We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”

Inn at Little Washington
Reserve with OpenTable
Inn at Little Washington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $218 - $218
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A Michelin Two Star, Forbes 5 Star, AAA 5 Diamond country house hotel retreat, The Inn at Little Washington presents exquisite American Cuisine with a French influence in a charming and sophisticated dining room. The sumptuous award-winning cuisine is accompanied by a Wine Spectator Grand Award wine cellar with over 2,500 selections.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Extraordinary dinner, wonderful afternoon tea, fantastic breakfast! For dinner, I enjoyed the roasted yellow and red beets with beet sorbet and caviar. Then the Diver Scallops with Sweet Peas and Bacon Consommé was to die for. My main course was the organic milk-fed pork with apples and sauerkraut and I can honestly say it was the most tender pork I have ever eaten. My husband had Carpaccio of lamb, the hot and cold foie gras dish and the lobster and agreed it was a wonderful meal. We split the "Seven Deadly Sins" dessert, which is a definite must. Those are the highlights, lots of surprises before, after and in between! Plus a cute little take away of treats. I disagree with Drer's review - I've eaten at the French Laundry and The Restaurant at Meadowood in CA and Daniel and Le Bernardin in NY as well as Michelin star restaurants in France, Spain and Italy - the Inn at Little Washington is up there with the best of them. Unfortunately Michelin stars are not awarded anywhere in VA (very limited to specific major cities) - if they were this would be on the list. And while it is pricey, it's in the same range (or cheaper) than other restaurants of the same caliber.
I would definitely recommend going and ask for the tour of the kitchen while there and meet Patrick O'Connell!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We appreciate your very nice review and comments about your dinner and stay with us. Your comparisons with our colleagues in California, New York and Europe is very flattering and we are pleased to uphold those high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Little Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 368 of 690 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

Ok, someone has to really say it -- this restaurant is overpriced, stuffy, and uninspired. We (two couples) dined here recently at $178/person. We have travelled the world extensively and eaten at many Michelin-starred and other high quality restaurants. We also shop almost exclusively at Whole Foods and local farms and do a lot of cooking at home. The Inn is an establishment where acceptable French-style food is served by semi-professional staff in dark, damp, stuffy rooms. In France, outside of Paris, a similar meal in a similar environment would top out at 70 euros/person (but the service would be truly professional). At the Inn, I had the Vegetarian Odyssey -- some of the items tasted like they had been prepared "in advance" (and not in a good way), others were over-flavored (the cauliflower was over-the-top Indian-spiced), and still others tasted like butter or cream were used as short-cuts to the more intricate ways of bringing out the flavors of the vegetables. In short, the meal was not extraordinary, and at $178/person, it really should be. The same goes for the service -- the waiters were a bit too loud; too much visible running around; and the unacceptable clearing of the table while one of us was still in the middle of eating dessert. At $178/person, service should be discreet and tactful. As to the decor, stuffy, dusty and old (and not in a good way), describe it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Drer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We appreciate your comments and candid feedback regarding your impressions and apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It is indescribable. Every little detail is done to perfection. Yes, it is very expensive, but do it at least once. I will never experience a dinner like this again. You have to see it and eat it yourself to believe how awesome food can look and taste.

2  Thank Passportcurrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Your comments will serve the team well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was worried that after waiting so many years to eat here it wouldn't live up to the hype, but it absolutely did. Everything was perfect, service was incredible and even though the location is less modern than we prefer, the food itself was exciting. Paired with a night at The White Moose Inn, we had a night to remember forever.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maxbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your dinner with us and stay in Little Washington and appreciate your generous comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

One arrives at the front stoop of the Inn at Little Washington filled with anticipation and some skepticism. Can the restaurant and inn really live up to all the hype? Yes, it can and it does.

Our dinner at the Inn at Little Washington was the finest meal we have every experienced and that's after culinary exploration across 5 continents. The food was remarkable. The atmosphere was stunning. The service was impeccable.

There is no question the cost is steep. But, the experience is worth the price of admission. When you go, don't skimp on the menu by making al la carte choices. Go with the evening's full tasting menu. After all, you are checking off one of the items on your "bucket list."

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank StephenFreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn at Little Washington also viewed

Washington, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Flint Hill, Rappahannock County
 
Washington, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Inn at Little Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing