breakfast! We enjoyed the spaciousness of the room, the comfortable bed, the views from the sitting room and the great private bath/shower. You can tell that the owners pay attention to the little details and touches to make their guests stay pleasant and memorable. Thanks Diane and John -- we definitely plan on returning!

Room Tip: We booked way ahead and were pleased with our choice of the Suite-- the largest room with a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulshine3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
299
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I were considering the Inn at Little Washington for a special weekend and went to the Foster Harris House instead. SO glad we did. The main features you expect are all there at this lovely B&B - beautiful room, parlor and outdoor porches to hang out. The dining part of the experience was excellent - from the elegant and special 4-course breakfasts to the 5-course dinner with wine pairing. The care and attention that the owners, John and Diane, put into every detail made this a very special experience. The Inn is 20 minutes from Shenandoah where we went hiking. We came back at the end of the day for a leisurely dining experience that was as artistic as it was delicious. I am really looking foward to coming back so we can take advantage of one of John's cooking classes. If you like great food and cycling you will want to find out about their Tour d'Epicure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunLover2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

For a very special family occasion recently, we had made dinner reservations at the Little Washington Inn, but we wanted to try a different setting to spend the night. So based on the raving reviews we read about the Foster Harris House, we decided to give it a try. We could not be more pleased we did. It is a most welcoming place and impeccably maintained throughout, located just a couple of blocks from the Inn, in the midst of a bucolic setting. The two rooms we booked for our family of three - the Suite for us, and the Compton for our son - were both tastefully decorated, very comfortable and quiet. These are definitely not your typical chintzy B&B rooms, but more like what you would find in a chic boutique hotel in Europe. In the morning we were treated to a delightful multi-course breakfast served with great care and a touch of elegance. We very much enjoyed meeting and chatting with our charming and attentive hosts. There may be a couple of newer inns opening in town. But we had such a pleasant stay at this one that we will surely return for possibly a longer visit so we can enjoy the hosts' dinner. Without reserve we warmly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NP888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I recently had dinner at Foster Harris House. Something we'd been intending to do for a while, and now wish we'd done sooner. The menu was great with interesting food combinations, wonderful flavors, and beautiful presentation. The accompanying wines were well matched with the several courses of food. Diane and John were the consummate in gracious hosts. The beauty of the landscape and the serenity of the town of Washington, VA, added to the experience of the evening. We look forward to going back to enjoy not only another dinner but also a night and the following morning's breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Foster Harris House is an excellent place to stay when dining at the Inn at Little Washington as it's an easy walk, or short drive to/from dinner. It's also lovely, run by pleasant, interesting, friendly people, and outfitted with first class amenities. We stayed in the suited, and appreciated the extra room of the window lined sitting area. The shower is absolutely amazing!!! My first impression was that the bathroom was smaller than I expected (we usually stay in hotels, not b&b's), however, the Italian shower is wonderful!! 6 side jets and a big rainhead. There was another choice in the shower of a mounted hand-held, but I didn't even try it. The towels are extremely fluffy and luxurious, and the toiletries very nice. Breakfast was gourmet and delicious. Ours started with a yogurt parfait in a martini glass with sweet, ripe fruit. The "main course" was a perfectly poached egg on puff pastry with chipotle cream, with a swipe of avacados, peppers, tomatoes, etc. There's a comfortable sitting room, offers of wine, a side porch (where we chose to eat breakfast), and a nice yard where I relaxed, sitting in Adirondack chairs. And, then there's Stella their sweet yellow lab (they only let her out if you ask). We had a very nice stay and highly recommend the Foster Harris House!

Room Tip: We loved the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Why didn't we visit Foster Harris House sooner???!!! Living just an hour away, we are kicking ourselves that we didn't visit this gem sooner than this weekend.

I booked the Tour d'Epicure (stay at Foster Harris for two nights with four-course breakfast each morning, and several cycling excursions as well as two fabulous dinners including Inn at Little Washington) as a Christmas present for my husband. Unfortunately, I hurt my back three weeks before the tour and wasn't able to ride with my husband and the others in the group. However, I went for the weekend anyway and was glad I did.

John and Diane are the consummate hosts. Their home is warm, welcoming, and impeccably clean. Nothing is overlooked, from the corkscrew and wine glasses in each room and the little bag of Sweet Dreams chocolates on the door to the fresh coffee just outside the guest rooms each morning, always available complimentary non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverages, and the awe-inspiring breakfast each morning. With regard to the latter, attention to detail reigns supreme. The food isn't just delectable, it is plated so artfully that it easily rivals the better-known Inn just down the street.

In addition to the Tour d' Epicure rides, there was a tour of the Copper River Distillery as well as lunch and a wine tasting at a local vineyard. Events and logistics are seamless with John and Diane, and yet one is very much at ease thanks to their easygoing demeanors and genuine love of their inn and most certainly their guests. In fact, many of their guests seem to become good friends too and after enjoying their company for the weekend, we can certainly see why.

We could go on and on about Foster Harris House. This gem is an easily accessible getaway from the Washington DC region yet seems a world away. We will definitely be returning again...and again...and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The four of us agreed that we wished we had stayed longer. An exceptional stay, rounded off with the Worlds best breakfast!

The house itself is beautiful, and a great example of American property and construction of the age. The rooms were delightful, made up lovely, and cleverly addressed to make use of the restricted space. Little touches like chocolates on your pillow with a Weather forecast for the following day, just show how much the owners care about their guests experience.

From the very outset, we were made to feel welcome, and relaxed. With our favourite wine and beer being presented to us after a brief discussion on the matter! The breakfasts though, were something to behold. Over the past 6 years we have been lucky enough to stay in some truly excellent Hotels worldwide, and none of them come close to the breakfasts served at The Foster Harris House.

This is one of the 'Must stay' destinations.

Room Tip: Their are multiple deals, and guided cycle/wine tours in the Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
963 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,214 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster Harris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster Harris House

Property: Foster Harris House
Address: 189 Main Street, P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the world-renowned Inn at Little Washington in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Foster Harris House offers comfortable, refined country inn accommodations in an enchanting setting. Each queen bed guest room has exquisitely soft linens, spa robes, and a private bath with a rainfall shower. Included with your stay is a lavish, unhurried four-course breakfast. Dinner at the Foster Harris House unites the elements that inspire Chef John's culinary muse - fruits and vegetables from the rich soil of Rappahannock County, surprising flavors, bold splashes of color and family traditions - with each plate artfully composed to entice the eyes and the appetite. The intimate dining room of only 10 seats and just one seating per night allows for an unhurried and personal dining experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing