We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“2nd visit, looking forward to 3rd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast

Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“2nd visit, looking forward to 3rd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Such a comfortable and lovely place, wonderful views. A short walk to the Inn at Little Washington, and right by 211 so easy access to other areas. Susan makes a wonderful breakfast served on fine china and even made us tea in the afternoon when we asked. Very comfortable, attractive rooms with sparkling new baths. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBB610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at Fairlea Farm during a weekend trip to Washington, VA. The scenery is breathtaking, even during the winter months! After meeting our great hosts, Susan and Walt, we checked out our room, the Meadow Room, on the 2nd floor. The room was nicely decorated and had an amazing bathroom - mountain views while brushing your teeth is quite the way to start or end a day!
We told Susan and Walt that we were eating at the Inn at Little Washington for dinner and they gave us all kinds of insiders tips. I recommend you stay there too before your dinner, you will not be disappointed.
Susan prepared a wonderful breakfast for us in the morning including fresh fruit, baked goods, eggs, sausage and more. I would happily return to Fairlea Farm on another trip to Washington, VA.

Room Tip: Meadow Room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adicorleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

What a lovely B&B! We bought a room here from a silent auction and had a wonderful stay. highly recommend the Rose room- with a GREAT bathroom- huge shower, two sinks. Dont forget to feed the rabbits and donkeys...and of course take a short stroll over to The Inn at Little Washington for drinks and or dinner. Susan and Walt were so kind, informative, helpful.. and just really GOOD people. My husband and I will be returning.. and buying gift certificates for friends. Their property has amazing views. Breakfast was really special..

Room Tip: The Rose room was spectacular.. comfy bed, clean, and the bathroom was a WOW
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcgkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a place to which we plan to return. There is so much beauty in the area and this B& B is the perfect place from which to explore it. Our host and hostess provided the perfect combination of attention and privacy. Our room and bath were well furnished, well lighted , clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were superb, featuring products produced at Fairlea and locally. Because you are staying on a real farm, there is much to interest you right at hand: donkeys, sheep and a lovely cat.

All in all - a wonderful find for a country trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistopholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I have been returning to Fairlea Farm for sixteen years now. That's real information, right there. Over that time period, Susan and Walt Longyear have gone from friendly proprietors and hosts to family friends.

This B&B has four great characteristics. The first, as I have already mentioned, is the people. Susan and Walt are welcoming, friendly, and helpful. They are also very knowledgable about the area and its attractions.

Secondly, the location is ideal, at least for us. Fairlea is not on the main drag, such as it is, of Little Washington. The farm is just out of town, yet within easy walking distance. The view from the B&B is spectacular ... rolling fields stretching to the Blue Ridge in the distance. The property is beautifully kept, with flower beds in many locations. If you are so inclined, you can also make friends with the Longyears' donkeys in the side field!

The third feature is the rooms themselves. They are tastefully decorated and comfortable. They also have thoroughly modern bathrooms attached!

Lastly, Susan makes a wonderful morning feast for guests. The breakfast is always well balanced. You get several choices of fresh home made breads, fresh fruit and fruit compotes, a grain dish (like her yummy baked oatmeal) .... AND a dish with something eggy and something meaty. In the right season, you might get her homemade lamb sausages. Tempted enough? Well, if you're vegan you can skip that course. :-)

We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland-USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Fairlea Farm is absolutely delightful. A country home with everything we wanted - a QUIET room with private bath, a beautiful setting with unobstructed views of mountain and farm greenery, and truly incredible home-cooked multi-serving breakfasts (thanks to Susan and Walt, who are extremely warm and inviting innkeepers). It is also very convenient - in the town of Washington, just off the main road (211). The only minor negative is that the traffic on 211 can be heard in the distance, but only from the outside and not within the house. The house is constructed so that you don't hear the other occupants - very quiet. Also, the room prices are very reasonable compared to other B&Bs/inns in the area. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdBMaryland_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

There is not much to add to the other glowing reviews, because they are well-stated and deserved. The house is charming, and the grounds are as well. The farm, the miniature donkeys, sheep and cows, and its setting in the mountains make for a relaxing environment. The owners are very friendly and willing to share their good information about the local area and the property itself. The location is excellent. Breakfast was very delicious, with small touches that are sure to delight.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon_etan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 10 in Washington
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
The Inn at Little Washington
#3 of 10 in Washington
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caledonia Farm - 1812  B&B
Caledonia Farm - 1812 B&B
#2 of 2 in Flint Hill
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Inn of the Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 636 Mt. Salem Ave, Washington, VA 22747
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A countryside B&B on a 40-acre sheep and cattle farm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing