We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, comfortable, upscale and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foster Harris House
Ranked #1 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Foster Harris House is an excellent place to stay when dining at the Inn at Little Washington as it's an easy walk, or short drive to/from dinner. It's also lovely, run by pleasant, interesting, friendly people, and outfitted with first class amenities. We stayed in the suited, and appreciated the extra room of the window lined sitting area. The shower is absolutely amazing!!! My first impression was that the bathroom was smaller than I expected (we usually stay in hotels, not b&b's), however, the Italian shower is wonderful!! 6 side jets and a big rainhead. There was another choice in the shower of a mounted hand-held, but I didn't even try it. The towels are extremely fluffy and luxurious, and the toiletries very nice. Breakfast was gourmet and delicious. Ours started with a yogurt parfait in a martini glass with sweet, ripe fruit. The "main course" was a perfectly poached egg on puff pastry with chipotle cream, with a swipe of avacados, peppers, tomatoes, etc. There's a comfortable sitting room, offers of wine, a side porch (where we chose to eat breakfast), and a nice yard where I relaxed, sitting in Adirondack chairs. And, then there's Stella their sweet yellow lab (they only let her out if you ask). We had a very nice stay and highly recommend the Foster Harris House!

Room Tip: We loved the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 524 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

Why didn't we visit Foster Harris House sooner???!!! Living just an hour away, we are kicking ourselves that we didn't visit this gem sooner than this weekend.

I booked the Tour d'Epicure (stay at Foster Harris for two nights with four-course breakfast each morning, and several cycling excursions as well as two fabulous dinners including Inn at Little Washington) as a Christmas present for my husband. Unfortunately, I hurt my back three weeks before the tour and wasn't able to ride with my husband and the others in the group. However, I went for the weekend anyway and was glad I did.

John and Diane are the consummate hosts. Their home is warm, welcoming, and impeccably clean. Nothing is overlooked, from the corkscrew and wine glasses in each room and the little bag of Sweet Dreams chocolates on the door to the fresh coffee just outside the guest rooms each morning, always available complimentary non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverages, and the awe-inspiring breakfast each morning. With regard to the latter, attention to detail reigns supreme. The food isn't just delectable, it is plated so artfully that it easily rivals the better-known Inn just down the street.

In addition to the Tour d' Epicure rides, there was a tour of the Copper River Distillery as well as lunch and a wine tasting at a local vineyard. Events and logistics are seamless with John and Diane, and yet one is very much at ease thanks to their easygoing demeanors and genuine love of their inn and most certainly their guests. In fact, many of their guests seem to become good friends too and after enjoying their company for the weekend, we can certainly see why.

We could go on and on about Foster Harris House. This gem is an easily accessible getaway from the Washington DC region yet seems a world away. We will definitely be returning again...and again...and again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The four of us agreed that we wished we had stayed longer. An exceptional stay, rounded off with the Worlds best breakfast!

The house itself is beautiful, and a great example of American property and construction of the age. The rooms were delightful, made up lovely, and cleverly addressed to make use of the restricted space. Little touches like chocolates on your pillow with a Weather forecast for the following day, just show how much the owners care about their guests experience.

From the very outset, we were made to feel welcome, and relaxed. With our favourite wine and beer being presented to us after a brief discussion on the matter! The breakfasts though, were something to behold. Over the past 6 years we have been lucky enough to stay in some truly excellent Hotels worldwide, and none of them come close to the breakfasts served at The Foster Harris House.

This is one of the 'Must stay' destinations.

Room Tip: Their are multiple deals, and guided cycle/wine tours in the Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed two nights for our first wedding anniversary/retirement celebration/birthday. It fulfilled our best dreams. John and Diane and great hosts. We had dinner here Saturday evening, and it really did spoil us for dinner the next evening at the Inn at Little Washington. We plan to return many times in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary staying here and dinner at the Inn at Little Washington. A beautiful B&B, fresh, clean very well maintained and very helpful hosts. The breakfast was a four course delicious gourmet meal. I would very much like to come back and have dinner here with the wine pairings, looks really good. Fantastic showers, great sprayers!! Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letsgo248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

In a word: awesome. This was our third visit to the Foster Harris House and each visit gets better!

As always, we were greeted promptly at the door (by Diane, this time) with John shortly behind. They are such lovely hosts. They gave us a quick tour (since we were return guests, we just needed a refresher) and led us to our room. This time, we stayed in the Mary Ellen Jenkins Room, which is the smallest room, but it's cozy. (Foster Harris has three rooms - I've stayed in the Suite, Meadow, and Mary Ellen Jenkins - Meadow's probably my favorite.) They offered us a glass of wine when we arrived, but we took a rain check since we were headed to the Inn at Little Washington for dinner later that night and wanted to keep our appetites in check.

After a restful night's sleep, we awoke ready for Foster Harris House's famous 4-course breakfast. Our breakfast began with dark chocolate scones, perfectly crispy and warm, accompanied by coffee (or tea if you wanted) and fresh orange juice. The next course was fresh fruit, yogurt, & granola parfait, and they thoughtfully remembered my husband's strawberry allergy so his was sans strawberries. Next came the 'main course' - puff pastry toopped with poached egg, tomato & avocado salsa, chipotle cream sauce, and "paradise bacon." Delish! the poached egg was cooked (and presented!) beautifully and the puff pastry just melted in your mouth. Last was dessert - lemon liebechen with berry coulis. As you can imagine, we were stuffed after this and ready to take on the day.

After exploring the area (there are tons of wineries and smaller towns within a reasonable driving distance, many of the wineries are close by) we returned to Foster Harris, where we took up our "rain check" glass of wine and got to meet a few other guests, who were charming and delightful and also share our love for wine! We must've talked with them for over an hour - I actually didn't realize how long until I looked at my watch and realized we had only 15 minutes to get ready for dinner.

First-time guests to Foster Harris may not know this, but John and Diane started serving dinners on Fridays & Saturdays at Foster Harris in the summer of 2013. We had the pleasure of joining them one evening after they'd just started so we decided with this visit to do it again. This particular Friday night, it was us and one other couple. (Note: the dinner is served in the same dining area as breakfast - it's a very cute area but definitely not restaurant like.) John's cooking at breakfast definitely translates over to dinner - we had a fabulous meal. The meal opened with a complimentary glass of Trump Blanc de Blancs flavored with a bit of Elderberry liquor. The first course was a seared sea scallop with forbidden rice and wild boar salami. The scallop was seared beautifully. Second course was a fennel soup - I was skeptical - but it was fresh and delicious, perfect for an early spring meal. The next course was a wild mushroom and truffle ravioli, which was excellent! Our next course was a lamb persillade with cauliflower and brussels sprouts (which I even ate!) - the lamb was cooked to a beautiful medium rare, so tender and delicious. (Also, we got the wine pairings - they were very generous and the refills we were offered were much appreciated.) Finally, the meal ended with a smoked chocolate souffle and wood ice cream (yes, homemade ice cream made from wood chips from a nearby distillery). Everything was just phenomenal. If you can when you visit, stay two nights to experience John's dinners - you won't be sorry (and you don't have to be a guest when you eat there).

We ended our trip with another amazing 4-course breakfast the next day and were sad to say goodbye to our hosts. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LttlRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We made reservations for dinner at the Inn at Little Washington and needed a place to stay the night. Friends recommended the Foster Harris House. We were absolutely delighted with the accommodations food and most importantly the great inn keepers. Diane and John were the best. Great hospitality, food and conversation. We will be back and hope to attend the Castlton festival in the Summer and will definitely book at the Foster Harris House.

Room Tip: The Compton room is really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarHeel810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,021 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
257 reviews
17.4 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster Harris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster Harris House

Address: 189 Main Street, P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: $321 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Foster Harris House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the world-renowned Inn at Little Washington in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Foster Harris House offers comfortable, refined country inn accommodations in an enchanting setting. Each queen bed guest room has exquisitely soft linens, spa robes, and a private bath with a rainfall shower. Included with your stay is a lavish, unhurried four-course breakfast. Dinner at the Foster Harris House unites the elements that inspire Chef John's culinary muse - fruits and vegetables from the rich soil of Rappahannock County, surprising flavors, bold splashes of color and family traditions - with each plate artfully composed to entice the eyes and the appetite. The intimate dining room of only 10 seats and just one seating per night allows for an unhurried and personal dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Foster Harris House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing